Gallery

How To Do Community: Keep It Simple

Today is the third day of Book Blogger Appreciation Week, with the theme of Cultivating a Community of Bloggers and Readers. Today’s topic is How Do You Do Community?

The world of book blogging has grown enormously and sometimes it can be hard to find a place. Share your tips for finding and keeping community in book blogging despite the hectic demands made on your time and the overwhelming number of blogs out there. If you’re struggling with finding a community, share your concerns and explain what you’re looking for–this is the week to connect!

In answer to the question on the topic, “How Do You Do Community?,” I’d have to say fair to middling, but that’s all right because if I was doing great at community, then I’d never have time to write anything on this blog. Besides events like this, the main mediums that keep me connected to the book blogging community are The Sunday Salon and Twitter. In fact, I have to say probably if it weren’t for The Sunday Salon, I doubt I’d be involved with the book blogging community at all. From there, I’ve branched out to connect with some of those same folks on Twitter and then a few of their friends by extension.

To a very small extent, I keep track of a few through GoodReads, although mostly I’ll be honest I’ve been hit by a lot of what I consider spam from authors there. If you don’t have a book blog, or are promoting your latest book, it’s unlikely I’ll be friends with you there. That said, if I already know you through your blog and you are looking to write a book, or have written a book, I’ll probably be (or already am) friends with you there. I’m not that exclusive.

Like others whom I have read this morning writing on this subject, it often is difficult to keep up with everything out there…so my advice to those just beginning blogs, or even those who have been “in the game” for years, DON’T. You can’t, so don’t even try. Keep to a few tried and true things: Facebook, Twitter, one or two meme groups like The Sunday Salon and maybe a challenge or two, if you’re so inclined. But don’t get bogged down with it all. In the end, you’ll just be frustrated…I know because I’ve been there.  It’s best just to keep it simple…

It doesn’t pay to do otherwise.

Peace out, y’all. Holla.

12 responses to “How To Do Community: Keep It Simple

  1. Author spam on Goodreads is really terrible. I still love it, though, I’m totally addicted.

  2. Keep it simple is excellent advice.

    I’ve been lucky on Goodreads not to have gotten much spam. I know a lot of people talk about that. I’m kind of fussy about who I follow so that may be why. I love seeing what everyone is reading everyday.

  3. I like keeping it simple…doing what you love to do, what works for you, and keeping to your own rhythm. I like it!

    Here’s MY BBAW POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  4. Was one of those guys wearing a Star Trek TNG uniform ?

    • At first, I had to remember what you were talking about…just seeing the comment in e-mail didn’t make sense. I actually forgot about the video…um…I don’t know. The one guy sort of looks like one of those of those caveman guys from the Geico commercials, though, I think.

  5. Agreed — find what works and stick to it. I don’t think the same things work for everyone!

  6. “(I)f I was doing great at community, then I’d never have time to write anything on this blog.” Well, not if you wanted to have a LIFE, too. I think you make an excellent point, and follow it up well with the advice NOT to try to do it all. But I think you do a fine job in the places you have chosen to “do” community!

  7. Yup, it is easy to get bogged down in it all. and then you quit your blog and start another and have multiple identity crises. 😉 One community thing that you’ve done that seems like a lot of fun is #hitchfest. Maybe one day…

    • Oh, that too…about the multiple identities. Stick with one blog :). We’re going to be gearing up for another round of #hitchfest in a month or two…might even hold off until the start of 2012. Stay tuned.