Gallery

Time to light the lights on the never-ending Read Your Own Books Month (Year) — Yaaaaay!!!!!!

The Sunday Salon.com

My plan for August was to read (mostly) my own books in August as suggested by Michelle at That’s What She Read. As reported this past Wednesday, I didn’t do as well as I had planned, but I did get a few of my own books read. Now I’m on to September, which thankfully, according to Pam and three other bloggers who are hosting the event,  also is Read Your Own Books Monthso that photo I posted back at the beginning of August is still valid for this upcoming month’s reading (and probably for the next year, let’s be honest).

Sunday Salon 08 22 10

I’ve already started my month by reading Charlie Chan Carries On, the fifth in the Charlie Chan series, by Earl Derr Biggers, and have to say this possibly is the best of the lot (six in all). As for specifically what else is planned, the only other book on my radar is A Clash of Kings, the second of the A Song of Fire and Ice seriesby George R.R. Martin, which I plan to start tomorrow. I will have to finish it by next Wednesday, Sept. 14, since that’s when the e-book is due back at the library and I’m almost positive it’s on a waiting list, so I won’t be able to check it out again.

As I’m writing this, I just realized that the photo above isn’t completely accurate as I have ditched about 20 of those books since this picture was taken last year. However, it’s fairly accurate, with probably that many added back onto the case since then — only some of the titles have been changed — to protect…? I don’t know. Maybe to obscure my pedestrian tastes in pulp fiction. Um, no, that’s not it. I don’t know. Anyway, moving right along…

…today I might be able to finish the Charlie Chan book but my main focus is going to be sports or some facsimile thereof. Even though the NFL season doesn’t officially begin until this Thursday with the New Orleans Saints visiting the defending champion Green Bay Packers, it already has begun in my mind and in the mind of many of us who play fantasy football. Today at 3 p.m. ET, I will be participating in a live draft for one of the fantasy football leagues in which I play…or I mean “play.” Then at 7:30 p.m. ET, I will be watching the AdvoCare 500 at Atlanta Motor Speedway with my dad as The Wife and I are going over to my parents for the day and spending the night there.

I’ll leave you with this for today’s Moment of Zen, since I’ve been dropping references to the Muppet Show throughout this post:

So what are you reading today? Have any big plans for the month of September? 

Peace out, y’all. Holla.

9 responses to “Time to light the lights on the never-ending Read Your Own Books Month (Year) — Yaaaaay!!!!!!

  1. Pingback: That sound you hear? Me falling flat gobsmacked on my face. | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. I LOVE the Muppet Show. Any time I get the chance to see snippets of it, I become happier.

    Good luck tackling the second month of Read Your Own Books Month!

  3. I am not doing well so far. I have company from Holland though. I am half way through one of my own books 🙂

  4. Wish I could just read my own stuff. I’m just not that courageous.

  5. I’ve seen the muppet video on youtube, but I hadn’t watched it and it kind of cracked me up. But I’m also easily amused :]
    For the month of September, I have a few things planned. Who knows if I’ll get through them, but like you, I’m trying to read my own books and not buy anymore!

    My September TBR vlog

  6. I love your bookshelf photo! It looks like you share a lot of the same TBR books with me–The Eye of the World, the Thursday Next series, Dune and its follow-ups…

    Good luck finishing A Clash of Kings before it’s due back–it might take a while! But, don’t give up! There’s some major action in the final chapters you need to get to and A Storm of Swords is next (my personal favorite)!

    Here is my Sunday Salon Post: Adventures in Borkdom
    Have a great day!

  7. I’m not doing a strictly “read-your-own-books” September, but am hoping to read several of my own, in addition to kicking out a couple of review copies. Finishing Forbidden by Dekker today – then working on The Handmaid’s Tale.

    As for football, I’m trying to get over the fact that my Seahawks – during a shortened season, no less – let their veteran quarterback (Hasselbeck) go, and are trying to rebuild. I thought it was a bad decision – and their performance in their pre-season games seems to prove my point so far.

  8. I could have (should have!) done more toward whittling down those Old TBR stacks…since it was October 2009 when I first started the blog dedicated to that journey (Curl up and Read). Yes, I have several blogs!

    And yes, I’ve diminished the old stacks by around 100 books in that time…but my distracting elements have been review books and new books I’ve purchased. Hence…New TBR Stacks. They are smaller than the old ones, though, but they seemingly increase regularly. Sigh.

    So the journey continues…..

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  9. I’ve been having fun reading my “own” stuff. Meh. It’s all my own stuff anyways, just a matter of how much I am or am not following buzz. Buzz books usually end up boring me anyway, LOL.