Gallery

People are people, strange

The other day my sister went to a children’s clothing store with my four-year-old nephew — or she attempted to go with him anyway. He told her he would stay in his booster seat in the car while she was shopping. When she asked why, he said:

“I don’t want to be around people all the time.”

The funny thing is that my sister told me the above story last night as I was calling her to complain about how I was feeling “anti-people” after I had stepped outside at a volunteer recognition banquet with hundreds of people.

It wasn’t that the banquet was nice or that the food wasn’t good. In both cases, it was. It was the entertainment which was a square dance group complete with a caller who couldn’t sing worth a lick. Or maybe it’s just that I was looking for an excuse to be what one of my friends calls me on Facebook “Mr. Cranky Pants”.

However, I must admit I’m not really a “people person”. I prefer small groups to large crowds. As much as I think I’m jealous when friends go to concerts, as I think back, I’d probably hate going to them anyway — because of the crowds of people. The only bonus is I might not really notice because of the secondhand buzz I’d probably get.

This weekend should be good for me then as my wife and I are having two friends, my college roommate and his wife, visiting from South Korea. It will just be the four of us. Since we’re broke, we won’t be going to any concerts and probably will just hang in here at our house– watching movies, playing games such as Settlers of Cataan that my friend Joe will bring with him, talking and I’m sure laughing at the movies, the games and our conversations, especially the latter.

Who knows? Maybe I’ll maybe be able to take off my cranky pants too — at least for the weekend.

People are strange.

So what’s your stance on people? Love them or hate them? Or indifferent? šŸ˜‰

Peace out, y’all. Holla.

13 responses to “People are people, strange

  1. Oh I’m right there with your nephew. I love my alone time and quiet weekends that don’t involve any social gatherings.

  2. Haha! I tend to be a bit of a cranky pants as well. Which is funny because I’m fairly social online–when I make an appearance–but normally I just can’t seem to be bothered by other people. I’m easily annoyed (which I’m not entirey proud of) and HATE small talk, so….

    Sometimes I wish it weren’t that way, but then I put myself out there and remember why I usually don’t. šŸ˜‰

  3. It’s Ms. Cranky Pants, Honey.

  4. So what you’re saying is that you’re a Mrs. Cranky Pants — sometimes? šŸ˜‰ Hey, I definitely can relate.

  5. I hate square dancing. I also hate crowds. We have the occasional party that includes 50 people of so, and they all have a good time. I almost always have it catered but I still can’t relax and enjoy a moment of it. There are too many people. I really enjoy small dinner parties for no more than a total of 8 people, but 6 is even better. Then I can do everything myself and do it my way, which as you might have guessed, is in my opinion, the only way. I loathe concerts and ball games because of crowds. I hate walking through them and I hate being around them. I do these things because my husband likes to do them, but I let him make it up to me afterward. I am awkward socially and used to consume a large quantity of alcohol to get me “in the mood” for occasions teaming with humanity. I don’t do that anymore. It is way too upsetting to fall asleep in the punch bowl. So my dear Mr. Cranky Pants, it’s not just you!

  6. I like small groups too. I can be social for a while but then I have to have “me” time to recharge. I can act like an extrovert if I have to but it’s not easy! It gets tiring and then I just want to curl up at home.

  7. I use to love crowds and people. Now, not so much. I love music but usually concerts are too loud and crowded with obnoxious rude people. I rather stay home and listen to the music on my ipod. I believe it is related to my self-esteem. Right now I’m uncomfortable with myself and therefore I’m uncomfortable around other people. Plus, I have no tolerance for ignorant obnoxious people.

    • Hey, I’d rather stay home and listen to music on my iPod too…but mostly because I’m broke. šŸ™‚ I have no tolerance for ignorant obnoxious people….or people in general sometimes.

  8. Just remember to replace the cranky pants with more appropriate attire. šŸ™‚ Wouldn’t want to go pants-less for your guests!

  9. I prefer small groups or just one other.

    Have fun!