Gallery

Who am I? 24601

This week in addition to my regular posts (which as those of you who already follow this blog, know there’s no such thing since I’m an irregular kind of guy), I will be participating in Armchair BEA (click on the image to be magically transported to the headquarters for this event). BEA stands for BookExpo America and is taking place this week in New York City. For those of us too po’ to attend, we have our own event from the armchair of our own home.

Today we are introducing ourselves by answering the main question: “Who are you, and how do you Armchair?” So cutting right to the chase, without further ado, let’s introduce:

Unfinished Person. He is a 41-year-old, soon to be 42-year-old next month, blogger from the hills of northcentral Pennsyltucky. He has a love-hate relationship with calling himself a “book blogger.”

To wit, first, he had a “book blog” called just a (reading) fool and then he deleted it, but still kept the posts here, belying that he really wasn’t a book blogger. In one post, he denied he was a book blogger, followed by a post only a few months later, where he gladly called himself a book blogger. Then only last week he once again said he wasn’t a book blogger, but that he also wasn’t a cat blogger or a humor blogger either.

Dude is obviously confused about what kind of blogger he is, but that is why he is an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe).

He also likes to refer to himself in third person a lot of the time and has a hard time breaking through to the first or second person…

…but for you, I will break through the barrier and will tell you how I Armchair.

I don’t.

We don’t have a chair in our living room, so I’ll be kicking it mostly from the arm of our couch in our living room (I’d take a picture, but the batteries in our camera are dead — I know, I know, maybe I’m not really a blogger at all) this week. We do have a chair in my office, and that’s actually where I’m writing from right now, but it doesn’t have arms, of course.

So most of the time, I’ll be at the arm of our couch, probably listening to Mog Music Network on our Roku as I write the posts for my own Coucharm BEA.

Hope you’ll join in the conversation. If you’re Armchairing or Coucharming, leave a brief intro here and I’ll come check out your blog too. If you’re not, well then, you don’t know the fun you’re missing — well, you do if you click on that BookExpo America link above. But don’t think about that. Think instead about the good things…

For those of you wanting your Les Mis fix after seeing the title of this post and feeling you might be robbed of that, here’s your moment of Zen:

Peace out, y’all. Holla.

36 responses to “Who am I? 24601

  1. Pingback: The flurry of activity that was this past week (TSS) | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  2. Pingback: The best 10 books I’ve read within the last few years | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  3. Thank you for the wonderful comment you left on my post yesterday- made my day πŸ™‚

    • I meant it. Unfortunately, it’s take me a while, but I’ve become a big fan of your blog. You are one of the few true professional book bloggers out there. <– okay, okay, I'll stop before your head becomes too large ;).

  4. This was seriously the best intro post by far, and I’ve read quite a few today believe me! But I do have to side with Florinda…you do hang out with far too many of us to claim exemption from the group. πŸ˜‰

  5. Sorry, but you hang out with too many book bloggers to make your claims of NOT being one convincing. Only book bloggers are permitted to police the Sunday Salon :-D.

    • Good point about the Sunday Salon, didn’t think of that.

      Hope you’re having fun in NYC. Will check in later to see how you’re doing…once you’re over the jet lag, that is. πŸ™‚

  6. I died laughing about your love/hate relationship with book blogging! You kill me. You really do. To answer your question about APAC, it’s the Audiobook Publishers Association Conference. It basically sounds like all of my favorite audiobook peeps are together in one room. If it were not for Emma’s First Communion this weekend, I’d be there. Oh well. It’s a pleasure to spend time with all of my tweeps here, too. πŸ™‚

    • Oh, thanks for the explanation. I was wondering what I was missing, but as I’m not an “audiobooks person” or at least not yet, I’m not worried about not knowing. I think, though, you’ll have fun here with all of us.

  7. Meleah LOVES to refer to herself in the third person also. She does it a lot.

  8. I love the title of your blog & look forward to reading more of it! Enjoy Armchair BEA.

    • Thanks. The title comes from a quote either from William James or Thomas Dewey, depending on who you ask. More can be found about the quote on my about page.

