Gallery

Experiencing premature mental decline is not a laughing matter

Do you find my brain? - Auf der Suche nach mei...

Image by alles-schlumpf via Flickr

“Are you experiencing premature mental decline?”

“Yes.”

“Do you forget what you just read?”

“Yes…something, something, premature ejaculation?”

According to studies done by the University of Blah Blah Blah, most people lose up to 50 percent of brain power by the age 55.

It is not a laughing matter with symptoms of fuzzy thinking, brain fog, something else, something else and DEATH.

A few weeks ago I was volunteering overnight at a hospice when I saw one of those late night infomercials where these two talking heads are…talking (imagine that)…about how to improve your memory and brain power…and that above is some of what I remember of it and my initial responses.

“About 10 to 15 actually it was 15 years ago I was working incredible hours 80 hours a week as a surgeon but mentally I thought gee am I as sharp as I was prior to that.”

Gee, you think?

Also if this miracle drug is supposed to help improve memory, why couldn’t he remember “actually” how many years ago it was that he was working as a surgeon right from the start?

Hmmm?

I seem to remember writing more than this, something about gingko – no! and the parallels between this miracle drug and the drug in the movie Limitless, but since I’m 42, one-third of my brain power not only might have been lost by age 40 (which I think is about two years ago) but actually has been lost by age 41, I can’t remember it all.

What’s that phone number again? If only I could remember.

9 responses to “Experiencing premature mental decline is not a laughing matter

  1. I just turned 40 about two weeks ago. I have two dogs and a daughter and I get all their names mixed up all the time. My daughter gets offended but now I can direct her to my 50% diminished brain function and she can’t be mad about that. Thanks! 🙂

  2. Pingback: My first DNF of 2012! | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  3. At 58 it’s all over for me. I think I’m down to about 25% of my original brain cells. At least it’s good to know there’s a medical reason for my forgetfulness.

  4. I was going to leave a very funny comment, but I forgot what it was. 🙂

  5. 55 ?
    I think I fried my brain at 25 !

    I forget and loose lots of things time to time. Like brushing my teeth in this morning for example.

    Haa ! Haa !

    But memories are something I never forget ! I am good at that 🙂

  6. LOL, When I get really angry, I can’t remember numbers! One time I was really upset about newspaper non-delivery and I had to call a number and leave my own for the distributor to call back. I couldn’t remember my own phone number! Interestingly, when I am really overtired (as opposed to the general issue whining about how tired I am), one of the first signs is that I start reversing numbers: “61” becomes “16”, etc. Sometimes, it goes a little further and I can’t seem to decode letters and a couple times Iwas unable to figure what people were saying to me (“What language are they speaking?” “”English?!”)

    I read somewhere that really old Asian men used to have personal assistants that read and wrote for them, not because the older men were physically incapable; but because they had forgotten how to read and write! I don’t know if it’s true or not; but it’s an interesting idea :-/