Gallery

Anything Goes

The Sunday Salon.comFor being such a busy week at the library where I work, amazingly it was a good week for me for reading as I finished two books. In my defense, though, I already was halfway through one of them: The Devil’s Star by Jo Nesbø and I still didn’t have time to listen to Quantum of Solace: The Complete James Bond Short Stories by Ian Fleming as narrated by Simon Vance.  With the latter, I had hoped to listen to it on Wednesday morning into the early afternoon before I work in the late afternoon and evening but got caught up in finishing Maisie Dobbs.

I really enjoyed it, though in a discussion with Jen at Devourer of Books on Twitter, I conceded that there was too much background in this first of the series. However, I still found the story and especially the time and setting, in between World War I and World War II in England, engaging enough to rate the book 4 out of 5 stars on GoodReads. I know the series will get better than this first one, but I still thought it was a very good start and that’s why I couldn’t give it only 3 stars.

As for The Devil’s Star, another of the Harry Hole series, I’ve learned that with Nesbø once you get to a certain point in the book, about 100 pages from the end usually, you literally can’t put the book down. The story just clips along at a blistering pace and as much as you try to put it aside, your adrenaline is pumping and you want to know what happens next. And then? And then? And then? In this one, Nesbø seemingly ties up a storyline from previous novels and I’m interested to see where he goes in his next one.

But for now, I’m going to take a break from Nesbø’s series and read some other books that have been on my TBR shelf for a few months. Which ones? To be honest, I don’t know. After last week’s pronouncement again of reading whatever I want, any old time, I narrowed down my TBR shelf from more than 40 books to just under 15, to limit myself to start to those waiting on my Nook and a few others. I still don’t know which one of the 15 or if I might even deviate from that list. We’ll see.

All I know is that today, I am reading Farewell, My Lovely, the second Philip Marlowe, by Raymond Chandler after downloading it as an e-book from the Free Library of Philadelphia on Friday. Next? Anything goes.

Have you read any of the Maisie Dobbs series? If so, what did you think? What about books that you literally can’t put down until you’re finished? Are there authors like Nesbø for you?

Last week’s posts:

21 responses to “Anything Goes

  1. Pingback: Anything Goes, Part II: Looking back at February and ahead to March | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. I’ve read the Maise Dobbs series. She is a likable heroine and the series is a good read with some perspective on the first world war.

  3. I looooove it when a book has me totally hooked and I can’t put it down. The Hunger Games books one and two were pretty close to being like that for me. Also Game of Thrones was pretty gripping, but the last book I really felt that way about is probably The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood.

  4. I haven’t read either Masie or Nesbo but I do love when books you can’t literally put it down. It has been quite some time since I found one like that.

  5. I bought the first book in the Maisie Dobbs series last year while in Tucson and still haven’t read it. So it seems appropriate to me to take it and read it on the plane when I travel back to Tucson in a couple of weeks. 🙂

  6. “you literally can’t put the book down. The story just clips along at a blistering pace and as much as you try to put it aside, your adrenaline is pumping and you want to know what happens next. And then? And then? And then?”

    I LOVE that feeling when I’m reading a book!

  7. I feel like books that I can’t put down until I’m finished are very rare these days.

  8. I have not read the Masie books yet or Nebso… both, I know are unforgivable acts that I much soon correct.

  9. I had never heard of the Maisie Dobb series until I read your post. I’m going to take a look and see if it’s something I might be interested in tackling.

    I’m glad you’re also working on your TBR shelf. I’m trying to work on that as well, and I’ve started with the books on my bookshelf at home. So far, so good. I think I have around 10 left unread here in the house, we’ll see if I can get that number narrowed down significantly before the baby arrives in June.

  10. I’ve been noticing the Maisie Dobbs series lately, and I must grab one…soon.

    Congrats on narrowing down the TBR shelf; I’ve also made a little progress with that this year. But I also have to read some review books. I must stop accepting so many!

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  11. I officially crown myself A Changed Person this week. I actually received a bookbox full of wonderful travel narratives. Instead of (this is what I usually do) popping book after book I’ve not even read yet into the box, I carefully selected two books from the box and decided to read two travel narratives in my TBR to replace them with in a few days.

    This is a nice feeling.

  12. I haven’t read Masie or Nesbo, though both of them are on my (way too long) to-read list. Maybe I should call it a “maybe someday” list?

    • Sure. That’s what I say to other Sunday Saloners too. It works for me…although it really means “I’ll probably never get to this, no matter how much I say I eventually will get to it.” 😉