Gallery

I’m something special, I’m something special to me

This morning I woke up and knew I had to change the date on my phone.

Why?

Sony Ericsson S500i

Image by Nathan Huth via Flickr

Well, yesterday I switched my SIM card out of the phone I had been using, a Samsung touchscreen, to an old phone that my wife had, a Sony Ericsson slide. In the process, I thought I had changed the date, but before going to bed late last night, I noticed that it read “08-Jun-2011.” However, I didn’t change it.

So?

Well, 09-Jun-2011 will be my 42nd birthday. I want to stave off “another year older and deeper in debt” to paraphrase the Violent Femmes from their song, “Special,” as long as I can.

When I told my wife about my wanting to change the date this morning, she told me a story about when her mother turned 40.  She decided to have a panic attack until…

…she actually did the math and learned she actually was turning 39.

The next year, my wife said my mother-in-law had no such panic attack.

Maybe there’s hope for me too and now I won’t have a panic attack on Thursday.

Peace out, y’all. Holla.

19 responses to “I’m something special, I’m something special to me

  1. I thought I would freak out on my 30th birthday, but I didn’t. Maybe I’ll save that for next year.

  2. Happy Birthday.
    43 ! Man that’s over the hill ! Way deeper than where the sun would set ! Life will make you wish you were still 42 !

    (Don’t correct me)

  3. Happy Birthday Eve! And you certainly are not “turning old”. You are still a young rooster!

  4. Have a Happydamnfantastic Birthday, Unfinished!

    Remember, 40 is the new 20! But I’m 52 so WTF do I know(?)
    Aloha From Sunny South Florida!

  5. Happy Birthday!! 🙂

  6. My daughter will be spending Thursday getting a colonoscopy. Does that make having a birthday sound a bit better? 😉

    • Much, much better. 😉 Sorry to hear that for her, though. Nice to keep things in perspective, though, huh.

      • She’s actually been symptom free since her surgery in September, so this scope is to make sure her Crohn’s is truly in remission. If it is, she will discontinue her IV treatments she’s been doing every eight weeks. So not a fun procedure, but nothing compared to how she was doing last summer.

  7. 42 is a breeze, you’ll see! Happy Early Birthday, hope you have a great day! 🙂

  8. Silly guy. You’ll survive. And what was that again about just getting gray hairs? (reaching into my memory for a post I read a few weeks ago). At least you’re not like me…in your 20s (barely) with grays.

    Happy early birthday.

  9. A coffin cake? Wow. I hope I don’t get that this year…I’m old, but not that old.

  10. ❤ you will be fine. I freaked on my 30th birthday so my husband had me a pity party with a coffin cake.

  11. Happy Birthday 2 days early. Or is it 1 day? My electronics are out of sinc and I still haven’t learned to program the VCR.

  12. We actually have no debt whatsoever as of 5:30pm yesterday…just wanted to point that out…..