Gallery

Having Sherlock Holmes for lunch – nom, nom, nom

The Sunday Salon.com I have begun my reading year with The Complete Sherlock Holmes, Vol. 2 and I am enjoying it so much that I’ve decided to continue reading it during lunch every day for the rest of the month and a little into next month until I am finished with it. Most of the collection is taken up with short stories and are perfect for my half-hour lunches at the library when I get them. Certain days, Monday and Wednesday, I only work a few hours, so I don’t get a lunch at work, but even on those days and other days I don’t work, I’m going to continue reading Sherlock Holmes at lunch.

Does this mean Sherlock Holmes is the only thing I’ll be reading for the next month or so? No. During the evenings, I plan to start putting a dent in those piles of book I mentioned previously, specifically books I’ve taken out of the library:

  • The Talented Mr. Ripley by Patricia Highsmith, the first in the Ripley series.
  • Cover Her Face by P.D. James, the first in the Adam Dagliesh series.
  • Sixkill by Robert Parker, the 40th in the Spenser series, as read by Joe Mantegna.

Besides those three, I only have one other book scheduled for this month: Goldfinger by Ian Fleming as read by Simon Vance. I’m reading that as part of the Shaken, Not Stirred audiobook challenge, with a discussion to take place on Twitter on Saturday, Jan. 21, at 9:30 P.M. Eastern Time followed by the movie Goldfinger.

So what books are you planning to read for the rest of the month of January? Do you read books during your lunch hour? Or do you have other specific times that you read?

23 responses to “Having Sherlock Holmes for lunch – nom, nom, nom

  1. Both The Hubster and I just started reading Sherlock Holmes last year. We’ve both read and loved the first three. I hope to get through a few more this year, I cannot believe I’ve never read them until now. Clearly a huge lapse in my cultural upbringing.

  2. Pingback: Still gorging myself on Sherlock Holmes — and finishing my first book of 2012 | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  3. I’m still working on a reread of the Wendell Berry short story collection, That Distant Land, and am also devouring Dust and Decay by Jonathan Maberry – second in a YA zombie fiction series. Also Plum Wine, which is historical fiction in Japan after Hiroshima – reading that with Megan from Posey Sessions.

    Love Simon Vance as an audiobook reader – he’s one of my favorites.

  4. Fun lunchtime reading! Now that I am eating lunch again, I tend to read e-books at lunch, which are most often my NetGalley books. It allows me to practice a little book polygamy.

  5. Oooh … Sherlock! I’m wavering over buying a new set of the books/stories – I have some mismatched books. Anyway. At the moment I’m reading Billie’s Kiss by Elizabeth Knox and next out of the gate is IQ84 by Murakami.

    I read at lunchtime at work, too. It’s amazing how much you can read in 30 minutes. 🙂

  6. I like the Sherlock Holmes stories, but I still need to finish the book of stories that I started a couple of years ago. I set it aside and forgot to go back.

  7. While I’m at work, I typically do read during my lunch period. It’s important to me to have that nice break from working, plus, it just seems to go together.

    This month, I did finish Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged and began reading Patrick O’Brian’s H.M.S. Surprise. This month I also plan on tackling President Clinton’s new book Back To Work, my first Agatha Christie mystery, and perhaps another Janet Evanovich book.

  8. Typically if I want to get any reading done during the day then I need to get it done at lunch. But that’s also the only time that I can bloghop or respond to comments. I’ve been trying to be better about spending half my lunch reading and half blogging.

    I have a collection of Sherlock Holmes on my shelf. Maybe I’ll move it to my bedstand…

  9. You seem to have picked the perfect books for this month. Good for you!

  10. Ah Sherlock Holmes for lunch! Yum! Actually I don’t get a quiet lunch break generally. The three days I am at the office and not working from home we all eat together. It’s a small office so it’s nice to have the social time. What I do get on those at the office days though is a long ass commute. Now I have an iPad (utterly spoiled for Xmas) I can read my ebooks on the bus.i have the first Game of Thrones books lined up ready for me tomorrow. Fun!

  11. Lunch is a perfect time for reading, I do work full time but inevitably end up grabbing a sandwich to eat during a meeting. Obviously some people don’t enjoy lunch time reading as much as we do and prefer to work right through grrr.
    My 2012 resolution is to be more assertive about protecting my lunch break and I’ll be reading Sanctus – which while being a Da Vinci Code stylee read is actually quite gripping!

  12. I will be having Benedict Cumberbatch for dinner when the adaptation of Sherlock is on the BBC this evening. I have a Charles Dickens bio and The Marriage Plot as part of my reading this month. The rest I’ll play by ear 🙂

    • I’m so jealous of you watching Sherlock Holmes on the BBC. We’ve only had the first series here and it’s going to be a while, I think, before the second one gets here. 😦 Yeah, after these first few, I think playing it by ear is what I’ll be doing too.

  13. I remember doing that…not necessarily Sherlock Holmes, but reading specific books during lunch.

    Now that I’m home (officially retired and free lance!), there are more hours to pursue the reading. I do get distracted with blogging, etc. But I had a pretty good first week of the year.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST and
    MY WEBSITE

    • I figured I wasn’t the only one who read books during lunch :). I work part-time so I do have time to read at other times too, if only I can keep myself away from Netflix.