Gallery

September: A long way to go and a short time to get there

So as of today, I’ve now read 38 books for the year  as I finished Charlie Chan Carries On, the fifth Charlie Chan mystery by Earl Derr Biggers. I think this might have been the best one yet, and I’m now on to the sixth and final one, Keeper of the Keys. Biggers planned on continuing the series, but died in 1933, one year after this last one was published.

Last month I participated in Read My Own Books Month as hosted by Michelle at That’s What She Read. This month I’m participating in September Is…Read Your Own Books Month as hosted by Pam at Bookalicious. On Sunday, I mentioned the fifth Charlie Chan and A Clash of Kings, the second of the A Song of Fire and Ice seriesby George R.R. Martin, as the only books I knew I might be reading. However, since the Martin book, taken out as e-book from the library, is due back next Wednesday and I have a busy week coming up, including working on Saturday at the library, I decided to return the book.

After this last Charlie Chan, I’ll be honest, I still don’t know what I’ll read next — beyond that they will be books from my own shelves. I’d mention a book, but it seems like nine times out of 10, if I do, then I don’t get to it.

As what I’ve been watching on the Tube, this past week on my own I watched episodes of Waking the Dead (Season 3) and That 70s Show (Season 2) as well as one of my favorite movies, Smokey and the Bandit. With my wife, I watched episodes of Home Movies (Season 2), Cheers (Season 6), Sports Night (Season 1) and Futurama (Season 3).

With a group on Twitter, I also watched Foreign Correspondent as part of an activity called #hitchfest, which also can be found on Facebook. Sometimes I admit Hitchcock movies are hit and miss, but this one was a hit. Next week, we round out our watching of Hitchcock movies with his 1972 movie Frenzy. We’ll be watching it at 10 p.m. Eastern Time on Saturday, Sept. 10 so feel free to join us on Twitter and TweetChat with the hashtag #hitchfest.

While Foreign Correspondent was good, the best of the lot in my book for this past week was Smokey and the Bandit, with which I’ll leave you a clip from YouTube:

So what did you read and/or watch this past week? Anything noteworthy?

9 responses to “September: A long way to go and a short time to get there

  1. I just put down “The Best of PKD” a few weeks ago. It was a collection of short stories -none of the afore-mentioned famous stuff. It was still REALLY good …. I haven’t been that impressed with a paperback in a very long time.

    As a kid I loved HP Lovecraft: a great 1920s horror writer that makes Steven King an Clive Barker about as scary as Blues Clues in comparison. The stories don’t happen in any “order” -all the books happen simultaneously, so it takes a few stories to “find your footing.” The first book, I was just confused and irritated. But by the second I was hooked -and I would go on to read everything Lovecraft ever wrote, including collections of personal letters … (!)

    -Honestly I don’t know if Lovecraft “holds up” now that I’m old and crotchety, and I’ve intended to revisit them for seemingly ages now. But PKD is the first author since Lovecraft to throw my “WOW -WTF!” switch …

  2. That’s a great recommendation, Michael. I just Googled him and was fascinated to learn that many of his stories have been turned into great movies, like Blade Runner, Minority Report and The Adjustment Bureau. I’m putting Dick on my “to read” list.

  3. Anything by Philip K. Dick, Just grab something and roll … You won’t be disappointed, I promise.

  4. I’m on my 31st book of the year A Game of Thrones. Four more to go to hit my target of 35. Not going well, though since I discovered game apps on my iPad. Somebody help me. Here’s what I’m talking about:
    http://dufusdaze.wordpress.com/2011/09/06/im-addicted-to-apps/

    I think I need an intervention…

  5. I truly don’t understand how you find time to read 38 books in less than a year. I don’t read 38 magazine articles in a year. It’s quite impressive.

    • Among “book bloggers,” 38 is nothing in less than a year. There are some book bloggers I know who already have read at least 100 books this year and probably will finish with 200 books or close to that many. Personally, I’m not about the numbers. I’m not about the quality necessarily either. I’m just about getting to what I can get…especially with Netflix and the Interwebs “interfering” with my reading time. Those bastards! 😉

  6. Just finished listening to The Bourne Identity on audio – way different than the movie. Set shortly after Vietnam War, there are no computers, cell phones, etc.

    Watching? I’ve been on an Ally McBeal binge. Oh, and finished season 2 of Warehouse 13 with my boys – we all love that show. Hate that we have to wait till next summer for the next season!

    • I tried reading The Bourne Identity about a year ago (again after reading it as a teen). I don’t think I made it through it because the writing wasn’t that great, but on audio, maybe it would be better?

      Ally McBeal: I do remember that. 🙂 Warehouse 13: Saw a clip of it one night at my parents who have cable and thought it looked pretty good, but too tied up with West Wing right now to get into anything else.

      • If you couldn’t get through Bourne in print, probably skip the audio. The reader is excellent – he has a fantastic voice – but the lack of editing in the book shows up more in the audio, probably cause I couldn’t skim. I think the author was trying to get across the point that Bourne’s mind was a mess, but the repetitive scattered thoughts got a bit much to listen to: Delta is Charlie, Charlie is for Cane. Get Carlos. Trap Carlos. Kill Carlos. That’s the kind of stuff I would skim in print, but is hard to do in audio.

        It’s too bad they don’t have Warehouse 13 on streaming – maybe eventually.