Gallery

Working for a livin’, livin’ and working…

Each Friday, I post Flashback Friday, where I use St. Ignatius of Loyola’s Examen as a guide and usually ask the following questions: For what are you least grateful this past week? For what are you most grateful this past week?

Least/most gratefuL

Extra work: In my real life, I am a correspondent for a daily newspaper and this past week, I had extra work as the result of the full-time staff writer for our area being on vacation. As someone who is “accustomed” to working two part-time jobs (I also work as a librarian assistant at the local library), I won’t lie that working wall-to-wall hours was a little tiring. However, also a few curveballs were thrown my way, with one meeting time and date that was changed and another meeting that was recessed from Monday night to Wednesday afternoon. Such is the nature of the news business when you’re a full-time staff writer, you never know what life is going throw at you and is one of the reasons I no longer am a full-time newspaper writer or editor, among too many to elaborate here without using four-letter words.

So as far as that all went, I wasn’t grateful for the extra work. Naturally, though, because of the extra work, I was, and am, grateful for the extra work, because it does mean extra money. Who’s going to turn down extra money for a little bit of extra time and effort? Um, anyone, anyone? I didn’t think so. A secondary and more altruistic reason that I am grateful is because I was able toΒ  assist the full-time staff writer in getting some much needed time off. I’ve been there, I’ve done that and I know how much that time is needed away from the job. If you don’t have it, you go crazy. Yes, as that full-time staff writer — and any person in the newspaper business would readily admit — you still might go crazy even with the vacation you get, but that vacation does make the job slightly more palatable than it might have been before the vacation.

On the subject of extra work, I might be finding myself working at the library a little more too as the result of a coworker leaving there for another job. I am also grateful for that opportunity. Unfortunately, it might mean giving up some volunteer hours at the senior center with delivering home meals. However, bottom line: I don’t get paid for that and as cruel as it might sound, I have to go where the money, even if it’s a small amount extra, it all helps my wife and me stay afloat, so to speak.

So for what are you least grateful and most grateful this past week? Does have it anything to do with your work? Or are you enjoying a much needed vacation yourself from your work and how grateful are you for that?

11 responses to “Working for a livin’, livin’ and working…

  1. I’m most grateful for my friends, family, and whatever writing ability I have. Oh, and my faithful readers. Nothing works as well in a vacuum.

    Least grateful? Ah….that would be being a single guy.

  2. I’m most grateful for two big snarly dogs who protect me whether I want to be protected or not.

    I’m least grateful for two big snarly dogs who protect me whether I want to be protected or not.

  3. I’m grateful for my part-time fitness job and working A/C!

    I’m least grateful for the triple-digit temps that just won’t go away.

    • I’m grateful for working a/c even when it’s only in the 80s here. I’m a weather wuss and glad we’re not getting the triple-digit temps here…so far.

  4. I’m least grateful for only working three days a week. On the interview, the employer told me the job could turn into a full-time position. No mention about less hours or no W2 form, which means no refinance. I’m looking for an additional part-time job. Imagine starting a work week at 11a.m. on Tuesday. I’m always one day behind.

    I’m most grateful that no matter what hits the fan during the week, I’ll always have my family and writing.

    • You look familiar, lasalk? Do you have a blog? πŸ™‚ Think Spin?

      My wife is always behind too…she works second and third shifts as a 911 dispatcher. Her days (and nights) are all screwed up. I’m just screwed up in general πŸ˜‰

      • Guilty as charged. My WordPress sign in is lasalk. My given name is Lauren.

        I know that screwed up feeling. : )

  5. I am least grateful for my Federal Government this week, with all the bs and lying that has been coming out of DC, with the ‘debt crises’, et al…

    I am most grateful that I still am alive and well in America!

    Have a wonderful weekend and Aloha From Sunny South Florida!

    • Thanks, Don. The weekend has to be better than this week.

      I’m not grateful for the federal government either, but like you, I’m somehow still surviving despite those bastards :).

  6. I’m least grateful that it looks like I’m going to have to check in to work while I’m down in the Florida Keys in August to spread my Dad’s ashes down there, because a client who ordinarily halts advertising for the summer insisted a campaign suddenly run through that time.

    I’m very grateful, and totally excited, that I’m still making progress on self-publishing my novel, and I’ve gotten a good head-start in writing the second book in the series. There’s been a lot of planning I can’t wait to reveal in September. So it’s sort of fulfilling the dream of my lifetime. YAY!

    Glad you were able to make some extra money, at least.

    • I’m very sorry about you having to check in to work, especially under those circumstances. That’s just not right.

      However, like you, I am grateful for your book and I haven’t even seen it, but I know it will rock, to put it mildly. Both Kim and I can’t wait to see it.