Gallery

Dipping my toes into the polygamous pool (TSS)

The Sunday Salon.comToday is going to be a combo post of The Sunday Salon and Library Loot (in the tradition of Eva at A Striped Armchair). I didn’t plan it this way, but it sort of happened on Friday as I was working at the library…

*cue Wayne’s World flashback music* (I spent half an hour to find the sound clip but to no avail so you’ll just have to imagine it)

…as usual, on Fridays, I forgot to take my latest book that I was reading with me so I could read it during lunch. However, luckily for me…

…wait for it, wait for it…

…yep, I work in a library so I went to the stacks and pulled a book off a shelf. The book?

The Samaritan’s Secret by Matt Beynon Rees, the third in his Omar Yusef mystery series set in Palestine, which I had pulled off the shelf before, but hadn’t gotten around to finishing it (spoiler: this time I did as I finished it last night).

Then as I was shelf-reading later that afternoon, I came across one of my favorite authors, Donald E. Westlake, and his Dortmunder series, which I had been reading, but had left on the backburner earlier in the year, so…

…yep, I picked up the next book in the series I hadn’t read: Bad News.

All this while I still had another book that I had taken out of the library, Fatal Voyage, the fourth in the Bones/Temperance Brennan series, by Kathy Reichs — which I already had begun, thus by reading the Rees book while at the library, I was breaking my vows as a monogamous reader.

I have to admit it felt good dipping my toes into the polygamous pool, but I don’t know if I’ll do it again anytime soon…although admittedly the temptation is great. This afternoon, I probably will stick with the Reichs book and will try to keep my hands off the Westlake book. I only pray that I don’t falter and fall.

Today’s Moment of Zen (as suggested by my wife who was watching it this morning and a proverbial tip of the hat to New York for making history this past week):

So what are you reading today? And I’ll ask again: are you a monogamous or polygamous reader? Either way, why?

Peace out, y’all. Holla.

20 responses to “Dipping my toes into the polygamous pool (TSS)

  1. Still polygamous! Can’t help it. I wish I could, it would make reading more easy… LOVE the video, that is just so cool! Not being a major Broadway officianado I didn’t know this song but now I do and I can’t stop humming it 🙂 That’s going to keep me cheery for the rest of today, ta!

  2. For most of my life I was a monogamous reader but then I had kids. And there went my attention span and my memory. And now I read lots of books for work plus I’m in a book club so there are often several books in my stack by the bed. It’s kind of weird. I’m turning into my father.

  3. I am a book polygamist but I am getting better. No longer do I have four or five books waiting for my attention, but I am keeping it down to two or three. Anything more is too difficult to juggle.

    I do love your moments of Zen. Keep it up!

  4. I’m a polygamist, I admit. I usually read up to 3 or 4 books at a time. It depends on what I feel like reading at the moment. They’re usually pretty different genres as well. I’m only reading 1 right now though, as I’m ALMOST finished with the Harry Potter series.

    Also, your moment of zen was wonderful, thank you for that. It brought back memories of being in Chorus in high school :]

  5. I’m a perpetual polygamist, thought sometimes a book might sweep me off my feet long enough for a brief monogamous fling. 😉 I don’t read more than one book of the same ‘style,’ though so I wouldn’t mix two mysteries like you did. A girl’s gotta have her standards. hehe

  6. I can only read more than one book at a time if they aren’t anything alike. Fiction and non-fiction, right now I’m reading Ahab’s Wife by Sena Jeter Naslund and Anam Cara; no chance of confusion there. 🙂

  7. I sometimes venture into polygamy, but I usually just end up back with a single book. It just feels more natural for me. For a time I tried alternating fiction and non-fiction, but even then I work better with my focus on just one book.

    • Glad to know I’m not the only one…I was feeling pretty lonely out here, but then we monogamous types usually do feel left out in the cold in this promiscuous world. 😉

  8. I used to be monogamous, but as I age I find myself venturing into polygamy. Right now I’m reading some non-fiction… The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth, and one my son recommended, Without Conscious: The Disturbing World of the Psychopaths Among Us ( … do you think I should be concerned that he recommended it?)

    • Non-fiction: What’s that? 🙂 Actually, I need to read more non-fiction, but I get enough non-fiction in the news, I guess.

      And um, yes, you definitely should be concerned.

  9. You know me – when it comes to books, I’m as polyamorous as they come! I’ve currently got four print books going and two audios – and that will be three audios when my son and I start Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows later on the way to church. 🙂

  10. I tend to be a monogamous reading, but in a situation where I am “book-less,” I will grab something else just to have something to read. Like you did.

    I had been in a bit of a reading slump this week, spending (wasting) a good part of the week on one book that I had to keep putting down. The next one I read went pretty fast, since it was short, and then on Friday, I found Maine, by J. Courtney Sullivan and literally couldn’t put it down. I finished it and it is included in my list on MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  11. Love your Moments of Zen. No pressure to keep this as a regular feature (not sure you can make Zen a regular feature and keep it Zen, but I wish it was possible.)

    Here’s my Sunday Salon: Une Petite Visite à Paris. (And don’t worry….it’s in English. I just like to pretend to speak French.)

    • Hey, I was just at your site, putting in my own two cents there…and now you’re here. What’s that called? Kismet? Well, whatever, it’s cool.

      As for the Moment of Zen, Jon Stewart on the Daily Show makes it a regular thing, so why can’t I? 😉

  12. Today I am reading William Shirer’s The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich. Although, I’ll be spending most of the day putting together a piece of Ikea furniture that we got yesterday. Wish me luck! 😀

    I’m reading Rise and Fall with my brother and we’re discussing it on a group Posterous site; however, with the pace we’re going, I’ll probably become a polygamous reader this week, and start another book in Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series, part of an agreement I have with my little sis. But generally speaking, I am a monogamous reader. Simply because I just like to concentrate on one book at a time. I like to feel like I’m not in college, where I read multiple books at once. 🙂

    • Luck.

      Cool on the Shirer book: it’s one of my favorites. I read it when I was teen, but haven’t gone back to it, probably because of its size.

      Hey, you know what? That explanation from you about college might explain why I’m not (usually) a polygamous reader either. Maybe it reminds me of those less than halcyon days.