Gallery

From old skool to new skool: My top 10 favorite albums of 2011

This year, especially here within the last two months, I’ve discovered a lot of music new to me and I wouldn’t have thought of checking out any new music except thanks to Mog, Pitchfork, and two bloggers, Leighanne of Leighanne’s Lit and Natasha/Vasilly of 1330v: Thoughts of an eclectic reader. While their bands Florence and the Machine and Foster the People didn’t make my list, although they definitely would be in the honorable mention category, these were the ones that did:

10. Shabazz Palaces with Black Up: Hip hop at its finest.

9. The Weekend with House of Balloons: A late entry, only thanks to Metacritic’s Music Critic Top 10 Lists of 2011 list.

8. Fitz and the Tantrums with Pickin’ Up The Pieces: Out in 2010, but I didn’t discover until earlier this year. Old skool soul.

7. Raphael Saadiq with Stone Rollin’:  More old skool soul.

6. Girls with Father, Son, Holy Ghost: I don’t know what it is about them, but just like.

5. M83 with Hurry Up We’re Dreaming: The second most pop album on this list.

4. James Blake with James Blake: Just doing it to my earholes…listening as I put this list together.

3. St. Vincent with Strange Mercy: My top three are all women. This one, my wife doesn’t like because it’s too dissonant for her, but that’s exactly why I like it.

2. Adele with 21: Far from dissonant and also discovered in part to my sister-in-law Lori from a Facebook conversation in which I asked, “Adele who?”

1. tUnE-yArDs with w h o k i l l: Unlike anything else I heard this year or almost any year.

A Couple of Other Honorable Mentions (All I Can Come Up With At 8 on a Saturday Morning): The Beastie Boys with Hot Sauce Committee, Part Two, Wye Oak with Civilian (just heard some of them for the first time Thursday night via a rerun of Carson Daly).

So what are your favorite albums of 2011?

2 responses to “From old skool to new skool: My top 10 favorite albums of 2011

  1. I knew Saadiq from years ago with Tony Toni Tone (however it goes) but didn’t realize it.

  2. I love Raphael Saadiq! He’s so awesome. Thanks for such a great post. There’s so much that I want to listen to now. Happy New Year!