Gallery

Breaking with the past last month; bad, this month

The Sunday Salon.com

So as of today, I’ve now read 41 books for the year  as this past month I read four books.

  1. Charlie Chan Carries On by Earl Derr Biggers
  2. The Keeper of the Keys by Earl Derr Biggers
  3. The Guards by Ken Bruen
  4. The Killing of the Tinkers by Ken Bruen
The first two are the end of the Charlie Chan series; the second two, the beginning of the Jack Taylor series. All four were good, but probably the best of this month’s lot was the second to last Charlie Chan.

As for what I’ve watched on the Tube this past month, it’s been a good mixture of TV and movies, mostly from Netflix, but some also from the library: Sports Night, Cheers, King of the Hill, Smokey and the Bandit, That 70s Show, Home Movies, Foreign Correspondent, Frenzy, Waking the Dead, South Park, Futurama, The Towering Inferno, The West Wing, Star Trek, Star Trek: The Next Generation, Larry Sanders, Midsomer Murders, City Hunter, Doctor Who, Conan O’Brien Can’t Stop, Roseanne, My Name Is Earl, Dirty Harry, Magnum Force, X-Men: First Class and Thor. Hmmm. I can’t imagine why I didn’t get much more reading done this month, can you? 😉

The best movie last month was definitely X-Men: First Class, followed closely by Conan O’Brien Can’t Stop; the best TV show, Waking the Dead and the nicest surprise, City Hunter, a Korean show available on Netflix.

I don’t have much on the radar reading-wise for October other than two books. The first is There Goes The Galaxy, the debut novel by Jenn Thorson, who also authors the blog Of Cabbages and Kings. I know some book bloggers out there (and I’m seriously not pointing any fingers) who don’t take self-published novels for review, but normally I don’t take any books for review for my blog, with a few minor exceptions I’ve made for bloggers with whom I’ve become acquainted or gotten to know. I’ve met Jenn IRL (in real life) and so when she asked me if I would review her book, I couldn’t turn her down. Plus I really want to read the book, because not only is Jenn very funny, but also an extremely good writer. In her RL, she works in marketing and knows her way around words. I am (super) pysched to read her book within the next week or so.

The second book on my radar: I didn’t plan on picking it up but the other day when I went to work at the library, I realized I didn’t have a book to read during my lunch break. Being in a library, I quickly remedied that and picked up Bare Bones by Kathy Reichs, the next Bones/Temperance Brennan book I’m reading, off the shelf. I’m only about page 20, but plan to dig (bad pun intended) into it a little more tomorrow (as today no doubt will be taken over, as it is most Sundays, by football and a nap).

Thanks to Netflix, I do have a few TV shows on the radar, namely four: Breaking Bad (which my wife and I just started watching yesterday), The Wonder Years, Frasier and Star Trek: Deep Space Nine. Out of those, I think the one to which we’re really going to become addicted is Breaking Bad — and with which I’ll leave you the opening of the very first episode for this week’s Moment of Zen:

So what did you read and/or watch last month? What was your favorite book, TV show and/or movie for September?

On a more personal note, I’m somewhat “breaking bad” myself as I’m making some changes in my own life (um, no, I’m not manufacturing meth out of a Winnebago and if I were, I wouldn’t be announcing it here, but there are some changes also coming on the blog front within the next couple of weeks). For more on those changes from this past month, see my post on my resigning my part-time job as a newspaper correspondent and my post on my no longer volunteering at the local senior center.

8 responses to “Breaking with the past last month; bad, this month

  1. I really want to start watching BREAKING BAD. Just it always looks so interesting!

  2. Y’all are going to LOVE Breaking Bad. Seriously, it’s the best show on TV. I might even say it’s better than Dexter.

    And, I love Jenn. I’m so happy she finished writing/publishing her book. Can’t wait to read your review.

  3. I love Netflix. It becomes so difficult to balance everything, doesn’t it? I always try to blog and watch TV at the same time, so that I feel better about spending so much time on the couch.

    I’ve been hesitant about watching the latest X-Men, but now you have definitely piqued my interest. I may have to bite the bullet on that one after all!

    I am definitely curious what other changes you are planning to make. Your courage at taking some very big steps in your life is inspiring.

  4. I love discovering new shows I can watch on netflix. I managed a nice mix of reading and tv watching this last month. i hope October is as good

  5. My dad watches Breaking Bad. I did watch a few episodes of it, but I honestly hardly ever watch TV and the only thing I’ve watched lately is NFL and College Football (the SEC, I’m a Carolina fan!) :]
    And my boyfriend and I have been dying to watch X-Men: First Class. But with him on shift work, I hardly ever see him, so that just hasn’t happened yet.
    Looks like Netflix holds a lot of great way to keep you entertained! I need to reacquaint myself with Netflix.

  6. Yes, Netflix can really interfere with a person’s reading. 🙂

  7. I’m going to have to check out some of those TV shows…so I could at least record them on my DVR.

    When I’m reading and writing a lot, TV becomes something I watch when I have a block of time, usually on the weekends.

    Enjoy!

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST and
    MY WEBSITE