Gallery

There are books I remember… (TSS)

The Sunday Salon.com Since this past week, I celebrated my 42nd birthday, I got to thinking that it might be cool to look back on my favorite books by decades of my life. It might not be either, but one (meaning I) has to (have to) give it an attempt anyway:

1969-1979

  • Where The Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak
  • Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss
  • The 500 Hats of Bartholomew Cubbins by Dr. Seuss
  • The Call of the Wild by Jack London
  • Charlotte’s Web and Stuart Little by E.B. White
  • Big Red by Jim Kgelgaard
  • Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lingren
  • Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimh by Robert C. O’Brien
  • Misty of Chincoteague by Marguerite Henry

1979-1989:

  • The Lord of The Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien
  • Tex by S.E. Hinton
  • 1984 by George Orwell
  • A Separate Peace by John Knowles
  • Lord of the Flies by William Golding
  • The Complete Stories by Flannery O’Connor
  • The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich by William Shirer
  • The Foundation Trilogy by Isaac Asimov

1989-1999

  • A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving
  • The River Why by David James Duncan
  • The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
  • A Parliament of Whores by P.J. O’Rourke
  • The Autobiography of Malcolm X

1999-2009

The last couple of years

  • Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese
  • Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand
  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling
  • Maus by Art Spiegelman
  • The Girl Who Played With Fire by Stieg Larsson
  • The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

As for what I’m reading today, I’m picking up Deadly Decisions by Kathy Reichs, a book I stopped reading last month when I decided to start fresh with a new batch of books. I didn’t plan on it, though ;). I did try to read Booked to Die by John Dunning, the first of the Cliff Janeway/Bookman series, but couldn’t finish it after I got to a certain point I found preposterous. I also did re-pick up Twitter for Dummies from the library this past week and now also have picked up Facebook for Dummies on Friday. I think I know how to use the two of the largest social media sites, but I figure it can’t hurt to see if there’s anything else I can learn in regards to them.

So what are some of your favorite books by the decades of your life, or are there too many decades for you to recount? 😉  If not, please share, if only a few of your favorite books over the past mumble, mumble years of your life? Also what are you reading today?


Peace out, y’all. Holla.

37 responses to “There are books I remember… (TSS)

  1. Make that “Wuthering”. Thanks.

  2. When I was 8, I read Withering Heights and adored it. I also read Hardy Boys, Anne of Green Gables, and Nancy Drew.

    In high school, I discovered Hemmingway. I loved everything he wrote.

    As an adult, I have read a lot of fiction, but also like biographies and essays on natural science subjects. I just finished “In the Garden of the Beasts” and thought it was wonderful.

  3. Happy after-your-Birthday! That’s quite an impressive list…and several of them would be on mine too. I think two that also stand out for me are The Last Convertible by Anton Myer and The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas. Oh, and The Shawshank Redemption by Stephen King.

  4. Happy after-your-Birthday! That’s an impressive list you’ve got there…and quite a few of them would be on mine as well. I think the two that stand out the most for me were The Last Convertible by Anton Myer and The Count Of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas. Oh, also The Shawshank Redemption, by Stephen King.

  5. Oh, I didn’t mention the Louis L’Amour books I read when I was a teen — ooops :).

    As for the support this morning, you’re welcome. Sometimes it can seem like you’re out there on your own…you’re not.

  6. I’d be way to embarrassed to list the books I read in my younger years, plus I don’t have a great memory. I think I only blog so I can keep track of what I’m reading.

    Thanks for your support this morning!

  7. I made it all the way through Booked to Die and wished I’d abandoned it! 😉

    It was great fun to read your list; although I’m a bit younger than you we shared some childhood favourites!

  8. Happy belated birthday! Great idea! Let’s see —

    1976 to 1985 Little Women, The Hungry Caterpillar, Where the Red Fern Grows, Anne of Green Gables series, The Cat in the Hat, The Blue Castle
    1986 to 1995 Jane Eyre, Wuthering Heights, Rebecca, Gone With the Wind, Mrs. Mike, Christie, Crime and Punishment, A Tale of Two Cities
    1996 to 2005 The Count of Monte Cristo, Hawaii, Atlas Shrugged, War and Peace, the Harry Potter series, the Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rice
    2006 to present The Twilight Series, The Host, The Fountainhead, The Book Thief, and SO many more…

  9. Happy belated birthday. What a great way to look back across the years. We share many favorites, but I’d add To Kill A Mockingbird.

  10. Happy Belated birthday! I have tons of favorites. I used to read mainly sci-fi and memoirs, but have branched our in recent years. I loved Unbroken too!

  11. Hmm, well when I was little I really loved The Alligator’s Song. And 10-20, my favorite books were probably The Vampire Diaries, and in my 20’s my favorite book was… hm. Actually I have no idea. 😛

  12. I have attended lectures, gotten autographs and spoken briefly with P.J. O’Rourke and Sherman Alexie. Both were extremely enjoyable.

