Gallery

Poetry: Who needs it? Well, I do, for one.

Last month I learned from Serena that Lu, Kelly, and Eva had issued the following challenge: post about poetry once a month, on the last Tuesday of the month, for 2012, and so here I am again. Last month I posted one of my own poems, but missed these questions from Lu to help kick off the year of poetry. Without further ado, here they are:

 Your favorite poem
“Skunk Island” by Robert Lowell. A close second, if not tied: “The Red Wheelbarrow” by William Carlos Williams.

Your favorite poet
Raymond Carver, with Sylvia Plath, a close second. I also enjoy the work of the poet H.D., Gwendolynn Brooks and Carl Sandburg.

Do you read poetry often? Why or why not?
Not as often as I would like. Why not? Because I just forget about it.

Why did you start reading poetry?
As for “serious” poetry, I started reading it in college for a contemporary poetry course and was hooked immediately. As for “not so serious” poetry, I guess it would have to be when I was a child with Dr. Seuss.

Do you ever write poetry?
In college, and the years immediately after college, I did, but since have not written much of anything, other than on this blog.

Is there a poet you’ve always wanted to read but never have?
Not off the top of my head, no.

What do you hope to accomplish through a year of writing about poetry?
Maybe rediscovering the love for poetry, both reading and writing it, that I once had.

Do you think you’ll read more poetry this year?
Well, why else would I be doing this thing? 🙂

11 responses to “Poetry: Who needs it? Well, I do, for one.

  1. Pingback: bold.new.poets.mothersday | POETRY CLUB

  2. I didn’t realize that Raymond Carver wrote poetry. I’ll have to track some down!

  3. Pingback: A Reading List to learn to Read Like a Literature Professor? « Wandering Mirages

  4. The questions were just suggestions for blog posts, but I’m glad you decided to answer them! I really like Gwendolyn Brooks as well and thank you for sharing that Robert Lowell poem. I’ve never read it and I really liked it. Thanks for participating again this month!

  5. Man–I sucked at poetry this month. Why? Because I forget about it, too. Bah.

    But why didn’t I think about Dr. Seuss? I read him all the time to Elle (I will conquer Fox in Socks one day).

  6. I didn’t answer the questions either. But I am enjoying this challenge. I have always enjoyed poetry–reading it, not writing. kaye—the road goes ever ever on

  7. What strikes me is how many people ‘discover’ poetry in college. Often their continued relationship with poetry reflects the quality of their introduction. A great teacher can ignite a life long passion, while a mediocre teacher facilitates little more than a passing acquaintance.

    But even brief relationships can leave echos that return to touch us years later. Here’s to rekindled friendships!

  8. I was thinking the same thing! Next month I will answer these questions, too. I also didn’t realize Eva and Serena were hosts, as well, though I am not surprised these two would lend their poetry hearts to the effort.

  9. I love this challenge – how did I miss this!? BAH! Awesome answers to the questions, we have very similar poetry tastes. Now I’m going to scoot on over to your poem for the first posting.

  10. I somehow missed these questions as well. There is always next month, right?!