Gallery

The return of Motivation Monday (again)…and high hopes

Back in December of last year, I announced the return of Motivation Monday, which originally was to help motivate me and you in terms of physical well-being, both diet and exercise. At the time, I committed myself to writing a Motivation Monday post each Monday with a “no” and a “yes” to help motivate me and you toward being physically healthy. Since then, I only have done a post on about half of the Mondays so far this year.

So what happened to my motivation?

No matter which way you flush it, clockwise, counterclockwise or just straight down, that’s where my motivation has gone.

Today I had a doctor’s appointment because I needed a refill on a prescription and the office to which I go has a new doctor. I weighed in at 220 pounds. With me measuring in height at 5-foot, 7-inches, that’s not good. Plus I had bloodwork done at the end of June and my triglycerides are high. The new doctor wants me to get more bloodwork in about a month to see if my triglycerides are high, and then set up an appointment with him to see the results. Based on those results, then he’ll judge whether I need to put on a medication for that too.

Am I motivated by today’s appointment? I know I should be, but really I’m not. I’m a little depressed about it, to be honest. However, I know that I can get the triglyceride levels down if I exercise, even a little bit, because I’ve done it before. So all hope is not lost…

I’ve got high hopes, I guess.

What do you do to keep yourself motivated from day to day, week to week, month to month, year to year in terms of diet and exercise?

One response to “The return of Motivation Monday (again)…and high hopes

  1. I haven’t been motivated to do ANYTHING either. I am really hoping that when my son goes back to school next month, I will get my sh*t together, refocus and start working on my goals. I could use these Motivational Mondays!