Gallery

My Top 5 Labor Day songs

I shared these on Facebook, but since they were ignored there, I thought I’d share them here so they can be ignored here too.

Without further ado, here they are, starting with No. 5:

Now for something a bit more serious, No. 4:

No. 3:

No. 2, from our friends in Canada:

No. 1:

Now while searching for an appropriate video to go with the No. 1 song, I did come across one other version that I think is worth mentioning: Green Day’s version of the song.

So what songs would you include in a list of your top 5 songs that you’d associate with Labor Day? My wife mentioned Loverboy’s “Working for the Weekend” and said she’d include a song by Bruce Springsteen, although she didn’t say which one. As for the Loverboy, it probably would make my top 10, but as it was too obvious, I decided against it. Springsteen: I couldn’t pin down one song. Any suggestions on a Springsteen song to include her or other songs? Include a link to a YouTube video of any of your songs and it should embed in the comments.

Peace out, y’all. Holla.

3 responses to “My Top 5 Labor Day songs

  1. The first Springsteen song that came to mind was ‘The River’ – ‘And for my nineteenth birthday I got a union card and a wedding coat’ . Love Working Man and Working for the Weekend. The other song that came to mind was ‘Sixteen Tons’ – another kind of depressing work song. Oh well, off to dig through my old albums (now have ‘I’ve been working on the railroad’ running through my head.)

  2. My two favorites out of these are: Les Miserables & Working Class Hero

  3. Don’t feel bad, UP. I get ignored all the time on FB. 🙂 I love your picks, especially the one from Les Mis.

    Hmmmm, a Springsteen song? Maybe “I’ll Work For Your Love”, or “Man’s Job”?