Gallery

Top 10 Leftover Books For 2012

So last night while at the library where I work, I got to thinking about what books I haven’t gotten to this year that I wanted to get to.  Namely, they can be found in two places: on my wishlist in my queue for e-books at the library and on my Nook, either books I’ve already purchased or books I want to purchase.

1. A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin

At the top of the wishlist at the library is A Clash of Kings, the second in the George R.R. Martin Song of Fire and Ice series. I read the first one, A Game of Thrones earlier in the year, really enjoyed it, then started the second one, but then for some reason put it down and never returned to it.

2, 3. The Name of the Wind and The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss

Two others on the library wishlist are also part of a series, The Name of the Wind and The Wise Man’s Fear, both by Patrick Rothfuss, and respectively, the first and second books in his Kingkiller Chronicles. The director at our library said they were really good, so hey, that can’t be bad, right? Um, we’ll see.

4. Sixkill by Robert P. Parker

This one is the lone audiobook on the library wishlist and is read by Joe Mantegna. I listened to a sample of it last week and it sounded like it might be my cup of tea.

5. Hyperion by Dan Simmons

Somewhere in the distant past, someone on a blog, maybe even this blog in a comment, mentioned that this was a science fiction classic. So when I saw it as available on e-book at the library, I thought I should give it a try. I don’t know if it is a classic or not, but I hope to find out in 2012.

6. The Complete Sherlock Holmes, Volume II by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

I finished the first volume earlier this year on my Nook, but never got to the second one. I put it on hold for whatever was catching my eyes on Netflix at the time and then never returned to finish the second volume. Sad but true.

7. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer

I picked this up not too long ago on my Nook for a fairly reasonable (yes, cheap) price. I remember hearing that it was supposed to be good from several bloggers, including Trish from Love, Laughter and a Touch of Insanity, so I thought I’d give it a go, but I never did. As with so many others, it got put on pause.

8. Magyk: Septimus Heap, Book One by Angie Sage

This was actually a free Nook book from last year as part of a promotion for one of her more recent books in the series. I’ll consider myself lucky if I get to this one in 2012.

9, 10: A Wild Sheep Chase and Dance, Dance, Dance by Haruki Murakami

I read Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World by Murakami earlier in the year as part of a Haruki Murakami Reading Challenge. My goal was to read three of his books with the second and third ones being these two.

So how about you? Do you have any books “leftover” that you wanted to read in 2011 but didn’t and now will wait until next year to read? If so, tell us a few of them in the comments or write your own post about them and put a link to your post in the comments. 

Yes, I’m back here with this being my main blog after a few months’ hiatus at another blog, which now is my secondary blog. I’ll still keep track of what I’m reading, what I’m watching and what I’m listening to over there at Unfinished, but as a supplement to what you can find here. I’ll explain with a full post sometime in the near future, but for now, just know that I’m back (for good) here. The journey as always is…unfinished.

Peace out, y’all. Holla.

9 responses to “Top 10 Leftover Books For 2012

  1. All of these that I have read are fabulous books. Yes, especially the Murakami books. And Incredibly Loud. Keep these on your list.

    My two cents.

    Here is my Sunday Salon. I hope you will stop by!

    • Now I’m feeling pressure to read the Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close book because the movie’s coming out. However, I still want to get to these others. Looks like my “work” is cut out for me. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Tres cool’s a charm?: My reading plans for 2012, Part III | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  3. You have to pick up the Foer book. I loved it so much. I have a ton of leftover books including stacks and stacks of ARCs. But the ones that I’m really looking forward to read is Warmth of Other Suns by Isabel Wilkerson and Among Others by Jo Walton. I feel really guilty about the Walton book since I bought it the second it was published this past January. 😦

  4. Ahem. I WOULD have been the first commenter, if SOMEONE had remembered to open comments up. 😛

    I have a ton of books waiting that I didn’t get to this year: Divergent by Veronica Roth, the Belgariad series by David Eddings, which a friend loaned to me, books 3 and 4 of the Percy Jackson series….. Lots more, too.

    • Thanks for being the first REAL commenter back at the old place.

      I read the Belgariad series years ago, but it’s been a long time…I want to read the Percy Jackson series too. I’ve heard such good things about that one.

  5. I really enjoy the Angie Sage series. I’m on about book 5. Fun middle grade fantasy.

    • I don’t know why I haven’t gotten to it. It’s not that each of the series is that daunting, but altogether I guess it seems that way. I know once I get started on one, I’ll have to read the others *sigh* ;-).

      Thanks for being my first commenter back at the old place.

  6. Pingback: | Unfinished