Gallery

Grateful for gifts and the generosity of family

Each Friday, I post Flashback Friday, where I use St. Ignatius of Loyola’s Examen as a guide and usually ask the following questions: For what are you least grateful this past week? For what are you most grateful this past week?

Least grateful

That my wife was unable to be with me with on Christmas Day: She worked both Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. However, we did spend time together last Friday and Saturday morning as she took me to my parents, who live about two hours away, and leaving me there until Tuesday morning when she returned to get me. While that was nice, I still missed her being there on the actual holiday for Christmas dinner and the “gift-giving” portion of the day. My mother, father, aunt, sister and brother-in-law were nice enough to have some gifts for my wife to open on Friday before she had to leave Saturday morning, but it still would have been better if she had been able to open everything on Christmas Day, especially the “big gift,” which brings me to that for which I’m most grateful this past week.

Most grateful

Photo courtesy of my sister

The generosity of family: The big gift for both of us (and a matching one for my sister and brother-in-law) was a Dell XPS 17.3-inch laptop computer from my aunt and my parents. My wife and I already had begun saving money to get either an iPad 2 (well, that was more me than her) or a laptop, so when Friday afternoon, we opened the box that said “Dell” on the side, we were beside ourselves. Through the generosity of a friend last Christmas, we already had a Dell Inspiron mini-laptop, but we wanted to get another laptop plus an external hard drive to replace our existing desktop, which is several years old. My parents and my aunt also got us the external hard drive, which is where we plan to put photos and music from the desktop.

Not only do both the laptop and the external hard drive allow us to replace our desktop, but also they allow me to get out of my “man-cave”/office and to free up the space for a den/library for both of us. I always hated having to go into the back room to use the desktop, usually closing the door because our cat likes to get tangled up in the cords behind the desk, and now I won’t have to do that. Now I can be out on the couch or at the kitchen table and I can rearrange that back office so we can use it with putting in bookcases in there and maybe a futon for guests.

In addition to the laptop and the external hard drive, my aunt also was generous enough to give us both a little bit of extra money. My wife was able to buy some new clothes, and I’ve purchased a laptop stand, some new music and books. I still have money left over, which I might use toward the purchase of a Nook Simple Touch. Plus my brother-in-law gave my wife his “old” first-edition Kindle since he upgraded to a Kindle Fire so now we both have e-readers since I already own a Nook First Edition. I’m not locked into getting an upgrade, but I’ve been tempted ever since I saw the upgrade to the first edition.

So as always, I’ll leave you with the questions: For what are you least grateful and most grateful this past week?

6 responses to “Grateful for gifts and the generosity of family

  1. I’m sorry Kim had to work. That’s terrible. But I’m glad you got to spend your time with family and the gifts are real winners!!!

    • It really wasn’t that terrible, considering that she got paid double-time for both days and will get paid the same for this New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day. 🙂 Loving the gifts so far…now the fun task of figuring out how to transfer iTunes to an external hard drive and still being able to access it.

  2. We missed her too on that day…. 😦

  3. Those are some awesome presents! This week I’m least grateful for having the same argument over and over again with my ex. I’m most grateful for the ability to stay calm this week. 🙂 I hope you have a great new year!