Gallery

That sound you hear? Me falling flat gobsmacked on my face.

The Sunday Salon.com

Remember that time I said I was going to read my own books for the rest of the year?

No?

Well…I did.

So how’d that work out for you?

Like shite. Thanks for asking.

The problem is I work in a library, so the plan was all but gone in the loo from word one.

To wit, this past week I picked up no less than three books from the library:

  • The Guards and The Killing of the Tinkers, both by Ken Bruen, the first two of the Jack Taylor series, which might explain my faux Irish/English jargon adapted/slaughtered in this post,
  • and Sixkill by Robert B. Parker.

I had gotten The Guards as a sample on e-book and was going to buy it but then went to see if our library had it. It didn’t, as well as not having the third in the series, The Magdalen Martyrs, so after examining the other books in the series to make sure they had been checked out more than a few times (and they had), I asked the director if she could order the first and the third ones. She did and then at the end of last month they arrived.

Without my knowing it, they had slipped past my radar onto the new book shelf and then this past week, when I saw The Guards come across the circulation desk, I knew it was time to read it…

…and knew right then and right there I was fucked five ways from Sunday in ever keeping my pledge to read only my own books for the rest of the year.

Since that was the case, not only did I pick up that one and the second one of the Jack Taylor series, but also I put the third one on hold (since it also had been put out in circulation without my knowing it) and checked out Sixkill by Robert B. Parker, the last in the Spenser series.

Now begins the long spiral down where my books languish on my shelves unread for the next 10 years and I am forced, FORCED I tell you, to read only books from the library for that same time span.

Wish me luck…

Síocháin out, y’all. Holla.

12 responses to “That sound you hear? Me falling flat gobsmacked on my face.

  1. Pingback: 2011: The Year I Sucked or Wait, Did I? | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Ah, such good intentions we have, yes? But we are weak. 🙂

  3. Well, at least you’re reading, which is more than I can say for myself. I keep promising to read more books, but I never get around to it!

  4. I feel you. I have the same problem. I have a mountain of to be read books but am forever going to the library and checking out 10 or more books at a time.

  5. Well you know…. I always say there are worse habits I could have then reading lots and lots of books 😉

  6. I have a similar problem working in a library, but then it is a nice problem to have isn’t it?

  7. I wish you good luck in everything you do. I’ve been having the urge to read more books from my pile for the rest of the year but went and checked out a ton of books from various libraries. Happy reading.

  8. I have the same challenge as you, reading my own stuff that’s collecting dust on my bookshelf. Now that I’ve completed reading my tomes on Marx’s Capital I might be able to get to some of those books!

    Sometimes it can be just so hard to get to those books on your shelves when there’s so much great stuff out there! My wife and I were at the library the other day, and it was very difficult for me to leave without any books this time!

  9. I even created a blog to help me focus on TBR stacks (some of these books have been there for at least five years!); and while I’ve read about 100 of them in the past two years, I’m drawn to new books and even review books. I figure that the ones on my shelves will still be there…whenever.

    Have fun!

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  10. I really want to read The Guards – it’s been on my mind since someone reviewed it for the Ireland Reading Challenge. Let me know what you think! And as far as reading your own books? Adopt my policy – no guilt when it comes to reading! There are enough other things in life to feel guilty about. 🙂

  11. I keep meaning to read what I already have to clear off my shelves, but the library is my nemesis and book stores and the internet and, you get the picture. Have fun with your books this week!