Gallery

The Last Hurrah: Wrapping up Book Blogger Appreciation Week

The Sunday Salon.com For today’s Sunday Salon (well, the first of two parts, second part soon to follow this one) I’m combining the last two topics for this past week’s Book Blogger Appreciation Week posts. So without further ado, here goes:

Book bloggers blog because we love reading. Has book blogging changed the way you read? Have you discovered books you never would have apart from book blogging? How has book blogging affected your book acquisition habits? Have you made new connections with other readers because of book blogging? Choose any one of these topics and share your thoughts today!

The way I read? Not really. I’m still not a speed reader as is evidenced by my only reading two books this month: Charlie Chan Carries On and Keeper of the Keys, the two last Charlie Chan murder mysteries by Earl Derr Biggers, with the latter having just finished last night. I will have more on the series overall in a future post.

Discovered books because of book blogging? Gods in Alabama, I don’t remember who wrote the review or reviews of it, but I read it or them and decided I want to read the book. I’m glad I did. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie. Rediscover: Agatha Christie, Haruki Murakami, thanks to the Agatha Christie Reading Challenge and the Haruki Murakami Reading ChallengeThe Year of Living Biblically: One Man’s Quest To Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible by A.J. Jacobs. The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell.

Book blogging affected acquisition habits? To a small degree, specifically involving the Haruki Murakami Reading Challenge as I’ve been buying his books on my Nook. I also probably wouldn’t have a Nook if it weren’t for book bloggers — and even though I haven’t used it as much as I’d like so far, I do enjoy it and plan to use it more over the next few months.

New connections? Two, in particular, that I’d like to mention, Kerrie in South Australia, the founder of the Agatha Christie Reading Challenge and author of the blog Mysteries in Paradiseand tanabata in Japan, the founder of the Haruki Murakami Reading Challenge and author of the blog in spring it is the dawn.

The world of blogging is continually changing. Share 3 things you are essential tried and true practices for every blogger and 1-3 new trends or tools you’ve adapted recently or would like to in the future.

3 essential tried and true practices:

Google Reader: Since it’s still the way many people read blogs, it only makes sense that you would use it. It gives you traffic…give it some love back. Plus despite its downfalls, for me, not an easy way to organize starred items, including “unstarring” items by groups…it’s still the only way for me that works for keeping track of most of the blogs I read regularly.

Network: Networked Blogs, Facebook, Twitter: If you’re not on them…get on them…and in the case of the latter two, interact. Networked Blogs: I’ve learned you don’t have to do much there, other than put your blog feed in and let it go, but the other two, if you don’t interact with your friends and followers, you’re missing the boat.

Write, write, write: I know, I know, I know, the mantra is “revise, revise, revise,” but if you don’t write, write, write, you have nothing to revise and you also have nothing for others to comment on (such as ending a phrase with a preposition and using too many parenthetical asides in your blog posts, even though this is only the second in this one).

New trends or tools: 

I started this draft the other night and couldn’t think of anything then. Now Sunday morning as I’m finishing the final draft I still can’t think of anything. I guess I’m just not that hip…or whatever the term nowadays is for being cool.

Peace out, y’all. Holla.

4 responses to “The Last Hurrah: Wrapping up Book Blogger Appreciation Week

  1. Thank you for this post. Lots of great advice here. Great advice which I rarely follow. Sadly. I know I should revise more, but honestly I feel happy just to have thrown something up on my blog each week. I’m not on Networked Blogs (or, if I am, I don’t remember how to get back there) and I only Twitter by mistake. I know, I know.

    I’m a perfectionist at heart, so I’m trying, in my old age, to accept my writing, enormous flaws and all, instead of shamefully refusing to write anything till it’s fabulous.

    Whew. Am I ever ranting today!
    My Sunday Salon is Quiet Before the Storm.

  2. I use Google Reader to keep track of everything. If I don’t check it for a few days, it becomes pretty unmanageable. But it keeps everything all in one place for me, so for that reasons I like it.

    You really should use your Nook more! I absolutely love mine :] My favorite device other than my phone and laptop of course :]

    And Huey Lewis and the News doesn’t make me think of anything except the movie American Psycho. LOVE that movie. Norman Bates is fantastic(cally crazy) 😀

  3. Oh, I love Huey Lewis’s songs! They make me want to dance….now that would be a funny sight. LOL

    I enjoyed the BBAW posting and visiting blogs. I use Networked blogs on Facebook…gotta love Facebook!

    I don’t like the Google reader, though; I love to visit the actual blogs. See the layout, etc. Feel the ambience. Plus, I’ll admit that I don’t know how to organize the reader, either. It scares me! LOL

    Have a great week!

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST and
    MY WEBSITE

    • First, an administrative note: For some reason, I have to keep approving your comments. Perhaps you’re using different names or websites when you comment. Use the same one each time and hopefully that will correct that…IF that is what happening.

      Second, I use Google Reader as a bookmarking system. I open the blogs in other tabs (on Sunday Salon days, I have about 10 open at a time) to see the layout. Like you, I like to get the feel of the blog and also see if there’s anything on the blog’s homepage that I might not want to miss.