Gallery

Patron of the Week: Mrs. My Son-Believes-In-Extraterrestials-And-I-Like-To-Leave-People-Hanging-In-Suspense

This week’s Patron of the Week comes from the Land of Ancient Egypt via Mars. Please give a warm welcome to Mrs. My Son-Believes-In-Extraterrestials-And-I-Like-To-Leave-People-Hanging-In-Suspense.

She was looking for a book for her son. It was/is called The Eyes of the Sphinx, she said. I imagined her son to be 12 or 13 and the book to the be the latest Lightning Thief sensation, so I was surprised when I Googled the book (since our library didn’t have it) that its subtitle was The Newest Evidence of Extraterrestial Contact in Ancient Egypt. I thought to myself, “How do I break it to the seemingly nice lady that her son is a nut?” But then I thought her son was the one who asked her to find the book, so I told her.

She wasn’t surprised. Her son, it turns out, is 21 and she said he didn’t believe in God, but in the possibility that aliens had created Earth. “It could be, though, right?” She questioned me rhetorically. What else can one do but nod to that?

After that exchange, I already was thinking that she was a prime candidate for a Patron of the Week, but then in the process of conversation, she said something else that cemented her place for this week.

I really don’t know how the conversation, such as it was when you’re checking out books, came around to this, but somehow it did: how being a teenager can be an awkward time in one’s life.

“It can be awkward when you’re 16 and the only person you’re asked out by is a married man.”

It took but all of a moment to dawn on me that she was talking about herself.

“Of course, there’s more to THAT story but I need to get home.”

…and not to mention that a patron was queued up behind her.

I almost wanted to stop her, letting the next patron wait, and say, “Wait, a minute, what’s the rest of the story?” However, naturally that might not have been fair to the next patron, who at least was playing the part of the uninterested, non-eavesdropping party. So I didn’t.

Now, though, I will ask that question of you: What’s the rest of the story? Who was this married man? Did she go out with him? Is he the father of her son? Does she think about this wistfully? Let me know in the comments or write your own blog post — if you feel that inspired or are that hard-up for blog fodder.

10 responses to “Patron of the Week: Mrs. My Son-Believes-In-Extraterrestials-And-I-Like-To-Leave-People-Hanging-In-Suspense

  1. Pingback: Patron of the Week: Mrs. Don’t-Get-Me-Started-About-Obama | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Having worked in a library a few years ago, I am loving these patron posts. The married man was obviously Arnold Schwarzenegger.

  3. LMAO!! Oh my. Why didn’t you stop her and get the rest of that story?? I applaud you for your constraint. I don’t think I could have let her go, not with a cliffhanger like that.

  4. I want to know the rest of the story!!!!!! Here’s what I think may have happened:

    When she was a teenager, there wasn’t anything wrong with her except she was shy. She was on the pretty side but you couldn’t call her beautiful. She stuck to herself and read a book in the corner of the cafeteria during lunch.

    She was the total opposite of her older sister, who was pretty popular and nice, two thing that don’t often go together. She could have always hung out with her sibling but hated the falseness of it. Her sister’s friends weren’t her friends or even people she could discuss the things she often thought about.

    The only person to ask her out was a married man. Maybe it was one of her teachers. Or maybe it was one of the regular patrons at the library. He noticed that they often checked out similar books. He thought she was pretty in an ordinary way; her thick hair hung to the end of her back, the plastic glasses framing her face in a way that showed her intelligence.

    What happened between the two wasn’t as short as it should have been. Instead, it lasted several years and only ended when she graduated from high school and thought it was time to become who she always thought of herself as being.

    So they went their different ways; he stayed in their small town while she moved to a different state for college. She did become a different person but even then it wasn’t to her liking. She had friends, married, and had a little boy. Disappointments came and went but her family managed to get through them. She found herself thinking of the married man often as time passed. She still saw him when she visited her parents in her old town. They would make small talk and though the old feelings they shared was still there, they were nothing but polite to each other.

    That’s all I have. It’s not a bestseller but it’s satisfying my need to know more. 🙂

  5. When is that book due back? Make sure you’re there that day so you can ask her!! 🙂

  6. I wanna know too! Ask her if she comes back in! We MUST know!!!