Gallery

Wherein I admit I might not be as much a creature of habit as I thought I was

Well, in last week’s post I said I’m a creature of habit and that I’m an addict of crime fiction.  “I can’t seem to get out of the groove, no matter how hard I try,” I wrote, and then said when I get stuck in a groove with an author, I just gobble them up. I then pointed to my recent obsession with Jo Nesbø,  as I had just finished my second Harry Hole book, Nemesis (the fourth in the series, but the second in the series in terms of what’s available in English so far) and had picked up the next, The Devil’s Star, from the library.

I also was reading Jefferson Bass’s first Body Farm novel, Carved in Bone. Jefferson Bass is the writing team of Dr. Bill Bass, a forensic anthropologist who founded the University of Tennessee’s Anthropology Research Facility, the Body Farm, and Jon Jefferson, a journalist, writer and documentary filmmaker. I said it started a bit slow, but was getting better and that for that reason, I wouldn’t stop reading it.

WRONG and WRONG!

In the first case, as I wrote Sunday it’s not that I wasn’t enjoying Nesbø’s book or the series overall. I just decided that I need a little break from all the heaviness in these crime thrillers I’ve been reading and also that I don’t want to “gobble up” all of his books one right after the other. They are very good and I’d rather savor them a bit before devouring them. So on Sunday, I took a break by reading/listening to Tina Fey’s Bossypants on audiobook and finished it Monday night. I encourage you to listen to Fey narrating her own work, because it is hilarious. I admit like Steve Martin’s Born Standing Up, I enjoyed the parts before the author became a star or in particular the SNL parts, except for in Fey’s case, the Sarah Palin part, which was very good.

In the second case, with Carved in Bone, I finally decided to abandon it after I wasn’t “feeling” it. It didn’t get better and the story really wasn’t going anywhere, so bye-bye, Jefferson Bass. I’d say more, but I don’t feel like wasting my time on a book I didn’t really like.

So now what? I think today I’m going to take out a few Agatha Christie books and return to the ongoing Agatha Christie Reading Challenge  which I haven’t participated in since June. Next up: Murder in Retrospect, a Hercule Poirot mystery. I also am going to continue my reading of The Complete Sherlock Holmes, Vol. 2 during my dinner breaks at work because the short stories most of the time seem perfect for a half hour read. I will get back to The Devil’s Star shortly, but just not today or maybe not even this week.

Do you change what you’re reading based on seasons? I think perhaps for me, the dark, dark crime fiction I’ve been reading is not conducive to winter. That’s why I’m changing to lighter fare, yes, even Agatha Christie is light when compared to Jo Nesbø.

11 responses to “Wherein I admit I might not be as much a creature of habit as I thought I was

  1. I forget–do you watch 30 Rock? (ps–thanks for the link…in a moment of desperation I’m marking all as read and starting over…)

    • I watch 30 Rock, but to be honest, those parts of the book, I thought, were the weakest. I liked more of when she was trying to climb her way to the top. After she got there, whatevs.

  2. Wow. I haven’t read an Agatha Christie book in YEARS.

  3. I do change my reading according to seasons. Maybe I should say that I’m more open to certain genres and books depending on the season. When spring hits, I always think of rereading The Secret Garden. In August, I love to reread Tuck Everlasting. In the summer, I’m more willing to read thicker books.

  4. Crime fiction is my genre of choice but I need to take breaks or they all tend to run together. I started the AC challenge last year and just finished #3. I’ve got a long way to go 🙂

  5. I get caught up in one writer at a time. Then I race through their entire history of published books. One of my favorites years ago was Elmore Leonard. His early stuff had such delightful low life characters and they were masterpieces. His later work, eh. I do break out of the mold of “crime fiction” once in a while, but it’s probably my favorite.

    • I guess I’m stuck with crime fiction, but do have to vary it between lighter fare such as Agatha Christie and heavier fare like Nesbo. Otherwise, especially in the winter, I get too depressed.

  6. I tend to listen to a lot of audiobooks, as my biggest chunk of free, non-writing time is in the car. But I swing from mysteries, Stephen King and whatever category you’d put the Dexter books in, to Terry Pratchett and PG Wodehouse. I don’t usually get in modes where I only listen to one kind of genre, though. It gets alternated.