Gallery

Asking myself one question: Do I feel lucky?

Well, it seems like I’m averaging about a book a week anymore. This past week’s book:  The Guards, the first in the Jack Taylor series, by Ken Bruen. This coming week’s book, with which I’m almost done, is the second one in the series, The Killing of the Tinkers. And that review/overview of the Charlie Chan mystery series by Earl Derr Biggers that I promised will be coming by next week’s Midweek Review, at the latest, or this week’s Sunday Salon at the earliest.

In addition to the second of the Jack Taylor series, I’m also reading the first of another series, The Highly Effective Detective by Richard Yancey. While pretty decent, it wasn’t as as good as The Guards so I finished The Guards first and then started on the second one of that series. If you’re looking for a series with teeth, though, check out the Jack Taylor series.

On the flip side of reading, with my watching TV shows and movies, I’m averaging five shows and at least a movie (if not more) a week. Among this week’s shows were Cheers (Season 6), Roseanne (Season 2), My Name Is Earl (Season 1), Waking the Dead (Season 4) and Larry Sanders (Season 1). The Wife and I also watched a movie, Conan O’Brien Can’t Stop, on Netflix Instant, soon just to be Netflix, and both of us were pleasantly surprised by how good it was. Not that we expected it to suck, but we didn’t expect it to be as insightful into the Hollywood scene as it was.

Last night I started a marathon of watching the Dirty Harry movies in a row as I watched the first one, which I still think is the best. I would like to watch all of them via streaming but Netflix has every other one of the five on streaming, which to me makes no damned sense. However, luckily for me (part pun intended), our library just purchased a bunch of DVDs from a nearby Border’s that went out of business and one of them was Magnum Force. It just was returned the other day and I grabbed it in anticipation of my marathon. I also was able to get the fourth one, Sudden Impact, from the library today, but on VHS…yes, our library still has videos, and yes, we still have a VCR. We’re old skool…okay, we’re (getting) old anyway.

Earlier this afternoon, The Wife and I also started watched the beginning of X-Men: First Class and were enjoying it before we realized we didn’t have time to see it all before we both went to work late this afternoon. So tonight we’ll be watching the end of that. Now I could leave you with a clip from that movie, but since I’m going to be continuing my Dirty Harry marathon as soon as I hit “publish” on this post, I’ll leave you with the trailer from the original:

What have you read and/or watched this past week? What is one of your favorite movie series or even movie from the 1970s? Or even movies about the 1970s? Myself, as far as favorite movie of the 1970s, just off the top of my head, I’d probably go with Francis Ford Coppola’s The Conversation, which starred Gene Hackman…and not far behind, if not dead even, would be Coppola’s The Godfather: Part II.

Oh, yeah, and in answer to the question of my title, I’m a punk and so yes, I do feel lucky, thanks for asking, Inspector Callahan.

Peace out, y’all. Holla.

5 responses to “Asking myself one question: Do I feel lucky?

  1. Yanno, I’ve never seen a Dirty Harry movie!

    And, I wish I could manage my time properly, so that I could read a book a week.

  2. We used to have a “Squint Like Clint” week on one of our local stations. They played all the Dirty Harry movies, back to back, as well as the Spaghetti Westerns and even the one with the monkey. It was the Best. Week. Ever. on tv!

    • Oh, that would rock. I’d be so jealous…

      …I’m continuing my marathon tonight as I got Sudden Impact from Netflix. But first, The Enforcer and then Sudden Impact, followed by The Dead Pool.

  3. Um, yeah, I think there are at least 10…so you might need to keep going, although I don’t think Netflix/Qwikster has all of them. But one of my favorites, 10 times better than Cold Case or any version of CSI, its American counterparts.

  4. I loved Waking the Dead. But now I have to go make sure I’ve seen all the seasons, cuz I don’t remember watching four of them….