    My early years were devoted to Little House on the Prairie, Nancy Drew, The Hardy Boys, The Boxcar Children and Trixie Beldon. Then I went into my teen series like Canaby Hall and the Flowers in the Attic series. College was spent reading so many plays and classics it was hard to really enjoy them. When I finally got over my after college reading break I started in with Harry Potter, Elizabeth Peters and Diana Gabaldon. Currently reading the Wheel of Time Series and Anne MacCaffrey’s Pern series. I will pretty much read anything.

    • I’m very jealous of you, getting to meet Alexie and O’Rourke. Was that at the Decatur Book Festival of which you’ve spoken previously?

      I read The Hardy Boys too and the Boxcar children too.

      • Alexie was at the Book Festival. O’Rourke was at a Political event. I had never heard of him but my husband really liked him and when he heard he would be speaking at this event we took off.

  13. I LOVE this!! Isn’t it fun to look back and see how your reading has changed over the years? Though lots of classics and great works of fiction in all decades for you. Really need to read Hitchhiker’s Guide. I have no excuses as to why I haven’t yet.

    Again, happy birthday. Hoping it was fantastic!

    • The thing is about the Hitchhiker’s Guide series is that it is lots of fun and doesn’t take a lot to read it — really. Plus you can put it down and come back to it later and you won’t be lost…and if you’re lost, who cares? It’s all good fun.

  14. I probably read Truman during that decade, too!

    • I really enjoy McCullough’s work. I have a feeling the first time I came across his work was with The American Experience on PBS. I need to watch some of that show again..it’s on Hulu now.

  15. So cool that you were reading Flannery O’Connor as a teenager – I still have her Complete Stories sitting on my unread shelf.

    Never read The Stand, but Kevin and I are currently in the middle of watching the mini-series on Netflix.

    Let’s see – grade school: Baby Island by Carol Ryrie Brink; Little Women by Louisa May Alcott;; From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsberg, the Little House series

    Middle school: Betsy-Tacy series by Maud Hart Lovelace, Anne of Green Gables series, Outsiders by S.E. hinton

    High School: Trinity and Exodus – both by Leon Uris, To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

    College: don’t remember particular titles, but went on a Heinlein binge.

    Since college: Peace Like a River by Leif Enger, Fieldwork by Mischa Berlinski, Broken for You by Stephanie Kallos, Persuasion by Jane Austen, Kristen Lavransdatter by Sigrid Undset – and too many more to list – I should have just written my own post! LOL

    • I actually read Flannery O’Connor in college…had a class on her and Faulkner, still one of my favorite classes that I remember from college.

      The miniseries of The Stand is a good one. The book is still better…

      I could include Little House. I think I read most of them…and I definitely watched the TV show (ahem…yeah, with my sister…um, she forced me ;)).

      I liked Leon Uris too, one of those authors which my mother got me into…could have included Frederick Forsyth and Robert Ludlum too…and naturally Agatha Christie.

      You still can write your own post 🙂 and I might write another one…in addition to this comment one. 😉

  16. Pingback: Book pick for the WEEK ! « Phillybookpick's Blog

  17. Am I the only one who spent 1979-1985 or so reading Judy Blume? 🙂
    Its interesting to see it broken down this way, and follow the themes. For me, I read teen novels, then SF/Fantasy almost exclusively, now my reading is much more omnivorous but still largely fiction. I’m not sure I could come up with specific books by decade without more work than only one cup of coffee would allow.

    • Yes, you are. 😉

      I had a science fiction/fantasy period to my life too…especially that began with Tolkien and continued with Asimov. Even now SF/Fantasy is one of my favorite genres, and one to which I keep returning time and time again. Out of all the books I’ve picked up in the last few years, I think most are SF/Fantasy, maybe a sign I need to get back into it again.

  18. Happy birthday! And yes, there are SO many decades I can scarcely count back that far…LOL

    But I do recall some favorites from my first couple of decades, like Tom Sawyer, Huckleberry Finn, and Little Women…first ten years. Ten through Teen years: Daphne du Maurier, Jane Austen, Ayn Rand.

    That’s as far as I go back….But what a fun exercise!

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

    • I almost included Huckleberry Finn too, but didn’t — for some reason. I don’t know why. It was a really good book, but I don’t think it made the impression on me that some of the others did. I also was influenced by…or at least enjoyed…Rand when I was a teenager and especially in college. Now I’m not really that enamored of her philosophy. That said, I did enjoy how she mixed her philosophy with the fiction.

  19. Wow, your list is so similar to what mine would be. Rats of NIMH was one of my favorites as a kid, and THE RISE AND FALL OF THE THIRD REICH, which I read in high school, made a big impression. I also loved PARLIAMENT OF WHORES and still smile when I see any of PJ O’Rourke’s books around. But then I always knew you had great taste! I’m going to have to think on this and maybe steal your idea for a post. It’s a great one!

    • I’m sure I’m not the first one to come up with this idea, so steal away…

      …as for the Shirer book, I don’t even know why I picked it up, probably because my mother interested me in World War II history. However, I do know it’s one of those books I will never forget about a time that should never be forgotten.

  20. HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY!
    In the 1980’s it was Danielle Steel…LOL
    1990s…Stephen King, Dean Koontz, John Saul
    2000s…contemporary fiction and mysteries
    2010+ more literary fiction, and some contemporary