Gallery

Pushing forward back in my reading

Today I thought I’d give not only a midweek review, but also a midyear review and a look ahead to what’s on my “wish list” and what’s on my Nook in terms of samples. As of earlier this morning, I now have read 23 books this year, as I finished The Body In The Library by Agatha Christie. It was a good way to get back into the Agatha Christie Reading Challenge, and I have a few more Christie books already borrowed from the library to read in the next few weeks.

What else is on my radar in the near and not-so-near future?

First, I’ll start with authors I’ve found on the shelves of the library where I work, but whose books our library doesn’t have all of a particular series, especially in several cases the first one. At the top of this list is:

  • The Guards by Ken Bruen, the first of the Jack Taylor series, and which I already have sampled on my Nook. I am looking forward to purchasing this one sometime in the near future.

Next up is a series by Bill Pronzini called the Nameless Detective series. Our library has a handful of the series, but doesn’t have the first one, The Snatch, by him. I’ve always wanted to try this series, but haven’t had the opportunity yet, thanks to our library’s lack of keeping up with series.

Last on this short list from the library (or at least that I’ll mention today for space considerations) is the Inspector Rebus series by Ian Rankin. Our library does have the first one, Knots and Crosses, but then is missing several of the others in the series. I did read that first one and liked it, although not loved it, as I could tell it probably was a series that would grow on me. However, again, the library didn’t afford me the opportunity to find out if I’d continue to like the series or not.

Second, I’ll continue with authors I’ve found on the shelves of the library where I work, and whose books our library does have all of the series.  I also have marked these in my eWish list on my Nook. At the top of this list is:

  • A Song of Fire and Ice series by George R.R. Martin, the series that begins with A Game of Thrones.

Next in that list  is The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan, the first in the Percy Jackson series.

The final entry on that list is yet another series, the Septimus Heap series by Angie Sage. I already have the first one, Magyk, as a free ebook on my Nook. I think after finishing the Harry Potter series earlier this year, though, that I’ve subconsciously taken a break from young adult/children’s fantasy books — and maybe all fantasy books. I’m sure, though, I will return to them by the end of the year.

Third, I’ll begin wrapping up the list of books on my radar with a few as suggested either by my reading on the Nook or from my wish list there. At the top of this list is:

Next is The Mourner by Richard Stark, an alias of Donald E. Westlake, the fourth in his Parker series. And last, but not least, is Persona non Grata, the third in the Gaius Petreius Ruso series, by Ruth Downie, with the fourth one, Caveat Emptor, just being released not too long ago.

The last book I’ll mention that is on my radar, and of which our library does have a copy, is The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick as suggested by Tasha of Truth, Beauty, Freedom, and Books. I saw her mention it on Twitter and thought it would be a good one to try at some point.

Of course, I’m still continuing the Bones/Temperance Brennan series by Kathy Reichs too…as I’m now reading Fatal Voyage, which is part of that series and most likely will get back to reading later today.

So what is on your reading radar for the rest of this year, either on your wish list to buy or on your wish list to borrow from the library?

12 responses to “Pushing forward back in my reading

  1. I want to get copies of some early Elmore Leonard books. I read “Snatch” and “Swag” quite a few years ago and the characters in those books reappear in a lot of the Leonard novels. I haven’t really liked his more recent stuff, but the early books were all great. I just finished “The Garden of Beasts” and “Unbroken” and loved them both. I currently reading “The Help” and finding it interesting, but not on the same level as the other two books. I read Agatha Christie when I was in my 20’s. I probably should reexamine her now from a (hopefully) more mature viewpoint.

  2. I have the first book of Game of Thrones on my list to read. I’m hoping to be able to get to it before the end of the calendar year. As you know, I’m looking forward to finishing one of the remaining tomes on my list for this year, with the last volume of Marx’s Capital. After that, it’s Atlas Shrugged.

    I also started Patrick O’Brian’s Aubrey/Maturin series with Master and Commander, so I’m looking forward to getting back in the saddle with those books.

    You’re also really starting to get me quite interested in Agatha Christie, I almost picked up one of her books the last time I was at the library, but tomorrow when I head back, I very well might pick up one of her books.

