Gallery

Neither a cat blogger nor a book blogger be I.

I woke up this morning with this mantra going through my head. As usual, my cat was making me do one of two things I don’t like to do on this blog: vulgarity.

Little fucker.

With my wife working third shift this week, he was forcing me to get up earlier than I wanted, to feed him.

But then I thought about it and I realized that this also is the case:

To wit, last night I caved to the pressure of an author on Twitter.

I announced to the world that I was on my fifth DNF (did not finish) of this year in books and then when asked by another twitterer what the book was, I told her…joking with her that it was a secret between her and me.

A few moments later, I received this tweet:

to which I replied:

To continue on the Simpson theme:

I won’t recount the conversation that followed. Needless to say, after just returning the e-book, The Informationist by Taylor Stevens (here I go again, digging myself further into the hole), to my library, I promised to check the book back out at the next opportunity and read it. In an attempt to salvage my integrity, I told her that I would let her know what I thought when I finished the book.

No, I won’t post the above picture again, but I could.

Um, yeah, one more thing:

Images:Β  Bart Simpson courtesy of Add Letters Custom Image and Sign Generator; D’OH courtesy of striatic on Flickr.

40 responses to “Neither a cat blogger nor a book blogger be I.

  1. You’re right to put down a book that you’re not getting into. Unless your trying to learn something – reading is for pleasure. If I put a book aside, I rarely go back and finish it. Good luck with yours.

  2. Pingback: Who am I? 24601 | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  3. Ah yes, I think we all forget just how public we are–whether here or on twitter or… Kind of unnerving when you REALLY think about it–so I try not to.

    Every day I realize more and more that I’m not really a book blogger either. Just don’t want to become one of those dreaded mommy bloggers. Barf. Hmmm–maybe I’ll take up underwaterbasketweaving and blog about that? πŸ˜‰

  4. Pingback: Books that might not set my world afire, but at least are providing sparks (TSS) | an unfinished person (in this unfinished universe)

  5. I really enjoyed The Informationist but its not for everyone

  6. I try not to quit on books, although, last year I did give up on two, David Copperfield and The Odyssey. I hope to try to pick those two books up again sometime in the near future.

    Being the author of a book blog myself, I pretty much established it as a method for me to keep track of what I’m reading, and what I think of those books. I don’t really review books per se, I just pretty much write my comments/thoughts on the books I read. It’s kind of semi-serious, but mainly a conversation with myself.

    • I can see giving up on both of them — and returning to them later, especially The Odyssey. I did give up on another Dickens, Bleak House, but I don’t regret it.

      Same here for why I’ve kept track of what I’ve read…mainly a conversation with myself, but do try to branch out to communicate with others too and get their thoughts. We don’t blog in a vacuum…although sometimes our posts…well, mine are anyway…are vacuous. πŸ˜‰ See above for case in point :).

      • You and I are of like minds then when it comes to book blogging. πŸ™‚ I’m definitely thankful for the conversations that I’ve had, especially this year.

        Bleak House is on my list of books to read, but I’ve been putting it off, since I put down David Copperfield. Not sure when I’m going to start it though.

  7. Yeah, it’s easy to forget that Twitter is a public forum. For example, I was on Twitter the other day sharing my social security and credit card numbers. And if that wasn’t bad enough, I later got a tweet from the guy I stole them from. Boy, was my face red.

    Keep up the good work, UP.

  8. I have maybe not finished two books in my entire life. I finish bad books; I finish good books; I finish mediocre books. It’s a compulsion with me. When I’m not really “into” a particular book, I will probably start another one and may have 3 or 4 going at one time. (This just tells me that none of them are actually my cuppa tea.) Why I finish bad books I have no idea. I have no trouble turning off a movie if I don’t like it. (I hated Blue Valentine after 5 minutes. After 20 minutes, I knew I was wasting my life watching something so terrible.) Where was I? Oh, the twitter thing. I don’t know what twitter is and I don’t even want to know. So much for intellectual (or otherwise) curiosity.

    • I used to think I had finish books, but not anymore…life’s too short and there are too many good books out there to read. As for Twitter, it’s like Facebook…only on crack ;). Okay, not really, but it’s conversing in only 140 characters, shorthand Facebook. πŸ™‚

  9. I do the same kind of thing ALL the time! It’s funny after, when you’re retelling the story, but not so much when it’s happening! πŸ™‚

    • Yeah, when you’re in the middle of it, not so funny at all. Afterward, though, the situation was hilarious…I have to be honest, though, Ms. Steven’s response to me both publicly and privately actually impressed me. She didn’t mean to call me out, but only to joke on the secret part of it…and I did think that was funny. It is interesting how small the world has become thanks to Twitter and Facebook.