  9. I think you’re having an identity crisis. I guess it’s okay that you don’t have an armchair, we’ll let you stay. Have a great week!

    • I’ve been having an identity crisis for years. At one time, I had five blogs and then even two personalities here on this blog: Unfinished Person and Unfinished Rambler. Now I’m finally integrated….or so he hopes. πŸ˜‰

  10. I know, right? Can’t we just be BLOGGERS? πŸ˜‰

    Are you a fan of Les Miserables? A few months ago mom and I went and saw the 25th anniversary Les Mis concert in the movie theater. Was done in London at the O2 somethingsomething. Was FANTASTIC and I recommend you watching if you can get your hands on (apparently was on PBS not too long ago). I keep thinking that one of these days I’ll blog about it but…

    • Total agreement, about just being BLOGGERS, although I wouldn’t shout about it. It’s not like we’re that special. Everyone’s doing it. πŸ™‚

      I don’t know if I’m a fan of Les Mis like some folks, but I do enjoy the musical…

      …and don’t talk about blogging about it. Do it. Do it. No excuses, lady. πŸ™‚

  11. Thanks for stopping by the blog and considering a poetry challenge, because I presume that’s what you were referring to when you commented. I tend to only talk in the third person on my blog, but not in comments…so here I am in the first person! πŸ™‚

  12. Does blogging about books make you a “book blogger”? Surely there is some litmus test we can be placed against – when you hold a paperback can you tell what genre it is by smell? Do you find that you are shouting “2 STARS!” when a certain author’s name is spoken? I think we may need some more formal metrics for this…

    Or, just cave and say “Yes! I AM a book blogger!” like the rest of us. πŸ™‚

    • I really can’t tell genre what it is by smell and believe me, I’ve tried. I work at a library and we get donations for our annual book sale. Usually I don’t shout “2 STARS” as much as “SUCKS,” but usually in my head…or occasionally out loud on the blog. I agree, though, about the formal metrics.

  13. Oh, and yes, I got the Les Miz reference. πŸ™‚

  14. I don’t have an armchair, either – I took that part figuratively. I blog from the couch. πŸ™‚ And you should really quit being ashamed to admit you’re a book blogger – the first step to fixing a problem is admitting that you have a problem…. and all that.

    • I took it literally. I’m a literalist. You do know that’s how we Catholics roll, right? πŸ˜‰ What problem? Okay, yes, I have a problem, but it’s a good problem to have.

  15. Maybe you should get a button for your blog that says, “Today unfinishperson is a book blogger/is not a book blogger.” πŸ™‚ Great intro post!

    • I’ll incorporate Jenn’s idea into the button too. Oooh, the ideas are just flowing here today at Unfinished Person. Keep them coming, folks, and I won’t have to write anymore. πŸ™‚

  16. I agree with lisa this is the most entertaining intro post I have read all day πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Hillary. I’ve been trying to do a better job of commenting on blogs, so hopefully you’ll see me more on your blog. If not, come here and nudge me and I’ll be sure to stop by.

  17. lol, great moment of zen, and you win the award for best introduction post of the day. way to keep it fresh for us out here that are self-proclaimed inhabitants of the land of book blogging.

    • I’m not going to lie, Lisa…or to put it in words you can understand ;): i am not going to lie, lisa, i don’t know if I really am a book blogger, but it sure is fun hanging out with those who proclaim themselves inhabitants of the land of book blogging, the book blogosphere, what have you.

  18. The Once and Future Prince?
    Anyhoodle. You can armchair, couch-arm, pontificate from whatever post you like. As long as you take another whack at the lawn as the weather permits.

    Signed,
    Your Loving Wife
    Who also Blogs, though not with any regularity or unifying theme because she doesn’t like to be told what to do and also lapses into the third person. Regularly. And who should probably not be commenting on blogs after being awake all night.

  19. Maybe you can next be “The Person Formerly Known as A Book Blogger,” and we can turn your name into an unpronouncable symbol that looks strangely LIKE an arm chair.