Gallery

Anything Goes, Part II: Looking back at February and ahead to March

For the month of January, I read six books and now for this month, I’ve read five books thus far. I will be reading Shadow Pass, the second Inspector Pekkala mystery, by Sam Eastland later today. I might finish it before the end of the day, so that number very well could be six for February too and an even dozen for the year.

The five books I read, in order, were:

  1. Nemesis by Jo Nesbø
  2. Bossypants by Tina Fey
  3. Maisie Dobbs by Jaqueline Winspear
  4. The Devil’s Star by Jo Nesbø
  5. Farewell, My Lovely by Raymond Chandler

The best of the lot was Bossypants, especially since it was the audiobook version of the book with Fey herself doing the narration. Each of the others, though, held their own, with the last Nesbø I read one of those books that I literally couldn’t put down for the last 100 pages. I’m probably going to take a break on that series for now, though, because I really don’t want to “gobble them all up” and then have no more left of his Harry Hole series to read.

My next two books most likely will be Burglars Can’t Be Choosers, the first Burglar book, by Lawrence Block and Archive 17, the third Inspector Pekkala mystery since I already have checked them out on e-book from the Free Library of Philadelphia. Beyond that, I’m not really sure and as I said on Sunday, “Anything goes.”

I discovered this version earlier this week when listening on Mog to The Complete Ella Fitzgerald Song Books, a far superior version to the one I posted on Sunday.

So how was your reading during the month of February? What are you planning on reading during March?

7 responses to “Anything Goes, Part II: Looking back at February and ahead to March

  1. My reading for February was just as awful as January. Since I’m dropping my math class (yay!), I’m seeing my schedule open up. There’s so much I want to read this month like Cloud Atlas, Momento Mori, and a ton of ARCs. Right now I’m reading Forgotten Country by Catherine Chung. It’s okay. 😉

  2. I saw Cloud Atlas the other day as I was putting into our library bookstore. It looked good. I’d like to hear more about that.

  3. Um–are you planning on writing about Bossypants in any more detail??

    The end.

  4. I ended February with 12 books – and five of them were 5-star reads, so I call that a good month. 🙂

    I’m starting March off with The Yellow House by Patricia Falvey (for an Ireland Challenge read-along that I’m hosting); Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell (for a read-along hosted by someone else); and Promises to Keep by Jane Green, which was sent to me unsolicited for review, and I’m still not sure if I’ll finish. I’m giving it my usual 100 pages or so – I’m about 40 in. Later in the month, I’ll be reading Muriel Spark’s Memento Mori for a Faith and Fiction discussion at the end of March.

    Happy Leap Day!