Gallery

The unexpected delight of Hugo Cabret

So as of today, I’ve now read 27 books for the year,  which again, like last week, could have been one more than that. Last week I accidentally returned the book, The Road to Ruin by Donald E. Westlake, I was reading to the library (where I work), only to have to go get it out again the next day. This past Friday, I left the book I was reading, The Fourth Assassin by Matt Beynon Rees, at the library on a shelf in the back room and didn’t have the chance Saturday or Sunday to go pick it up. However, I was able to read an unexpected entry that I had on hold that came in on Friday.

A present from my Valentine

Image by DavidDMuir via Flickr

The unexpected entry was The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick, which is a novel written for juveniles that is a combination of pictures and text about a boy in the 1930s in Paris. It’s more than a children’s book. It’s a graphic novel. It’s almost a movie…and not surprisingly has been made into a movie by Martin Scorsese. However, my feeble attempt at describing it in words only can be understood by reading it yourself. It’s difficult to do justice to a book that almost defies description. I could go on with cliche after cliche in describing it with such words as “magical,” “ground-breaking” and “awe-inspiring,” but needless to say, you just need to read it, nay, experience it for yourself — a delight for lovers of the English language and art and movies.

Later today if I’m lucky, I’ll be continuing to read the Rees book. In addition to that one, I’m reading Grave Secrets by Kathy Reichs, the fifth in the Bones/Temperance Brennan series. As for the future, I have a selection of other possibilities that I’ve taken out from the library, as I shared on Sunday. I realized after I took the picture for Sunday’s post, I forgot to include three other books:

Midweek Review 07 20 11

They are the final three of the Dortmunder series by Westlake, and I have no doubt that I will get to them here in the very near future. I didn’t realize I was so close to the end of the series, which in some ways is a little sad, but I know that I have much more Westlake to read, so I’m not too disappointed.

So what have you read in the past few days? What are you reading today and what are you planning to read in the near future? Any unexpected delights or disappointments?

I’ll leave you with the trailer for the movie Hugo:

3 responses to “The unexpected delight of Hugo Cabret

  1. I’ve heard of Donald E. Westlake. I haven’t read his books. Thanks for mentioning him. I have put his name on my library list. I would luv to read The Invention of Hugo Cobret.

  2. Hugo has a soft spot in my heart, because it’s one book that all four of my kids loved as much as I did. The boys are very excited about the film version, but I keep thinking they might screw it up….

    Reading The Last Days by Scott Westerfeld and The Soldier’s Wife by Margaret Leroy today. Enjoying them both, but the main character in The Soldier’s Wife just made a parenting decision that horrified me – trying to get past that to read the rest of the book.

  3. So what have you read in the past few days? What are you reading today and what are you planning to read in the near future? Any unexpected delights or disappointments?

    I’m reading Margaret Andrews Book: Sticky Readers, How to Attract a Loyal Blog Audience by writing More Better!