Gallery

Getting my shit together

I’m gonna get my shit together
‘Cause I can’t live like this forever
You know I’ve come too far
And I don’t want to fail
I got a new computer
And a bright future in sales
Yeah, yeah
A bright future in sales
Yeah, yeah

While I don’t have a new computer or a bright future in sales as Chris Collingwood intones in this Fountain of Wayne song, I realized this week that I have to “get my shit together/ ‘Cause I can’t live like this forever.” I have come too far and I don’t want to continue to fail, so to start the process of “getting my shit together” earlier this week, I performed what I called a “mind dump” via Notepad on my computer at five in the morning.

I organized it via the themes of this blog: body, mind and soul, and then just dumped things from my mind about each as it relates to me right now where I’m at, where my mind is at…or where it’s at. I’ll share more of the specifics in the coming weeks as I actually write more Motivation Monday posts than I have been and as I make the changes necessary toward getting “my shit together.” However, briefly I’ll say that it involves rearranging my schedule somewhat to accommodate more “me” time, which also will include more time for writing, especially as it relates to this blog, and for reading more blogs, especially as it relates to commenting on your blogs. So it’s not all about me (although mostly, of course 🙂 ), but also about YOU, YOU, YOU.

Bottom line: I’m 42 years old and I’m not getting any younger. It’s time to ramp it up...

Peace out, y’all. Holla.

11 responses to “Getting my shit together

  1. Stick to your guns. This getting your shit together is an ongoing process that never quite stops. The funny thing is the more you do get your shit together the more you will see more improvements that can be made…

  2. If you figure out how to get your shit together, could you share with the rest of the class? I’m also 42, and I haven’t figured it out either. 🙂

  3. yeah, I need to get my “shit together” too. Like, immediately.

  4. I’m in favor of any enterprise that involves quoting Fountains of Wayne :-).

  5. I’m intrigued. 🙂

    Pearl

  6. 1) Television,
    2) Radio,
    3) Chair,
    4) Refrigerator,

    There’s more, but that will keep you busy for a while.