Gallery

Me, crime fiction and Bob Mould

I’m a creature of habit, I admit it.

For example, I’m an addict of crime fiction. I can’t seem to get out of the groove, no matter how hard I try. Also when I find an author I like, I read a group of his or her books in a row; case in point, last year, I tore through several Kathy Reichs books. I did the same with Ken Bruen’s Jack Taylor series, which I am caught up to the latest one.

This year, it’s Jo Nesbø,  as I just finished my second Harry Hole book, Nemesis (the fourth in the series, but the second in the series in terms of what’s available in English so far) and already have picked up the next, The Devil’s Star, from the library. Out of 39 books on my TBR pile for this year, 23 of them are part of a series. That’s not counting all of the Agatha Christie books I still have to read as part of the ongoing Agatha Christie Reading Challenge, many of them also parts of series, mostly either Hercule Poirot or Miss Marple, but a few other characters as well.

Aside: I admit I haven’t read an Agatha Christie mystery since June, but I need to get back to her work and this is my announcement that I’m joining the challenge for this year. I make no promises on how many I’ll read for this year, but I do make this vow: I’ll be skipping the Tommy and Tuppence books if I come across any more. For some reason, I just don’t like their characters and I don’t feel like I need to waste my time on reading books with them in it.

You might have noticed or “picked up” on that I said “picked up the next…from the library,” which means that, no, I’m not reading The Devil’s Star yet. So what am I reading? I’m reading Jefferson Bass’s first Body Farm novel, Carved in Bone, which I had on hold as an e-book at the Free Library of Philadelphia and arrived sooner than I expected. Jefferson Bass is the writing team of Dr. Bill Bass, a forensic anthropologist who founded the University of Tennessee’s Anthropology Research Facility, the Body Farm, and Jon Jefferson, a journalist, writer and documentary filmmaker. It started a bit slow, but is getting better, and as I’m already a quarter the way through it already, I don’t think I’ll stop reading it.

What are you reading today? This week? Are you a creature of habit in what you read? Do you stick with one author for a while? Back in the early 2000s, I got stuck in a groove on this musician: Bob Mould. I just couldn’t get enough of him. Here’s Bob recently performing “Hoover Dam” which he made popular with the band Sugar of which he was a member:

4 responses to “Me, crime fiction and Bob Mould

  1. Pingback: Wherein I admit I might not be as much a creature of habit as I thought I was | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. I don’t think I’m a creature of habit. It’s more like I go through stages with books. There’s the nothing-but-fiction stage, the graphic-novels-in-various-genres-and-size, and the children’s-books-are-my-best friend stage. I’m not reading much right now but I am enjoying a great biography, How Georgia Became O’Keefe by Karen Karbo. I’m hoping to finish it this weekend.

  3. I’m starting a new Robert Crais book (Taken) and it’s one of the Elvis Cole/Joe Pike series. I love how he writes. I’m currently reading “Defending Jacob” by William Landay. I just finished “Raylan” by Elmore Leonard. A really good book I read recently was “The Last Nude” by Ellis Avery. Michael Connelly is one of my favorite crime fiction writers, along with John Lescroart. I’ve read a a book from each of them since the first of the year too.I also really enjoyed “Prayers for Rain” by Dennis Lehane. Great detective series.

  4. Sometimes I get stuck in a groove – I’ve been in a Wendell Berry groove lately. 🙂 I am hoping to read more crime fiction in 2012 than I have in the past couple years – I always enjoy them so much. Not sure why I don’t naturally pick it up more often, but there you have it.