Gallery

Mowing the lawn, just a mowing the lawn

Each Monday (or at least once a month, as it has been going this year), I write a Motivation Monday post, which is to help motivate me and you in terms of physical well-being, both diet and exercise. For 2011, I also am including a “no” and a “yes” to help motivate us toward being physically healthy.

No to driving to work at the library when the weather is nice

I’ve said this previously, but now it’s time to carry through on it, especially as the weather around my “neck of the woods” actually is becoming nice enough to be able to walk to work. I will begin implementing this tomorrow — of course, if the weather is nice…which as you might read in the next section, it’s not supposed to be. 😦

yes to mowing the lawn later this morning

For the short term, I am saying yes to mowing the lawn later this morning, not just because it’s long overdue and it’s supposed to rain the rest of the week, but also because it provides a little bit of a workout. It only takes about an hour, but usually by the end of it I’m covered in sweat. So that can’t be a bad thing. Why I’m committing to later this morning is because according to the National Weather Service, there’s a 40 percent chance of rain after 2 p.m.

Today’s Moment of Zen from the Eddie Murphy/Arsenio Hall movie Coming To America, which I was reminded of last night in a Twitter conversation (“Whatever you like”):

Today’s title inspired by Rufus Thomas’s “Walking the Dog.”

 

13 responses to “Mowing the lawn, just a mowing the lawn

  1. Pingback: Mowing the lawn, mowing the lawn | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. I would love to be able to walk or bike to work, but I live too far away. I don’t fancy a 20-mile bike ride across highways and state roads, and given the way people around here drive, that would be life-threatening. I do really need to find a way to incorporate more exercise into my life. One of these days, I’ll stop complaining and just start doing it.

  3. Speaking of driving, the lawn and the weather (don’t you just love synchronicity?), we have an acre lot. So I have to cut the grass riding a lawn tractor. It takes about an hour and a half. Last week was the first time this year I could get the whole thing done because this spring we had so much rain I couldn’t cut our back forty. I must have gotten the lawn tractor stuck in the mud 2-3 times each week. Thank God it’s finally dried out. Gotta get it cut tomorrow, though. It’s supposed to rain Thursday.

  4. I hate mowing the lawn, it is hard to be inspired to do it. I did it Sunday after putting it off a couple of weeks b/c I knew it would be humid all this week. I do feel better when I’m done tho. It’s a good workout followed by a cold shower

    • The only reason I did it yesterday was because the rest of the week isn’t supposed to be that great in terms of weather. However, like you, I do feel better when it’s done.

  5. I ditto ReformingGeek! Here in Sunny South Florida it is drydrydry. Mowing dude companies can’t find a blade of grass [that ain’t dead] to mow!

    Glad your doing your part to reduce your Carbon Footprint…AlGore would be proud of you.

    Aloha!

  6. Send us your rain, please. I would be happy to mow for you!

    Good Luck with your walk.

  7. I wish I could say, “NO” to driving to work. Unfortunately – or, fortunately, depending on how you look at it – when I wake up, I’m already at work.

    As for outdoor labour, that isn’t happening around here today – at least by me. It’s 82 degrees (plus humidity). I break out in a sweat going to the john for a pee. But I hope you enjoyed your beer after mowing.
    πŸ˜‰

  8. It was close to 80 degrees here this morning at 9 AM. Way too hot for me! I really don’t like heat, but I don’t like cold either. Mowing the lawn in this would kill me. Oh wait! I have my El Salvadorian gardener who does that anyway! Just breathing in this heat makes me sweat. Stay cool, Dude.