Gallery

2011: The Year I Sucked or Wait, Did I?

What a whirlwind of a year it’s been, folks.

I started the year motivated…

…to post once a day for 2011!

To say “no” and “yes” each week to help me toward being physically active...

…to read all the books on this shelf.

Sunday Salon 08 22 10

Somewhere…about April, I think, as evidenced by this post, I lost my mojo

By the end of the year, not only did I not post once a day for 2011, I killed this blog and started another one.

I no longer said “no” and “yes” each week. I just said, “Meh” every day.

I read maybe two, okay, three books from that shelf, if that.

Wow! I suck…

or do I?  (Wait, don’t answer that until I have had a chance to answer and then feel free to tell me how much I suck in the comments. Thank you.)

Hmmm, maybe we should look at this another way. What did I accomplish, in some cases even, despite my moniker, finish?

1. Not one, but two jobs: one, being in the newspaper business for 15 yearsthe other as a volunteer for a senior center.

2.  58 books as of today, Dec. 26 and probably 60 by year’s end, including

  • The Harry Potter series….also saw all of the movies finally too.
  • The Jack Taylor series by Ken Bruen, which started out well, but since, in my humble opinion, has faltered.
  • The Dortmunder series by Donald E. Westlake.

3. Restarting this blog.

4. Remotivating myself, this time to eat frogs.

5. Celebrating 15 years of marriage this past Nov. 23 with my wife.

6. Discovering new music in November and now into December too.

7. Something about which I almost forgot until searching the archives here: Surviving a tornado.

8. One last thing about which I also almost forgot until searching the archives here: Surviving The Rapture.

So how about you? How was your year? It didn’t all suck, did it? Really? That bad? C’mon, there had to be one redeeming quality this year?

Each Friday, I post Flashback Friday, where I use St. Ignatius of Loyola’s Examen as a guide and usually ask the following questions: For what are you least grateful this past week? For what are you most grateful this past week? This is a variation on that theme this week as I look back at 2011. I will have another Flashback Friday on…well…Friday, pertaining to just this week.

15 responses to “2011: The Year I Sucked or Wait, Did I?

  1. I set very few goals because I rarely meet them. I think I’m more likely to do something if it isn’t a goal.

    By the way, we ALL survived the rapture so I wouldn’t get all cocky about that 🙂

  2. For a long time, I tried to write something every day. Then I stopped that because it’s hard to find the time to read one person’s blog every day and maybe comment. So I cut mine to twice a week. Easier for me. And maybe easier for people who read what I write.

    I run so damn hot and cold with what I read. I finished “hunger games” one and two but still need to get to #3. I think I’ve read over 100 books this past year. Some were brilliant, some were blah and some were recommended by you. I didn’t know for sure that I would enjoy your recommendations, but so for I’m at 100% enjoyment wise. So I guess I will keep coming by to check out what you have to say!

    You are a good guy. Kim is a lucky woman!

    • Thanks, Linda.

      I’m glad you’ve enjoyed my recommendations with books thus far. However, I won’t be offended if you don’t. We each have different tastes and that’s what makes us who we are.

  3. I am glad 2011 was better for you overall. You are one of those bloggers that doesn’t give up – That’s what I like about you.

    And thank you for motivating me to write a post of reflecting on this year.
    http://maniaravings.com/?p=208

    Here’s to a great 2012 !

  4. Pingback: Looking back: 2011 |

  5. One of the things I admire about you is that whether you carry on or falter you are always on a mission to be your best self. And this, to me, means success in that endeavor will happen. And the timeframe is less important because really, all good things flow from the effort. Love you!

  6. Some really good things about this year (my daughter’s Crohn’s has been in remission all year), some not so good (Kevin has now been unemployed for six months). My book-related goals – I completed some, some I didn’t. My personal, health-related goals – well, there’s always next year, right?

  7. Let’s not talk about my year…m’kay? 🙂

  8. I’m loving this post!You did great this year. I’m wondering why did you decide to post every day for the whole year? That was a really big goal. My year was okay though it could have been better. Some of the same goals that I had this year, I’ll have next year which sucks a lot. But one of the best things about this year is that I took a semester-long break from school and changed my major. I hope 2012 is a great year for you. 🙂

    • Why did I decide to post every day for the whole year? Um, because I was crazy. That’s why. As for the goals, at least we still have them…but maybe some are unrealistic. This year, my New Year’s resolutions are going to be simple: walk, read, meditate/pray. I’m going to do a post (of course) later, but that’s basically what they’ll be: simple, no complicated 10-parters to each one. You had been an English major, hadn’t you (or do I have you confused with someone else)? So what is your major now?