Gallery

Tres cool’s a charm?: My reading plans for 2012, Part III

The Sunday Salon.com Tis’ a new year, y’all. Holla.

So I’ve already discussed my reading plans for 2012 a couple of times: that I’m starting with Arthur Conan Doyle and reading at least 10 leftover books from 2011, That number now is nine because I finished one of them last night to end the year with 59 books read. However, I thought I’d reiterate a couple of entries and add a few more to the list that I picked up at the library within the last week.

The ones I’ll reiterate are for the Haruki Murakami Reading Challenge, which is continuing for 2012. Those two entries are 1Q84 and Dance Dance Dance, the sequel to the book, A Wild Sheep Chase, with which I ended the year. I already am involved in two other ongoing challenges: Shaken Not Stirred and the Agatha Christie Reading Challenge, the latter which unfortunately has been too long neglected.

The additions from the library are the following:

  • Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier, which was on my radar after watching the movie last year with a group of folks on Twitter for something called Hitchfest and which fellow Sunday Saloner Marie of The Boston Bibliophile recently reviewed.
  • The Talented Mr. Ripley by Patricia Highsmith, which I’ve always wanted to read but only recently discovered our library had a copy.
  • Cover Her Face, the first Adam Dagliesh mystery, by P.D. James, another one I’ve wanted to read but didn’t think our library had either. Both are paperbacks and in our library, because of limited space, paperbacks are kept on the bottom shelf so I didn’t see either one until shelf-reading last week.
  • The Redbreast, the first Harry Hole novel, by Jo Nesbø, which a patron recommended as another Scandinavian author similar to Stieg Larsson.

With the exception of Rebecca, I just noticed that the other three are all parts of a series and reminded me that in addition to the series I’ve already mentioned in previous posts that I’m looking forward to reading in 2012, I want to continue Kathy Reichs’ Temperance Brennan/Bones series.

So what books are on your radar for 2012? Any that you plan on starting the year with? For reading challenges? Just for the heck of it?

13 responses to “Tres cool’s a charm?: My reading plans for 2012, Part III

  1. On the other end there is me, who has planned pretty much all the books I will want to tackle this coming year.

    Here is my last Sunday Salon post for the year.

  2. I love PD James – and the Adam Dalgliesh series. Haven’t read more than three or four of them so far, but enjoyed them immensely. 🙂 Happy New Year!

  3. I am starting the year off with The Golden Compass, the last book of His Dark Materials trilogy. I got IQ84 as an e book from the library. I hope I finish it before it is due back.

  4. I’ve decided not to make big promises this year. I decided last year that I was going to read ten books that I’d had in my TBR forever. Guess how many I read? Right. Zero.

    Here are my Reading Resolutions for 2012.

  5. The only book I’m pledging to read in 2012 is The Stand. Of course I’ll read others but that’s my only specific goal. 😉 For funsies.

    Rebecca is fantastic. Got 1Q84 for Christmas but it’s a beast.

    Happy New Year. Holla!!!!!! Bahhahaha.

  6. Wow. You’re ambitious. I don’t really have reading goals, but I tend to go for non-fiction, memoirs, humor. Not since “The Help” has a piece of fiction grabbed me. Although, I have read all the Harry Potter books – twice. Should I be embarrassed? I do like to say that I may be getting older, but I’ll always be immature. 😉

  7. It’s funny how there’s isn’t too much on my radar for this year yet. I want to finish What’s Eating Gilbert Grape? today. Plus there’s that ARC stack from last year to get to. There’s also read-along going on via Twitter for 1Q84 this month. . . Happy New Year! 🙂

  8. Happy New Year! I think you’ll definitely love completing your reading of Sherlock Holmes. It was one of the first classics I read when I got back into reading the classics back in 2008. I’m also still hoping to read some Kathy Reichs.

    2012 will start out with me finishing my journey with Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged. A few other books I have on my radar this year are 1Q84, A Clash of Kings, and Gone with the Wind

    I hope 2012 starts off well!

  9. Okay…meant to say read AND loved! lol

  10. Rebecca is a book I read an loved back in the day (way back!); I acquired it recently to reread.

    Enjoy your 2012!

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST and
    MY WEBSITE