  10. I’m more amused by the whole idea that he said he didn’t like a book and the book’s author calls him out. Of course, I shouldn’t be surprised; I made an unkind remark on Twitter about someone on TV and she came and commented on my blog.

  11. I do not backpedal. I do not backpedal.
    I am a bitch. I am a bitch.
    I have no feelings so I don’t think others do. I have no feelings so I don’t think others do.
    I will stop repeating myself….:D

    Great post made me smile.

  12. Well, if your NOT a humor blogger, than why is this making me laugh so much?

  13. And that’s why accepting review copies directly from authors makes me uncomfortable, even if I think I really want to read their book. How awful is it to give a negative review to someone who just gave you a free copy of their book? After a few bad experiences I have learned my lesson.

    • I didn’t accept this book for review. I just took it out of library. πŸ™‚

      I rarely accept review copies…in fact, I rarely do reviews anymore, mostly because I’m reading books that don’t really need reviews, e.g. Harry Potter series, but also because I’m not really a reviewer. I’m more a commenter about books than a reviewer.

    • All that said, I hear ya and why I don’t accept review copies either.

  14. Awww – love this post. Not so fond of the caving to pressure. I totally get it though. I’d have probably said the same thing. I know you had a good conversation with the author, and whether you give the book a second chance is totally up to you.

    Yes – sometimes it’s timing and not the book and a second chance is valid, but seriously, that’s not always the case.

    Not all books will connect with all people. Tastes vary and you can’t be expected to love or even like the same thing that other people like. We’d all be awfully boring if that was the case.

    Personally I’m proud of you for DNFing something that wasn’t clicking. I do that, but not nearly enough. I’m good at setting aside something that I truly don’t like but I’m not nearly as good at putting aside the ones that are just barely OK enough to keep me reading. Life is too short to stick with a book that doesn’t fit your taste, mood, timing, whatever and you shouldn’t have to apologize for that.

    By the way – yes you are a humor blogger – you crack me up on a regular basis!

    • Completely agree that we all don’t have the same tastes. It’s just difficult…well, for me anyway…to tell someone I don’t like his or her book.

      Dang it. I AM too nice.

  15. It’s not often that I DNF a book – for a lot of reasons, but mostly because I’m an anal, compulsive reader who must. finish. the damn. book.

    What I often find is the book was good, but I was off, in timing. Because mostly, even books I really don’t like, I have to finish (see Little Bee review). Either because they were written well or because I was in shock that someone would write such an awful book, or because I really, really need to know what happens to a character, even if they’re poorly written. I know; it’s a sickness.

    So – all that to say, I don’t usually put up a DNF because it doesn’t happen often, and I’ll usually pick it up in another three months and may even rave about it (Adventures of Kavalier and Clay).

    Love you “d’oh” image!

    • I almost didn’t finish the Adventures of Kavalier and Clay myself. In fact, I think I might have given up on it and then returned to it. It still wasn’t my favorite book, but it was OK. This might be the case with this book. However, I don’t mind DNFing…too many other books to read.

      I can’t take credit for the “d’oh” image. It was borrowed (legally and credited properly above) via Flickr. I’ve seen the photo before and may even have used it. I only added the “D’oh” to it.

  16. Eating crow, huh? That’s what tweets will get you.

    Oops.

  17. I think you are a humor blogger! Great post! I’m not sure how that Twitter thing works–I gave up on that, too. After a series of DFB, I’m reading Jane Hamilton’s Map of the World. It’s a beautiful, insightful, terrifying read.

    • Oh, I haven’t given up on Twitter. I still like it…this just shows I need to think before I tweet…not that I shouldn’t have tweeted about not finishing the book, but in my response, I should have been more honest and stuck to my guns.

      I did find the whole experience funny, though, because I don’t know all the “ins and outs” of book blogging: relationships with authors and publishers. Oh, well, live and learn. At least, I hope I do.

  18. I don’t think you’re the one who should be having the Homer Simpson moment there. I would also say that all promises made on Twitter are null and void when made under duress. Not every book is for every reader. I’m sorry that happened to you.

    • You’re probably right that I shouldn’t live up to my promise. However, like I told you on Twitter, “I’ll let her know what I think if I can get past the part where I left off :)”…and actually I’ll probably even let her know then if I couldn’t.

  19. That’s the sort of thing that would happen to me. πŸ™‚ I’ve been on a roll with DNF’s as well. I can’t figure out if I’m just being too picky now or what.

    • There’s nothing wrong with being discriminating. I also wonder if I haven’t been too stuck in one genre: crime fiction, that maybe I need to give it a rest for a bit.

    • Thanks, Beth. I honestly will give the book another attempt and will let her know privately — and probably publicly — what I thought. It’s what happens when you’re in the public spotlight — um, for both blogger and author. πŸ™‚