Gallery

Getting ready to read (mostly) my own books in August

So as of today, I’ve now read 28 books for the yearwith the last book finished being The Fourth Assassin, the fourth in the Omar Yussef series, by Matt Beynon Rees. I’m now reading two books:  Watch Your Back!, the 13th in the Dortmunder series, by Donald E. Westlake, and Grave Secrets, the fifth in the Temperance Brennan series, by Kathy Reichs, which I hope to have finished by the end of the month. Not only will that bring my total to 30 books for the year, but also it will clear the way for next month in which I’ll be reading (mostly) my own books.

I can’t take credit for the idea. That belongs to Michelle of That’s What She Reads, who invited me and all of you to join her for Read My Own Books Month in August. Why I say mostly my own books is because with this challenge, you can commit to reading a certain percentage of the books you read for August to being books that you own. I haven’t decided yet on a percentage yet, but I’m thinking it will be a large percentage, because even though the bookcase in my office doesn’t look like this anymore:

Sunday Salon 08 22 10

it still doesn’t look much better than that.

I probably have eliminated about 20 or 25 of the books there, the ones I most likely never would get to read anyway despite my best intentions. However, that still leaves at least 75 books in this case alone that still to be read sometime. I honestly don’t know where I’m going to start so within my plan to read (mostly) my own books for the month of August, I have no plans on exactly what I’m going to read. This way, I can keep to my plan of reading my own books as outlined earlier in the year, but also my plan to have no reading plans as outlined a few months ago.

I also do have a few books on my Nook, including A Wild Sheep Chase by Haruki Murakami, which I have read years ago, but am rereading for the Haruki Murakami Reading Challenge. Other than that book, though, I have no plans on what I’ll read from there (rolling eyes, yeah, right, no plans within a plan, it’s still a plan).

So how about you? What are your reading plans for August? Or do you have no plans — yet?

9 responses to “Getting ready to read (mostly) my own books in August

  1. Pingback: September: A long way to go and a short time to get there | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Pingback: Time to light the lights on the never-ending Read Your Own Books Month (Year) — Yaaaaay!!!!!! | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  3. Pingback: Saying it with bullets — and breakfast | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  4. Pingback: Diving into Hard Case Crime books headfirst this August | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  5. Welcome to Read My Own Books Month! I hope you have fun!!

  6. Pingback: A plan…nay, a road map of possible pit stops…for August | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  7. I’ve read After Dark, Norwegian Wood, Kafka on the Shore, and Wind-up Bird Chronicle. My faves so far are After Dark and Wind-up Bird Chronicle. On my TBR shelf are Dance Dance Dance, Blind Willow Sleeping Woman, Sputnik Sweetheart, South of the Border West of the Sun, A Wild Sheep Chase, and Hard Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World. I have his book on running on my Kindle. I guess I need to get reading!

  8. Hmmm. I haven’t made an August plan. I will definitely be reading my own books since I could do that for many years and not run out! I know I’ll be reading the Dying Earth books by Jack Vance (I have the bindup). A Murakami would also be good since I have a few of those laying around unread. I’ve like the 3 or 4 of his that I’ve read and want more!