Gallery

The Fourth of July Non-June Roundup, Non-Midyear Review Post — with Music and Fireworks!!! (TSS)

The Sunday Salon.comOn the reading front, I’m still working my way through Fatal Voyage, the fourth in the Bones/Temperance Brennan series, by Kathy Reichs as mentioned last week. It’s not that it’s that long or that it’s that bad. It’s just that I’m easily distracted by Netflix, Facebook, Twitter…oh, and work at the library and at the newspaper. Not helping this week was as of Friday, Netflix Instant (finally) has all the episodes of Star Trek: The Original Series and Star Trek: The Next Generation. I really didn’t get to watch much of either, though, as I had to go cover a school board meeting yesterday where a local board voted to close one of its districts’ three high schools.

I don’t know if you know this about me, but I’m easily distracted. For example, this morning I don’t have a clear direction for this post. I’m seeing what some others are doing for their Sunday Salon posts (wrap up of June reading, half-year roundup, goals for July, goals for the rest of the year, oh, and, of course, the obligatory Fourth of July nod from the Americans in the group) and I don’t know if I’m feeling any of them (except for one, of course, because if I am anything, I am a patriot). So I’m just going to toss some things against the wall and see what sticks. Here goes:

That’s about it for today. Of course, I did forget one thing. Today’s Moment of Zen (proving that you can find anything on YouTube, just type in “Fourth of July” and “Star Trek” and wa laa):

So what are you reading today? If you’re American, what are you doing to celebrate the Fourth? Me and mine? Not much since she has to work throughout the weekend, but I’ll probably be enjoying Star Trek.

Peace out, y’all. Holla.

14 responses to “The Fourth of July Non-June Roundup, Non-Midyear Review Post — with Music and Fireworks!!! (TSS)

  1. Pingback: Mitt Romney.com: Celebrate America’s Greatness « The STR

  2. Star Trek The Original Series, in my opinion, is the best of all the series. Tomorrow, probably just watch a little baseball and do some reading. And also, begin to get ready for the work week. Ugh.

    • Yeah, I’m not getting the TOS hate here :). I like the first one too, probably the best, although I do like TNG too. So what’s on tap for your reading tomorrow?

      • Probably a bit more of Janet Evanovich’s Two for the Dough while I still wait for my brother to catch up with Rise and Fall of the Third Reich. He asked me to slow down the pace while he caught up with me.
        But we’ll see, as my in-laws are in town until sometime tomorrow afternoon.

  3. I’m easily distracted too so don’t sweat it. I’m not doing anything for the fourth besides going to the bookstore. Fireworks are illegal in my city (thank God). I’m trying to read a book today but I have no idea which book to pick up. 😦

    • Fireworks are illegal in your city? Wait, you do live in America, right? You mean, no fireworks at all? Ever? That’s weird.

      So what did you decide to pick up to read?

  4. I’m looking forward to fireworks tomorrow. Otherwise just taking it easy.

  5. Well, not really a Trekkie here, either, but I do understand the fascination…I think.

    Have a great holiday.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  6. I am waiting for my husband to suggest we watch Star Trek. He is a big fan of the show. I used to watch the Next Generation, but never cared for the original series.

    I hope you have a great 4th of July. We’re battling summer colds at the moment so rest is our main goal.

  7. Not a big fan of the original series, but love me some Next Gen. We’re heading to friends’ house for a BBQ and fun in the sun tomorrow. We’re also extending our July 4th celebrations with another potluck on Tuesday with friends since the husband has to work on the 4th. Kevin and the boys love this holiday- the chance to light of explosives! Happy 4th!

  8. We’re so dry here that fireworks have been banned completely this Fourth. So this Star Trek-y shoot-em-up display may be all I get in the way of sparklies this year. Thanks for sharing.

    Today I rant about the difficulties of trying to find copies of all 1001 books in my Sunday Salon post, Sunday Salon: I Have Trouble Reading Children’s Books. Perhaps you will have some good ideas for me! And, as a reminder, I also have my Readerbuzz July Giveaway going on: a $25 Amazon gift card! It’s international!