Gallery

Ending 2011 with Murakami, starting 2012 with Doyle

What books am I going to end this year with? What books am I going to start next year with?

I’ve been thinking about this ever since Ti from the blog Book Chatter discussed those very questions in a Sunday Salon Post a few weeks ago on “End of the Year Reading.” Now that I have only three days left in the year, it is an even more pressing question than earlier. Since I am in the middle of A Wild Sheep Chase by Haruki Murakami, I can tell you that this book is one of them. The other will be its sequel, Dance Dance Dance as I will complete at least one challenge this year: the Haruki Murakami Reading Challenge.

My goal was to read three books and when I finish both of these, I will have completed that challenge and have come full circle as I started the year with Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World (my second book of the year after completing The Complete Sherlock Holmes, Vol. 1 by Arthur Conan Doyle). In her post, Ti said that last book should be pure fun and I consider all of Murakami’s work (what I have read so far) that, mainly just because his writing is so surreal and different from anything else I ever have read.  So it only seems apropos that I end with one of his books.

In a similar vein, Ti discussed how the first book of the year has the potential to set the tone for the rest of the year. Whether I knew it or not, I think last year’s first book (Sherlock Holmes) did set the tone for the rest of the year as I continued reading mysteries (I know, gasp, a big shock) throughout 2011. So now naturally I’m thinking what book should I start the new year with? While I just purchased the e-book of 1Q84 by Murakami last night via Google Books from From My Shelf Books and am tempted to start where I finished: with Murakami, after writing about reading the first volume of the complete Sherlock Holmes, I think I’m going to start with Holmes again: with the second volume.

On Sunday, with it being the first day of 2012, I’ll discuss the other books on my radar for the start of the year. Until then, I’ll leave you with the questions:

What books are you going to end this year with? What books are you going to start next year with?

For a list of my best and worst books of 2011, see my 2011 End of the Year Survey.

4 responses to “Ending 2011 with Murakami, starting 2012 with Doyle

  1. Pingback: Tres cool’s a charm?: My reading plans for 2012, Part III | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. That Doyle book sounds SO interesting. I think I’ll add it to my list.

  3. I’ve been eyeing 1Q84 for quite some time now and hoping to get around to it in 2012. It looks like I’ll be ending 2011 with Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged and beginning 2012 with it as well. Afterwards, I’m looking at reading more Patrick O’Brian, specifically HMS Surprise and then hoping to begin some works of philosophy, but we’ll see.

  4. I thought I was ending the year with King’s new one, but it so disappointed me, that I felt the need to quickly read another book. That book was After Dark (Murakami). I am starting the year with The Stranger’s Child. I read one paragraph last night to see if it would a good one to start the year off with and I think it will be.