  3. I didn’t have it copyrighted ;), so feel free. As for The Invention of Hugo Cabret, I waited too long…it’s out at the library, but I’ll put it on hold for when it returns.

  4. Reading this post makes me want to write one of my own! 🙂 I hope you enjoy The Invention of Hugo Cabret. It’s a great book.

  5. I really want to read the Game of Thrones series. I have no idea when I’m going to find the time to do it.
    I’m trying to get through the Harry Potter series myself, then maybe reread the Dark Tower Series and then continue the Outlander series, with some other things thrown in between.
    Your posts always remind me that I really need to get into my local library! It’s been ages :[

  6. Good list! The Guards has been reviewed positively a couple times by people participating in the Ireland Reading Challenge – it’s been on my radar for that reason.

    Percy Jackson series is a lot of fun – I’ve read the first two aloud to my kids. Same with Septimus Heap series – we’ve read the first two. Not as good as HP or Percy, but still fun.

    And Hugo Cabret is brilliant and you should read that one sooner than later! 🙂

    • Just from when I started the Septimus Heap series, I didn’t think it was as good as HP or PJ :). However, it still was pretty good from what I remember.

      Hugo Cabret, I’ll put it high on my list, probably at the start of July.

  7. I have a to-read list that I update as I come across a book that intrigues. I keep the list in a google spreadsheet. I like how you have your GoodReads set up. I have a GoodReads account but have horribly let is fall into a mess. I should take a few days to clean it up and start listing books read by year as you are doing.

    Anyway, I have several books on deck, but the ones that I am going to get to for sure this year is THE WISE MAN’S FEAR by Patrick Rothfuss (he quickly became a favorite author of mine). A DANCE OF DRAGONS by George RR Martin. (love this series and cannot wait for this book; he too is a favorite author), OUTLANDER by Diana Gabaldon, the 20th anniversary edition (okay, I have read this book several times but I want this edition. This is my most favorite author and series), THE WAY OF KINGS by Brandon Sanderson, Finish up the WHEEL OF TIME series (currently on book 7, but goal is to finish series before the last book is released next year). I also plan to read at least 2 HARUKI MURAKAMI books for the challenge. I have three books laying in wait: Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World , Kafka on the Shore, The Elephant Vanishes – stories. The last book was just bought last night for my almost 16 year old daughter. She loves his writing as do I. Matter of fact, his stories are the type of stories she gravitates towards, and hardly ever considers reading stories that most of her friends read. I have to tell you, I read DANCE DANCE DANCE and LOVED it. You say you read Wild Sheep Chase, I did too and liked the story but Dance Dance Dance is sooo much better. One last thing, I too have plans on reading THE LIGHTENING THIEF. My 11 year old daughter read the series, and she liked it. She was not blown away though which is were my hesitancy with starting the books lay.

    It will be interesting to see which books you do indeed end up reading especially considering that you now are “free to read what you want”. By the way, I liked that post and wish I could stop listing and planning which books to read and just let my mood take me away. Good luck with not making any plans/lists. I am sort of thinking you already back on that path though 😉 🙂

    • I like GoodReads the best so far, because I can keep it simple. LibraryThing was a bit too complex and Shelfari didn’t really grab me.

      Oh, great. Thanks for reminding me about Patrick Rothfuss. I completely forgot about him. I haven’t read Gabaldon or Jordon, because of the time commitment. As for Sanderson, I’ve just begun seeing his books at the library, but as you can tell, I’ve already got a list for the rest of this year. He might be next year. I enjoyed Kafka on the Shore, off-kilter as all of Murakami’s, but very good. I figured Dance, Dance, Dance would be better, but I just remember reading A Wild Sheep Chase years ago and being struck how different it was from anything else I was reading at the time. Odd thing is my Nook says it’s not available now. I might actually have to break down and purchase a hard copy (sheesh! 😉 ). The Lightening Thief: I’m in no rush to read…I really want to dig into some of the others first.

      You’re right. I’m back on the path of making lists, but…but…but…within those lists, I’m giving myself some freedom: to start when I want to start and what I want to start :).