Gallery

One week in to New Year’s resolutions status report

Last week I decided to keep it simple for the New Year by committing to walk, read and pray/meditate every day. So one week in, how am I doing?

Great.

No, honestly?

Okay, honestly, I’m doing OK. I did miss a couple of days, on the weekend, walking every day. However, I’ve been good on the weekdays and Tuesday through Thursday, I’ll be walking to work at the library(about a mile away) and on Friday and Saturday, I’ll be walking back from work.

As for the reading and praying, I’ve been doing a bit better, especially on the reading front, with reading every day so far…even if it was only a story per day in The Complete Sherlock Holmes, Vol. 2 last week. At the start of this week, I’m also reading The Talented Mr. Ripley by Patricia Highsmith. Prayer, besides the “Oh, Lord, help me get through this day” eye-rolling kind, didn’t happen much, but I did pray/meditate some and it’s something I’ll continue to work on for this week.

So how are you doing on your New Year’s resolution one week in? Fair to middling, good or great?

6 responses to “One week in to New Year’s resolutions status report

  1. I’m okay so far with my resolutions! I did a “grown up” thing and bought life insurance, something I should have done a decade ago. I love your resolution of reading every day. I think I need to add that to my list.

  2. Good for you! I have also done extremely well with my resolution. It really helped that I resolved not to improve myself at all. I haven’t had any difficulties sticking to it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I’ve started getting up at 5:15ish this week. I was on the verge of falling asleep on my drive in to work both days but I think if I can get into the habit of getting up early it will do wonders. Oh the things I can do with an hour to myself!!!!!! (prayer nor meditation are not on my list–though I did do yoga this morning).

    Ok is better than sucking at it! Great job you.

  4. I made too many unrealistic goals for myself for 2012 with the result being that, only a little more than a week into the New Year, I already feel overwhelmed and needing to catch-up. I need to re-evaluate as to what I can realistically accomplish. Maybe I’ll be ready for Lent :-/

  5. I have never made a NY resolution. So I’m impressed with people who do. I really should make a resolution to avoid the internet. But I won’t.