Gallery

Once there was this book blogger who…

…finished a book yesterday. This might not seem like a big deal to many of you, but considering the number of DNFs (Did Not Finish) I’ve had this year, about 10 roughly, I think this is  a very big deal. I’m now at 22 books read for the year, and while the number is down from the previous few years, my wife reminds me that some people never even pick up a book in the course of a year, let alone read it. Oh, the book I finished? Deadly Decisions, part of the Bones/Temperance Brennan series, by Kathy Reichs.

Technically, it was a DNF only last month, but I decided to return to it after growing bored with another DNF, Booked to Die by John Dunning, which I just couldn’t make it through. This one, though, I had no problem finishing as I am enjoying Reichs’ Bones series so far. I originally picked up the books because of the TV series, which I was enjoying via Netflix Instant. However, I think I like the books better, because the main character of Temperance Brennan is so different from the one on the TV series. She’s older and tougher for one thing. I still like the show, but not as much as the books.

So now what’s next?

From the library, I’ve picked up yet another DNF:

  • Twitter for Dummies (2nd Edition) by Laura Fitton (@pistachio), Michael E. Gruen (@gruen) and Leslie Poston (@leslie), not because I’m a dummy, but because I use Twitter (@unfnshdprsn) and thought it never hurts to learn more about a social media tool that I use.

I also am going to try:

Recently I’ve had a few blogger friends who have created Facebook pages, with at least one saying she didn’t know what she was supposed to do with it. I’m slightly of the same mind and hope maybe the book can give me a little direction in that regard and also pointers/reminders about the social networking site that I might have forgotten. I also don’t feel that I’m using Twitter to its full potential and hope that the other book can help me in that regard.

Do you have a Twitter and/or Facebook account? If you do, share in the comments your Twitter handle and/or Facebook page, if I haven’t already followed you in either or both places. Do you ever return to DNFs? If so, what has been your been experience?

Since I’m rediscovering Weird Al this week with the release of his latest album, and in honor of the Dummies books I plan on reading this week, here’s his parody of a Crash Test Dummies song:

7 responses to “Once there was this book blogger who…

  1. I like Kathy Reichs. Not sure about your next two books though,

  2. We have a Twitter account (Mike set it up) but I couldn’t tell you what our handle is. I openly admit to being a Twidiot. I’ve been thinking about getting Twitter for Dummies so I could finally figure this thing out. If you manage to finish it, I’d love to know if you found it helpful.

  3. What *is* the full potential of twitter?

    I have DNFs all the time. I get into moods where I just hate every single book. It’s a great way to clear out your TBR pile.

  4. For the record, I heart Weird Al. Always have, always will.

    Congrats on finally finishing a book! I finish most of the books I start, and tend to be in denial about my few DNFs – I keep thinking I’ll pick them back up “someday.” (A couple still have the bookmarks in where I left off.)

    As you already know, I’ve just set up a Facebook page for my blog – but I’m not sure exactly why, or how I’ll use it (other than as a place for people who never leave FB to read my posts), so I hope you’ll share any insights you get from the Dummies!

  5. I don’t have any DNFs. I have some TFTFs (Took Forever To Finish) though. With those I feel I’ve already invested enough time to get to where I am in the book I may as well finish it. They just take a little longer to finish than others.

    I loved the parody. Al’s imitation is spot on. Good Canadian group, Crash Test Dummies.

    I read several Kathy Reichs novels well before the TV series came along. I enjoyed the books much more than the TV show.

  6. I started a book called “The Paris Wife” and put it aside. I picked it up again a couple of weeks later and couldn’t put it down. I think my mood dictates what I can read and when. Of course, I’ve still got those books that I cannot finish under pain of torture! I really don’t understand FB or Twitter although I have a FB page that my son’s wife set up for me. I probably need the “For Dummies” books myself.