Gallery

About Whitney, Eve and Tina

The Sunday Salon.com Last night I planned on putting a dent in my latest read, The Devil’s Star by Jo Nesbø, but then earlier in the night I heard the news that Whitney Houston died…and I was off with my own (brief) memories of “The Queen of Pop” and “The Voice”:

  • The first time I heard Whitney was when my aunt had a cassette of her eponymous debut album and even though it had its share of sappy moments (believe me I know, because I listened to the entire album last night on Mog), duets with both Teddy Pendergrass AND Jermaine Jackson, it had stand-out tracks like “How Will I Know,” “Saving All My Love For You” and “Greatest Love of All.”
  •  Years ago, before Bobby Brown, friends of mine put up carpeting or flooring in one of Whitney’s houses in New Jersey and said she wasn’t very nice. Whatever. It didn’t make me like her music any less…not that I was a huge Whitney fan. Confession time: I probably was, and am still (shhhh, don’t tell anyone) a larger fan of Celine Dion’s eponymous album than Whitney Houston’s eponymous album.

Plus later last night I participated in another Hitchfest or what now has become #fauxhitchfest on Twitter as we watched the movie All About Eve, one of my and my wife’s favorites. So today, one might assume that I would return to reading The Devil’s Star. One would be wrong. I think I’m going to take a short break today from Nesbø and a longer break after I finish this one.

It’s not that I’m not enjoying this book, in particular, or the series overall. It’s just that I need a little break from all the heaviness in these crime thrillers I’ve been reading for today and also that I don’t want to “gobble up” all of his books one right after the other. They are very good and I’d rather savor them a bit before devouring them. So what will I be reading today?

Cover

Image via Wikipedia

Actually I’ll be listening to Fey narrate it as I purchased it on Audible as an audio book after testing out the sample and being hooked immediately.

I’ll leave you with, of course, a video from Whitney, but also a series of questions (that must be answered in essay form and submitted via PDF to… just kidding) as usual: Are you easily distracted from reading? If so, what distracts you? Do you have any memories of Whitney and her music?

14 responses to “About Whitney, Eve and Tina

  1. Pingback: Wherein I admit I might not be as much a creature of habit as I thought I was | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. I’m usually only distracted from reading with the Stanley Cup playoffs (although, I’m not overly confident that will be much of a distraction this season with the way the Capitals are playing) and the beginning of baseball season. Although, I think this summer, I might be distracted more than usual!

    I’ve been toying with the idea of reading Bossypants and I might take a look and see if they have an available copy at the library the next time I’m there.

    I was sad to hear the news of Whitney Houston’s passing. We listened to her music frequently while growing up!

  3. The audio of Bossypants is definitely a good choice for a pick me up.

  4. RIP Whitney Houston. Her music is the soundtrack to my childhood. And I LOVED the book Bossy Pants by Tina Fey. She is one of my heroes.

  5. If I’m at home then I can be easily distracted from reading. Anywhere else, not so much. I think it’s because at home I have so many things to distract me like the kids and my computer.

    I remember growing up and wishing I could sing like Whitney but I wasn’t a huge fan.

  6. Your question is serendipitous! I just wrote about how I can’t concentrate on reading lately. So yes, I am easily distracted.

    I hope you enjoy Bossypants. I really loved it.

  7. Oh, I am very easily distracted from reading by movies. I have more than 800 DVDs arranged on floor to ceiling shelves in my hallway….and then there’s the DVR, with usually a long list.

    Sometimes I just watch a movie on the DVR for awhile, stop, return to reading…then later finish the movie. It doesn’t seem to bother me to watch movies in bits and pieces.

    Usually I’ve seen them before….

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  8. My biggest distraction from reading is the Net. (Bet that doesn’t surprise you!)

    Here’s my Sunday Salon: Peaceful.

  9. I can be easily distracted at times – especially by the internet. But if I’m in the middle of a good book and I decide to read, I can read no matter what’s going on around me. My friend was amazed when I told her I finished a book while my son had three boys over for a sleepover and spent all evening playing Guitar Hero (plus the drums!) in the living room. 🙂

  10. Easily distracted from reading? Ha. Every day.

    I am sad to hear the news about Whitney. This shows my youth but I remember putting on her cassettes while playing with barbies. Ooh I want to dance with somebody! Shame.

    And glad I’m not the only one who takes breaks between books. Can’t wait to hear what you think of Tina!