Gallery

Famous events that share(d) their birthday with mine

Three years ago, in honor of my birthday, I wrote about famous people who share(d) their birthday with me. Then last year I updated the list for a second part, which has become one of my most popular posts ever on this blog. This year, I’ve decided to go a slightly different route.

 

Yep, famous events that happened on my birthday.

I had no idea until this morning that not only was today the day of my birth 42 years ago, but also the day of the BIRTH OF AIDS!

How would you like to have your birthday saddled with that?

In all seriousness, I have to say that thankfully, I don’t know of anyone personally who has suffered or died from the deadly disease, but I won’t lie, I miss this guy:

Mr. Bad Guy

Image via Wikipedia, Click through to my favorite Queen song

The only other notable historical events for June 9, 1969, according to HistoryOrb.com, are that Warren Burger was confirmed as U.S. Chief Justice and Brian Jones quit the Rolling Stones because of his drug problems.

However, another Google search yields a cornucopia of results from Brainy History of June 9 events. I won’t reproduce the entire list here, not only because of copyright violations, but because the majority of it would bore to tears. I will highlight a few noteworthy events, at least, to my way of thinking:

  1. 1997: Detroit Tigers bat out of order against Oakland A’s in 1st inning
  2. 1991: Bruce Springsteen weds his backup singer Patti Scialfa
  3. 1984: Cyndi Lauper’s 1st #1 “Time After Time”
  4. 1977: 50th National Spelling Bee: John Paola wins spelling cambist
  5. 1975: Tony Orlando and Dawn receives gold record for “He Don’t Love You”
  6. 1967: Monkees appear at Hollywood Bowl
  7. 1954: Joseph Welch asks Senator Joseph McCarthy “Have you no sense of decency, sir?” during Senate-Army hearings
  8. 1940: Norway surrenders to Germany during WW II
  9. 1934: 1st Donald Duck cartoon, Wise Little Hen, released
  10. 1924: “Jelly Roll Blues,” is recorded by blues great, Jelly Roll Morton

Folks in Congress still have no sense of decency…

…and Bruce and Patti are still together, at least as of this writing.

Peace out, y’all. Holla.

17 responses to “Famous events that share(d) their birthday with mine

  1. OMG, you mean to tell me you’re younger than the Monkees? I’m feeling pretty old right about now.

  2. Happy Birthday, how lucky you are to have a Lauper Day. Time After Time is a perfect Birthday theme song too. Hope you’re having a great time!

  3. That mustache…swooon. 😉

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Hope it is seriously rockin’.

  4. You should do this for June 7 – my birthday!
    Hope you had a good one.

  5. Oh my goodness, it seems like AIDS has been here a lot less time than that! I think I began really being aware of it about 1975 or so. That’s when we had a lot of people dying in SF, including people that I know. I like your list!

    Happy birthday! Don’t eat too much cake!!

  6. oh, I *do* remember reading this last year. Shame on me for forgetting. I did not know about the AIDS connection. oh well. Lots of good things happen on June 9s, too.

  7. Happy Birthday! I hope you have a spectacular day!

  8. What a great idea! I am partial to the Cyndi Lauper and Monkees events on your list 🙂 Happy B’day. Here from your post on Studio30Plus fb page. Stalking you on Twitter now 🙂

  9. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!
    what a unique and wonderful way to celebrate….

    first time to your blog, visiting from Studio 30+.

    have a great day

  10. Happy birthday! Hope it’s a fantastic day. Please don’t dwell on AIDS all day. 🙂

  11. Happy Birthday, Youngster!

  12. Did ya know Freddie Mercury’s parents came from my home-town of Valsad, Gujarat ?

    I share a birthday with one fictional character. Have you watched a sitcom called the Vicar of Dibley (UK) ?
    In it there is a character called Frank – presumably the most pedantic and the most boring man on earth (ie the village of Dibley).
    I was beyond surprised when in one episode he began making a speech begining with “I was born …. on the twelfth of August …. ”

    • I remember that episode. I love that show. That is way too funny…and the Freddie Mercury thing too. You’re a funny Canuckian, but I’m glad to know you :).

  13. Have a great birthday tomorrow homie!