Gallery

Going international this week

So as of today, I’ve now read 34 books for the year. I’m still plugging away at reading my own books as part of Read My Own Books Month as hosted by Michelle at That’s What She Read. I just finished Say It With Bullets by Richard Powell, another one of the Hard Case Crime books, on Monday.

Next? I’m taking an unexpected break in my reading of Hard Case Crime books as I had a book come in from the library that was on the hold list. The book is The Fifth Witness, the fourth Mickey Haller book, by Michael Connelly. Earlier this year, I had read The Reversal, the third Haller, and I just watched The Lincoln Lawyer a few weeks back, and so when I heard this one was out, I had to put it on the hold list.

As for what I’ve watched this week, unlike with my reading, I actually got out of the States for some of my TV watching. The Netflix list this time is relatively short: the British crime series Waking the Dead, the cartoon comedies King of the Hill and Home Movies, and 13 Assassins, with the latter being the best of this week’s crop:

While at my father-in-law’s this weekend, I did take advantage of his cable and watched Toy Story 3 on Starz as well as Inspector Montalbano on MHz Networks, the latter based off the Italian murder mysteries written by Andrea Camilleri. I also watched a free show from Verizon Fios Demand: Amy Winehouse, I Told You I Was Trouble, Live From Shepherd’s Bush Empire, London 2007 that was simply amazing (click the link to hear what I’m talking about, the rest of the concert also is available on YouTube). Out of those, the best hands-down is Toy Story 3.

So do you read, watch, listen to international books, TVs, movies and/or music? If so, what are some of your favorites?

In addition to those books, TV shows, movies already mentioned, I’ll mention one of my favorite international musicians, Yothi Yindi, the Australian band and leave you with one of the songs from their 1992 album, Treaty:

6 responses to “Going international this week

  1. I’ll look for those short stories and read the one you mentioned here in the next few days. Of course, by “international,” maybe I should have said “authors not from your own country”?

  2. I have yet to go to the movies this summer. I had better hurry I know.

    Long ago to me, international was reading American Authors such as Twain, Melville and Stratemeyer.

    There are many Indian authors who wrote in English but I prefer to like short stories rather than full blown Indian novels.

    My absolute favourite is RK Narayan and his book “Malgudi Days”.
    He wrote other things too.

    Ruskin Bond is another one of my favourites. I was very much touched by his two short stories – “Woman on Platform 8” and “The Kite Maker” and I still remember them.

    There was one more story I enjoyed – “Love across the salt desert” written by Keki N. Daruwalla. You can read it here: http://cns.bu.edu/~sat/satblog/fotos/lasd.pdf

    .

  3. Finishing up the final season of 24, which we never watched when it aired. Plus Warehouse 13 Season 2 on disc. Nothing international this week, I’m afraid. And Captain America in the theater – it was awesome!

    Did you cry when you watched Toy Story 3?

    • It doesn’t have to be just this week…any international choices otherwise? 🙂 I want to see Captain America too..

      …oh, and yeah, I cried, especially at the end.

  4. I, too, just recently watched the movie “The Lincoln Lawyer” – and I gotta say, I felt like a lot was missing from the movie. But it DID make me want to get the book.

    I’m glad you were able to take advantage of the Cable situation at your father-in-law’s house!

    PS: Toy Story 3 made me cry. But so did 1 & 2!!