Gallery

Tornadic activity spotted in vicinity of Unfinished Person, seek shelter immediately

Last night was a blur for me.

5 p.m.: Left work and went immediately to store to grab a couple of things. On way, heard emergency weather report on radio that storm with hail one inch in diameter was heading toward our town in 45 minutes. Rushed through store, getting important items needed — no not toilet paper, no not bread, not milk, but nachos, cheese, soda to go with my alcohol. Note to self: Apologize later to two patrons at library where I work, whom I almost ran over with my cart as I turned corner from one aisle to next.

5:20: Got home. Told wife, who was going into work later that night as 911 dispatcher about impending storm , and she said she’d be leaving for work early because of events of previous night in our county. She left.

6:00: Check National Weather Service, learn tornado warning for our town.

6:30-7:30: All runs together. At some point, wife texts me to tell me to get to the basement with the cat. I do but not without some difficulty at least on the part of my two feet as they slip out from underneath me and place me on back and left elbow on concrete steps. Wonder if I should call wife in official capacity, but manage to pull myself up — if I had boots on, it might be bootstraps, but it’s just sneakers, hence part of the reason I slipped in the first place.

7:30 p.m.: Return from dank basement to comfort of couch…where I briefly comment on Facebook that I will be settling in for a night of Netflix.

Prompts friend to respond:

Ahh – a couch potato in his natural state. It’s a beautiful thing. 😀

7:45 p.m.: I put up his response and then my own thought on wall:

‘Tis true. ‘Tis true. God bless America, and the holy trinity of technology: Netflix, Roku and Mog. Plus one: Panasonic.

7:46 p.m. or thereabouts.: Power goes out. I scramble to find large flashflight, only find small flashlight. Thus begins snarky texting to wife and sister to pass time for about next 2 and 1/2 hours.

10:28 p.m.: Power returns, prompting me to post this via Twitter and Facebook:

2 nights in row with 2 hours w/o electricity: how the freak did Laura Ingalls do it every night w/o electricity? That’s what I want to know.

Best response of night from Jess Commins (@renewabelle on Twitter):

Miss Ingalls did in the library with a candlestick. #Clue.

Cut to this morning.

Find large flashlight behind computer tower on desk. At least, I know where it is for next emergency.

At least, I can laugh about what happened last night. Others aren’t so lucky. To give to the American Red Cross in its relief efforts to events such as the recent tornado that devastated Joplin, Mo., click here to a webpage set up by the Red Cross where you can donate.

Peace out, y’all. Holla.

11 responses to “Tornadic activity spotted in vicinity of Unfinished Person, seek shelter immediately

  1. Pingback: 2011: The Year I Sucked or Wait, Did I? | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Pingback: The flurry of activity that was this past week (TSS) | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  3. We’ve had a lot of sever weather in my area lately, so I know what this feels like. We lost power for a little bit yesterday :[

    And I saw the twitter candlestick post on twitter yesterday, and I was a little confused, but it makes sense now lol
    But I am glad to see that tragedy was averted and that all is well in your neck of the woods! :]

  4. Whew… as horrible as it sounds, I’m glad I’m not the only one the steps are out to maim/kill..

    I’m very glad you’re okay though!!

  5. I’m sorry for your ouchie but is the cat ok?

    Hee Hee. Cats always mange to land on their feet.

    Tornadoes are scary. Hail is bad enough. I’m glad you are safe. It’s been a rough spring!

  6. Hope your back is okay after your fall! Hopefully your power will stay on tonight to avoid Netflix withdrawals. 🙂

  7. My cousin in Oklahoma City texted me from her closet a couple of nights ago. No power, sitting in a closet all evening alone didn’t sound fun with tornadoes on the ground a few blocks away. I’m glad you guys have a basement to go to. I know you were clutching the cat, but hold on to the handrails if there is one. Falling on stairs is not a good thing. I’m glad you were okay.

  8. I like the part where you fell on your butt…I’m going to go read it again and again.