Gallery

Ugh…

The Sunday Salon.com

My plan to read (mostly) my own books in August as suggested by Michelle at That’s What She Read has fallen flat. I’ve only read two of my own books:

  1. Honey In His Mouth by Lester Dent
  2. Say It With Bullets by Richard Powell

Luckily, Pam of Bookalicio.us along with three other bloggers is hosting September is…Read Your Own Books Monthso I might be able to semi-redeem myself with reading my own books in September.

What didn’t help this week with reading my own books was that I had a book come in from the library that was on the hold list. The book is The Fifth Witness, the fourth Mickey Haller book, by Michael Connelly. So far, though, I’m enjoying it and with my wife going to a retirement party for a neighbor early this afternoon and then work tonight from 4 p.m. to midnight, I hope to be able to put a dent in it, if not finish it, by the end of the day.

After the Connelly book, I plan to dig back into the Hard Case Crime books I own (given to me by my brother-in-law Warren) as outlined at the beginning of the month.

In honor of my hope of being able to semi-redeem myself, for today’s Moment of Zen, I’ll leave you with this cover of Bob Marley’s “Redemption Song” as done by Wyclef Jean:

and just because I can, also with my favorite cover by Wyclef Jean, Johnny Cash’s “Delia’s Gone”:

So what are you reading today? How are you doing with your reading plans for this month? Have you been waylaid at any point along the way, and if so, what’s distracted you? For me, along with a book from the hold list, it’s been getting more hours in my part-time job at the library. Not that I’m complainin’…just ‘splainin’.

Peace out, y’all. Holla.

20 responses to “Ugh…

  1. Actually, there has been very little reading today with the exception of today’s Washington Post. The wife and I went to the ballpark for the Nats game against the Phillies. My intent is to continue reading Karl Marx’s Capital and resume reading The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich.
    This month I’ve been distracted by both dog sitting and just life in general. I certainly hope I can get back on track this week, and maybe get back to a little more impulsive reading as opposed to a hard set reading schedule.

  2. I’m knee-deep in a little book called The Pleasures of Reading in an Age of Distraction. The author, an English college professor, encourages readers to read on a whim. Well, later he changes that to read on a Whim.

    Still…a whim or a Whim….I like that.

    Here’s my Sunday Salon for this week: Sunday Salon: I Wish I Were a Better Blogger. And don’t forget to sign up for the Readerbuzz August Giveaway!

  3. Good luck with reading your own books next month! I have too many review copies that I’m supposed to read then or I would join in.

    • “Supposed to read”: That doesn’t sound good. 🙂 I don’t have any books that I’m “supposed to read.” That went out when I graduated from college 20 years ago, thank God.

  4. I love Bob Marley’s “Redemption Song” . A lot. And Wyclef Jean does a mean cover!

  5. Ah, the pitfalls of making a plan! I’m a bit behind in my planned reading, but not too far offtrack yet. Currently reading Forbidden by Ted Dekker & Tosca Lee for a Faith and Fiction discussion and The Beach Trees by Karen White – for me, because I love her books. On audio, am listening to The Bourne Identity and really enjoying it. It’s very different from the film – the book being set in the pre-computer/interwebs days.

    Hoping to have some time to read this afternoon and evening before I take the boys to carload night at the drive in. We’re going to see Kung Fu Panda 2 and Captain America, which I’ve already seen and loved so may sleep through. LOL

    Have a good Sunday!

    • I have yet to see Captain America and now looks like I’ll be watching it on DVD :(. I did finish my book earlier today and now am watching Brother Cadfael on AcornOnline.com/TV. Good so far.

  6. Oh, life has distracted me, as usual. Babysitting my grandson, for one thing (he hates that term, BTW); this past week was the last of summer vacation for him, though, which means I’ll be freed up a bit more.

    My writing has taken precedence over reading, but that’s a good thing (for me!).

    I had to chuckle at your blog post title.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

    • He hates which term: “grandson” or “babysitting”? 😉 I can imagine it’s the babysitting term. I think you should use it more often when you’re around him. 😉 Well, good for you that your writing is taking off even if you’re reading isn’t. Wish I could say the same for my reading. As usual, Netflix here doesn’t help either. So far, though, today I’m making good progress on the Connelly book.

  7. I try to avoid looking at the New Releases and New Myteries shelves when I go to volunteer at our local library. I think I’ll join in the September Read My Own Books challenge.

    • Even though I work at a library, I’m not that caught up by the new releases. I’d rather read something a little bit older…usually if I do see something that catches my eye on the new mysteries shelf, it’s a series that I’d like to try and need to start with the first one, which was written several years ago.

      As for the September Read My Own Books Challenge, I’m sure Pam and the other bloggers would love to have you join us.

  8. Like Marie, I’ve decided to put plans aside. I’m going to read whatever strikes my fancy. Next week, that will likely be the books I’ve been picking up that are about circuses and freak shows. Doing research 🙂

    Enjoy the Connelly book – I hear they’re good, though I haven’t tried him myself.

  9. my reading plan is not to have a reading plan anymore. except i might do russian books again for november. this month my reading has been waylaid by the Art of the Novella challenge, which I’m loving but it’s definitely distracted me!

    • Oh, I’ve tried that no reading plan reading plan. Let me tell you from experience that it doesn’t work :). And see you’ve already made a plan for November? Epic FAIL ;).