Gallery

It’s the butcher’s wife come from beyond the grave

The Sunday Salon.com This may shock you, but today I’m going to talk about books and mostly books, not applications or current movies (nope, didn’t see it yet, so shut up, I don’t want to hear it — and yep, I’m going to watch one older movie that I picked up at the library, so old that it’s on VHS! If I could have found the Beta, I would have soooo gone there). First, as usual, I’ll give you an update on what I’m reading and then give you an idea of what I might be reading in the future, even though in the not so distant past, I said I was throwing all plans out the window. Now I’m throwing that plan out the window too, I guess.

So what am I reading? Today, I’m going to be continue reading Grave Secrets, the fifth in the Bones/Temperance Brennan series, by Kathy Reichs. However, it wasn’t my first choice. My first choice was The Fourth Assassin, the fourth Omar Yussef mystery, by Matt Beynon Rees. Unfortunately, I left it at work at the library on Friday, and now will make the second book this week that I wanted to read but didn’t get to read when I wanted to read because of leaving it at the library. The first was Road to Ruin, the 11th in the Dortmunder series, by Donald E. Westlake, which earlier in the week I accidentally returned with another pile of books and then had to check out again the next day.

What might I be reading in the future? Well, here’s a photo of the books, including the Reichs I just mentioned, and the movie I picked up from the library this week:

Sunday Salon 07 17 11

In addition to Grave Secrets, I have the next one in the series, Bare Bones. I’m also still making my way through the Agatha Christie Reading Challenge, if only on my own terms — in that I’m reading what I want to read and skipping the books that I don’t want to read (a.k.a. Tommy and Tuppence novels). Next up are Murder in Retrospect (a.k.a. Five Little Pigs) and The Moving Finger (a.k.a. The Case of the Moving Finger). I also have two others, The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick, and The Dumbest Generation: How the Digital Age Stupefies Young Americans and Jeopardizes Our Future (Or, Don’t Trust Anyone Under 30) by Mark Bauerlein. Naturally, “hanging in” young adult book-related circles on Twitter, IĀ  have heard of the Selznick book, and that sparked my interest. As for the Bauerlein book, I doubt I’ll get to it because of all the time I spend on the Interwebz. šŸ˜›

The movie, I would hope, needs no introduction: Fiddler on the Roof. For some reason, for the last couple of weeks, I’ve had a snippet of one of the songs stuck in the grooves of my brain. Which song? Well, of course, I’m going to share it with you as today’s Moment of Zen so you can get it stuck in your brain too. Enjoy!

Peace out, y’all. Holla.

14 responses to “It’s the butcher’s wife come from beyond the grave

  1. Pingback: The unexpected delight of Hugo Cabret | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Oh I love the movie Fiddler on the Roof! It’s so darn catchy!

  3. Haven’t read any of those books but they sound good! Hope you enjoy!

  4. The Hugo Cabret book is so good – I hope you enjoy it too! I have a confession to make: I’ve never seen Fiddler on the Roof all the way through. I’ve just seen bits and pieces here an there. I also got some VHS tapes from the library the other day. I was in the mood for Anne of Green Gables and all of the dvds were checked out. I really need to buy myself copies of the Anne movies.

  5. Love Hugo Cabret – and all my kids did, too.

  6. Tisk, tisk, leaving more books at the library…. šŸ™‚ I’ve been seeing more about Hugo Cabret. I might have to take a look at it. I’m definitely interested in the The Dumbest Generation. That’s one I might have to read sooner than later, and I’d definitely be interested in knowing your thoughts on it.

    It definitely looks like you’ve got some fun reading ahead of you… Fiddler on the Roof may need to go in my Netflix queue soon….

  7. You have got to stop leaving your books at the library!
    I’ve read a few of the Kathy Reich’s novels and have enjoyed them but didn’t read them in order. I like the ones that take place in Quebec.
    Today I’m finishing up a Simon Van Booy book and then, who knows. I have a few choices, I’ll see which one grabs me.

    • I know. I know. What the hey am I thinking? Sheesh!!! *Facepalm*

      I like the ones that are in Quebec too, but these others are holding my interest. I’m really enjoying them more than the TV series…although Emily Daschanel is kinda cute. šŸ˜‰

  8. Looks like you have quite a collection of books. :] Its funny when you say you’re not going to make plans and then you do it anyway. I do it all the time. Or I just change plans.
    Ah, Fiddler on the Roof. I watched that in my music appreciation class when I was in high school and I actually really enjoyed it. But I’ve always loves musicals. One of my favorite movies is Phantom of the Opera. I could sing you all the songs if you wanted me to, I just make no promises that they would be sung well lol :]

    • Um, oops, have to hold up my hand (and wave): I haven’t seen Phantom of the Opera. And as for your singing of them, um…I’m thinking you don’t need to send me an audio file. I think I’ll pass…oh, but don’t worry I won’t be sending you an audio file of my singing of any of the songs from West Side Story, one of my favorites, but one that my wife hates with a passion.

  9. My vote goes to Hugo. It’s a surprisingly quick read, despite its length, and I found it to be quite novel. Not quite a children’s book. Not quite a graphic novel. Not quite a picture book.

    Here’s my Sunday Salon: In Which I Travel to Bhutan and the North Pole, with a Stop at a Convenience Store in Brooklyn. I hope you will stop by.

    • I will get to Hugo here soon…because it looks so…fascinating. However, as I mentioned in a comment on your blog, I want to give it the full attention that I have no doubt it deserves. I know it won’t take long, but I still want to spend time with it and not just flip through it like a picture book, because it’s more than that, like you said.

  10. Hope you enjoy your collection of books…I must start reading Reichs…if only because I keep seeing and hearing about these books everywhere!

    I had to chuckle about the “under 30” thing…when I was young, of course, it was “don’t trust anyone over 30.” That dates me, doesn’t it?

    And also, I had lunch yesterday with five of my teen grandchildren, all of whom had their “devices” handy. while the rest of us interacted with the tops of their heads…I even have some photos here at MY SUNDAY SALON POST

    • Probably you’re hearing about the Reichs books from me…every week since I’ve been reading her. Ha. šŸ˜‰

      Loved the photos, by the way, especially the first one. Too classic.