Gallery

Still reading My Thoughts Be Bloody — and getting bored with this blog

I’m still reading My Thoughts Be Bloody: The Bitter Rivalry Between Edwin and John Wilkes Booth That Led to an American Tragedy by Nora Titone and during my dinner breaks at work, I’m reading The Complete Sherlock Holmes, Vol. 2. I just finished The Return of Sherlock Holmes and now am on to The Valley of Fear, followed by His Last Bow and The Case Book of Sherlock Holmes to round out the collection. Other than that, even though I said on Sunday I’d pick out something to go with My Thoughts Be Bloody, I’m not reading anything.

I’m still thinking I might continue Raymond Chandler’s Philip Marlowe series or Lawrence Block’s Burglar/Bernie Rhodebarr series or maybe even start Block’s Matthew Scudder series.  Hopefully I’ll let you know by this Sunday’s Sunday Salon.

I haven’t progressed very far into My Thoughts Be Bloody, but it’s no fault of the book, the subject matter or the author. The weather is changing for the better here, with temperatures in the low 60s (Fahrenheit), but unfortunately my allergies are kicking in full swing. The last few days have not been fun and when I’m not at work hopped up on Sudafed (I already take generic Allegra, which helps most of the time except on particularly bad days like the last few), I’m home on the couch either listening to music or trying to focus on something on Netflix. Reading just isn’t happening.

In non-reading related news, I’m getting bored with this blog, which for those of you who have followed this blog for a while, this will come as no surprise. I’ve had several blogs, starting with a running blog, then running the gamut from a book blog to a humor blog to a spiritual blog to an “anything goes” blog. I could write more about this, but it’s just more blogger navel-gazing that you’ve seen too much of here. As spring approaches, I’ll be doing some spring cleaning here, but I don’t know yet what form that will take. You’ll have to stay tuned.

What are you reading here in the middle of the week? Do you ever grow bored with your blog? What do you do to spice it up?

11 responses to “Still reading My Thoughts Be Bloody — and getting bored with this blog

  1. I just finished Kazuo Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go and started Double Booked For Death by Ali Brandon.

    I don’t really get bored with my blog because I don’t look at it the way most bloggers do. Mine is more like the journal/scrapbooks I kept when I was young. I post things that amuse or touch me in some way: poetry, pictures, jokes, stories, etc. I do what I love and hope that someone else might like it as well, but I don’t post much in the way of my own commentary.

    I always have posts set up in advance, sometimes up to two weeks. That lightens the pressure to do it every day. If I don’t feel like posting a day or two, I don’t have to, and the blog still rolls on.

    But let’s face it, compared to all you folks I am a complete amateur.

  2. Reading Cloud Atlas for a read-along – it’s really good. Very different than any book I’ve ever read, but still engrossing.

    Don’t know if I ever get bored – but I do sometimes not feel like posting for a while. This is never a strong enough feeling to make me want to give it up, though. 🙂 Hope your “spring cleaning” doesn’t mean no more blogging!

    • Oh, it won’t mean no more blogging. Don’t worry this isn’t Words with Friends :). I think, though, I’ve put myself into a box with posts on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays…and Sunday Salons. I need to break out somehow.

  3. Unfortunately, I don’t do anything to spice my blog up other than posting whenever Amazon threatens to throw my blog off its Kindle listing for inactivity. I made 10.54 in royalties last year–my husband is my one subscriber. I had to file it with my taxes. How embarrassing!

    I bought The Sugar Frosted Nutsack by Mark Leyner yesterday but I’ve been waiting so long for him to write a new novel that I’m putting off reading it–delaying gratification or, worse, disappointment. I can see it in my peripheral vision right now. I should get it over with.

  4. I definitely get bored with my blog sometimes. I think it’s nice to change things up when that happens. I just posted a picture of my review stack for that same reason but now that I’m thinking about it, I should have posted some more personal. The book that I’m reading right now is 11/22/63 by Stephen King. It’s good and creepy.