Gallery

Patron of the Week: Mrs. Don’t-Get-Me-Started-About-Obama

This week’s Patron of the Week comes from the Land of Neverending-Suspense. Please give a warm welcome to Mrs. Don’t-Get-Me-Started-About-Obama.

She gave me an old, beat-up quarter to pay a fine, and I couldn’t help but make fun of it.

“Is this really a quarter? I’m not sure because I can’t read any of the writing on it.”

“It won’t matter soon anyway because they say soon we’ll have the same money,” said our director who was standing nearby or something to that effect. I’m not sure if she was trying to be ironic or not, but the patron took it as her cue to add:

“And with Obama’s face on it. Don’t get me started.”

Don’t get me started.

That reminded of my last Patron of the Week: Mrs. My-Son-Believes-In-Extraterrestials-And-I-Like-To-Leave-People-Hanging-In-Suspense, who ended her story with:

“Of course, there’s more to THAT story but I need to get home.”

Again, here I had another patron leaving me in suspense.

“Oh, please, please start, I so want to hear what other right-wing conspiracies you have…,” I was thinking.

But alas, she didn’t.

So just as I asked with my last Patron of the Week post, I will ask the question of you, “What’s the rest of the story?” Or in other words, start!  Let me know in the comments again or write your own blog post — if you feel that inspired or are that hard-up for blog fodder.

15 responses to “Patron of the Week: Mrs. Don’t-Get-Me-Started-About-Obama

  1. OMG, really? People are nuts. I have to start tracking customer of the week stories or something!

  2. I had to laugh because I have some family members with whom I do not discuss politics, because they have similar theories. One of them was that Obama used government money to run electricity to/through a village in Kenya where his family lives. It was strange on so many levels that I sputtered for a while before saying, “What!?” Of course when I asked for details they had none.

  3. So this patron thinks the Amero is going to have Obama’s name on it? It’s like the perfect storm of conspiracies!!

  4. Pingback: Ah, poetry, yes! | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  5. I’ll tell you the story. From the moment Obama was born in Kenya, a conspiracy was started to hide that fact so that he could become president of the US one day. It’s so obvious, yet you liberals just won’t believe it. Donald Trump knows this, he’s never wrong. – Newt Gingrich, not a hypocrite at all

  6. I try to bite my tongue when I hear these kind of comments but sometimes I like to ask questions just to hear what’s going on in their head.

    • It’s hard…as someone who works at the library, we are supposed to be impartial…or so I believe. So I just let them go on and on…and then mock them later here. Ha. 😛

  7. You won’t be laughing when we are all walking around in Chadors and getting prostrate to pray 5 times a day. And the change the Star Spangled Banner to the Kenyan Anthem. I wonder if they will let me use my food stamps for Gin?

  8. How do you resist asking?! I would have offered her the quarter back if she told the story 🙂

  9. Well, maybe she could have said “Next thing you know, he’ll have us ALL on food stamps!”

  10. Lol-Nice little post-I am an old cranky conservative with a young fairly liberal librarian fiance so I will have to show her yer blog as it sounds familiar-Many of her stories start with “This patron…”- and she often laughs at my right wing conspiracies-Anyway very groovy lookin site and funny post!