Gallery

Mowing the lawn, mowing the lawn

Each Monday (or at least once a month, as it has been going this year), I write a Motivation Monday post, which is to help motivate me and you in terms of physical well-being, both diet and exercise. For 2011, I also am including a “no” and a “yes” to help motivate us toward being physically healthy.

No to excuses

Last Monday I said I would walk to work at the library when the weather permitted, then promptly did no such thing. Yes, there was rain, on and off, throughout the week, but it wasn’t every day and on certain days, I could have walked the mile to the library, but did no such thing. Instead, I still drove because of allergies or I had to pick up dinner after work or whatever excuse was available. Of course, tomorrow, it’s supposed to rain with thunderstorms, wouldn’t you know it? But Wednesday and Thursday are both expected to be clear, except for some fog in the morning on Thursday.

yes to mowing the lawn

Last Monday I said I would mow the lawn that afternoon and, woo hoo, I did it.  Yes, admittedly, it needs to be done every week, weather permitting, otherwise, we’ll look like real slobs on our street. However, I’m committing to do it also because it does provide a little bit of a workout. After mowing the lawn, I always am drenched in sweat and have to take a shower afterwards. Last week I had to take a long break, standing to catch my breath against a neighbor’s tree  when I was nearing the end. Today, I only had to take a short spell after I was finished when I stood on our front porch and leaned against one of the pillars. Next week, maybe after I’ve been walking to work at the library for a few days, I won’t need to take a breather at all. At least, that is the hope.

Next week, I’m going to get to the hedges a la this suggestion from the World’s Strongest Redneck Steve McGranahan:

Peace out, y’all. Holla.

4 responses to “Mowing the lawn, mowing the lawn

  1. Like Kathy, on the days it’s hard to get outside or go work out, I just remember the endorphin high I’m in for, the extra Weight Watchers points I get and the fact that the time flies no matter what. Keep up the good work 🙂

  2. I reckon that lawnmower on a stick is something someone around here has tried, I’m sure.

  3. I am the Queen of Excuses. Well, I was the Queen. Now, I just do my workout and think only of how good I’ll feel when it’s done. I try not to think about the beginning part of exercise (putting on sneakers, starting the routine, thinking “how many minutes left?”). I always think about the end of it and how successful I’ll feel. I toast your mowing effort and improvement over last week, and rooting for you to walk to work later in the week. Just do it!