Gallery

No, no, I don’t feel guilty, but thanks for asking…

On Sunday, I wrote about how I felt guilty for not reading many books from a box of books that a friend sent me. The overwhelming response seemed to be that you all have your own pile of books suggested by others and you don’t feel guilty because they aren’t something necessarily you want to read. However, I feel I should clarify that in this case, I expressed an interest in many of the books that my friend sent or recommended to me, including two of the four that he recommended.

One of them I was, and am, so interested in that I bought it and downloaded it to my Nook in January. That one is My Thoughts Be Bloody: The Bitter Rivalry Between Edwin and John Wilkes Booth That Led to an American Tragedy by Nora Titone. When he was describing it during one of our long telephone conversations, I thought it sounded, and still do think it sounds, good. The other,  Sacco and Vanzetti: The Men, the Murders, and the Judgment of Mankind by Bruce Watson, I asked him to send after he mentioned he was reading it and how much he enjoyed it. Both also are nonfiction, and American history, which I want to read more of, because I am interested in both.

I admit that the other two books I didn’t express an interest in:

  • Wycliffe and the Last Rites by W.J. Burley
  • Borrowed Time by Robert Goddard.

That said, for the most part, I trust my friend’s taste in mystery and suspense thrillers, because I’ve liked other books he has recommended in those genres, so that’s why I’m more than willing to give these “a go.” One of the main reasons, as I mentioned Sunday, that I didn’t read the Wycliffe is that it is a part of a series and I am a(n über) stickler for reading books in a series in order.  However, both my friend and I have had a hard time finding the early Wycliffe books, so I am willing to break the rule, at least in this case, especially when the book is a small paperback and is only slightly over 200 pages. The Goddard, my friend did say, wasn’t great, but was good so I won’t be going into it expecting to be the best mystery I’ve ever read and if I don’t finish it, I won’t feel guilty.

Bottom line, though, is this: I WANT to read these books so no one is forcing me to read them, but thank you all for your concern.

Do you have friends who recommend books to you whose judgment you trust implicitly or almost implicitly when they recommend books? What are some of the books? Did your friend ever steer you wrong? In the interest of full disclosure, my friend did recommend the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency to me and after only a few in the series, I’m finding that I can go without reading any more of them. However, he has renewed my interest in reading Sherlock Holmes, for which I am sincerely grateful, and another series, the Roma Sub Rosa series by Stephen Saylor, which he recommended, is one of my all-time favorite series.

5 responses to “No, no, I don’t feel guilty, but thanks for asking…

  1. There are a couple of bloggers whose tastes are so similar to mine that if they rave about a book, I know I’ll love it, too. I can’t think of a time that this didn’t hold true. I also have a real-life friend who knows me well, and while our reading tastes only intersect in certain genres, when she recommends one, I read it. No matter what. My mom doesn’t know my tastes as well, and so is always pressing books on me because she liked them, but half the time they’re nothing I would pick up on my own. I do feel bad about not reading them, though, because she always reads the books I loan her. Though I only pass the ones on that I know she’ll like – I think I’m just a better judge of her reading tastes than she is of mine, if that makes sense.

    Now, completely off-topic, are you seriously quitting Words With Friends?!

    • Cutting right to the heart of the matter, yes, I’m seriously quitting Words with Friends…I have a love-hate relationship with Facebook games. Right now I’m in the hate phase because of ads popping up every time I play. That didn’t happen a week or two ago, but now every single time I play…argh!

  2. The books that I feel the most guilty about not reading are those that my husband has purchased for – usually at my request. Just like you, they are books that I want to read, but other books and life just get in the way.

    There are a few bloggers whose reading tastes line up almost perfectly with mine, and in those few cases where our tastes don’t align it’s usually pretty obvious to me (like horror stories that I don’t read, or high fantasy). There are also a few bloggers whose reviews I love for the fact that if that our opinions are so opposite.