Gallery

My first DNF of 2012!

The Sunday Salon.com Yay!

I just DNF-ed my first DNF of 2012!

Translation for the non-book blogging folk: Did Not Finish a book.

About half an hour ago (now an hour as I publish this post), I returned home from an overnight shift of volunteering at a hospice. I took an audiobook with me on my iPod Shuffle in the hopes that it would help me pass the time. Unfortunately, it only helped time drag.

The audiobook was Sixkill by Robert P. Parker as read by Joe Mantegna. I had taken the print version out of the library previously but didn’t get to it…and also had downloaded the audiobook from the library on an earlier occasion but didn’t get to it that time either. Two warning signs, and I ignored them both.

On my way home, I thought that I would listen to the rest of the audiobook when I got here, especially since I thought I only had about five minutes left. However, when I went to queue up the book on the computer where I had left off, I learned I still had two hours left (of just over five hours total) and know not only because I need to go to bed, but also because I really don’t think I can take much more of it, that I won’t be finishing it.

Why? I’ll be honest that it isn’t Mantegna’s narration, which while isn’t great isn’t as bad as the story — which I am sad to say because I have liked other Spensers written by Parker, now deceased. After three hours, the story isn’t going anywhere, plus while in print, the word “said” might be a good word when using dialogue, hearing it over and over (and over), I wish for a “remarked” or “replied” once in a while. I know it’s best to keep it simple, but for some reason, the word was really getting on my nerves.

So why did I stick with it so long? Maybe because I was tired and was out of my mind. Or maybe because I thought I hoped it would get better, but it just didn’t. I even fell asleep once (although that can’t be blamed completely on Parker or Mantegna as much as I didn’t get much sleep before I went last night).  Also instead of sticking just with Spenser’s narration of the story as he usually does, Parker attempted something new: giving the backstory of the character named Sixkill, a Native American bodyguard for a celebrity accused of murder. It just didn’t work for me.

At least, this year — unlike last year where I started with a string of DNFs before finishing my first book of the year — I already finished one book: The Talented Mr. Ripley by Patricia Highsmith. I had planned to read Cover Her Face, the first Adam Dalgliesh mystery, by P.D. James for my second book of the year and should have stuck with that plan. Now hopefully I’ll be starting it later today.

Have you had any DNFs yet this year? If so, what were they and why?

This marks the second time this week I’ve written tangentially about volunteering at the hospice. The first time was with this post: Experiencing premature mental decline is not a laughing matter.

12 responses to “My first DNF of 2012!

  1. No DNF’s yet for me this year, but I’m sure I’ll have some on the horizon. I’m reading two slow and dense books; one that’s a classic for book club and the other that has a lot of world-building (first book in a sci-fi series). I’m going to give them both about fifty more pages before I consider giving up.

  2. I’ve been lucky, I’ve had some good reads so far this year. I’m sure I’ll have some DNF’s in the future. If it’s not doing it for me, time to move on

  3. Ugh…. I hate that! I LOVE good audio and am bummed when I come across the ones I have to stop listening too because they BORE me 🙂

  4. I don’t do DNFs in print but I won’t hesitate to DNF an audiobook. I already started and stopped BITE ME by Christopher Moore. I had no idea it was part of a series and at one hour in, I was just as confused as I was when I started. I may or may not get to the first two in the series.

    Good luck with your second book!

  5. Nope–no unfinshed books for me this year (so far). But you will be proud to know that I took two grocery sacks full of books to the library. A start.

    I don’t DNF actual books very often but I do abandon audiobooks. Not really sure what the difference is–should be better about letting regular books go.

    Happy Sunday!

  6. I haven’t had any this year…yet. But I can relate to your quandary, especially if you’ve enjoyed other books by the author.

    I have the same difficulty with repetitive words and phrases…they really annoy me.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST and here’s
    MY WEBSITE

  7. I did have one DNF this year: Something Like Beautiful by Asha Bandele. I had no idea that it was a stream-of-conscious type of narrative. 😦

  8. I haven’t had a DNF this year yet – so far. Although I may switch to print with Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy. I don’t like audios that move along really slowly – I can read faster than I can listen, and sometimes I want to just get on with things!

  9. LOL, falling asleep is not a good omen :D. I am almost all the way through The Night Circus, and as gorgeous as the imagery is, and it is very, very gorgeous, the storyline isn’t grabbing me. If I weren’t so close to the end, I might DNF it. And still might as it is due back at the library Wednesday.

  10. Sorry to hear this one didn’t work for you, but given the reaction, leaving it behind seems the wise thing to do! 🙂

  11. I was reading a random YA fiction series called, “Strange Angels.” It was just, annoying. The main character was too whiny and I kept reading because I thought she would become some sort of monster-slaying-amazon.
    She whined more.
    She cried.
    She cried more.
    She set out to do something.
    Failed.
    She cried more.
    Then.
    I cried.
    When that happens, you know it’s a DNF.