Gallery

Finishing the Harry Potter series and going on to another and another (ad infinitum) series (TSS)

The Sunday Salon.comI finished Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, the last of the Harry Potter series, yesterday afternoon and on Friday, I took out the series in movies from the first to the sixth one. Yesterday I also put The Deathly Hallows, Part I in my wife’s Netflix queue (with her permission, of course) as I continue to prepare for the last part of the series coming to theaters this July. After finishing reading the last one, I really now can’t believe that it took me this long to read the series. I have no idea why I held out for so long.

So first, what did I think of the series? While I liked it, it didn’t supplant my favorite series of all-time, The Lord of the Rings. That said, the Harry Potter series absolutely belongs in the same class as LOTR, because Rowling’s series truly was an instant classic and is a classic for the ages. I’m still withholding my judgment on the movie series until I’ve seen all of the movies, but it would take a lot to knock out LOTR, the movie series, as my favorite movie series of all time, with Star Wars close behind if only knocked down a few pegs because of the later movies.

My favorite book of the series? I really enjoyed The Goblet of Fire, just as my wife did, but I think my favorite was The Half-Blood Prince when the battle lines really became drawn, especially with Snape turning to the Dark Lord. I also thought The Order of the Phoenix was very good too, but the first, second, third and last one didn’t hold my attention like those middle to last three.

What’s next? I think today I’ll try reading The Informationist by Taylor Stevens. I’ll admit I was intrigued by the description of the main character as similar to Lisbeth Salander of the Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larrson. I took it out on e-book from the library.

I also took out from the library another e-book, The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss, the first part of yet another series The Kingkiller Chronicles. I hope to get to that this week sometime. If I don’t, I always can return to it another time.

I’m also becoming addicted to yet another series, the Temperance Brennan/Bones series, by Kathy Reichs. This past week before finishing the Harry Potter series, I read Death du Jour, the second of the Bones series, and now have checked out Deadly Decisions, the third in that series.

As if I didn’t have enough on my plate, on Friday, while shelving books at the library, I came across yet another (!!!!) series. This one is called the Inspector Cho series by James Church, with the first one titled A Corpse in the Koryo. It is about a North Korean detective and is written by a former Western intelligence officer using the pseudonym of James Church. I’ll probably read that one later this week, maybe before starting the Rothfuss book — if I get to that.

So what are you reading today and this week? If you read the Harry Potter series, which was your favorite book? If you watched the Harry Potter series, which was your favorite movie thus far?

12 responses to “Finishing the Harry Potter series and going on to another and another (ad infinitum) series (TSS)

  1. Well, congratulations on finishing the HP series! WOOT!

  2. Yeah for finishing the HP series. I think the first three definitely have a different feel than the last but I really like that aspect because we get to grow with Harry. I wasn’t crazy about the movies when they started and they in no way competed with LOTR but the last few have been pretty good.

    I need to check out the Bones series. I watch the show but I’ve never read the books.

    I’m currently back in the Wheel of Time series again although afterwards it will be time for me to reread the Potter series for the movie. One last time on that ritual. sniff

    • Oh, yeah, the last four definitely step it up a notch in contrast to the first three. As for the movie series, it’s hard for anything to compare with LOTR.

      The Wheel of Time: I’ve been intrigued by that, but as you can tell, I have a few other series on my plate at the moment. šŸ™‚

  3. I love the HP series, though I haven’t read the last two. I think I’m going to start from the beginning and read all 7 in succession, I feel like I’ll get more out of it, since its been so long. I also haven’t seen any of the movies past the 4th :/ And I totally agree with you about LOTR, I just read that series and I LOVE it.

    I want to read the Temperence Brennen series as well! I watch the show, Bones and I LOVE it. Though I haven’t watched much this season.

    Looks like you have a lot on your plate! Happy reading!

    • You haven’t read the last two?!?!? Oh, my, you need to read them — immediately! šŸ™‚ Definitely read them all together.

      I’m on the fourth movie today and hope to get to five and six later this week..or maybe even tonight.

      Be forewarned if you read the books of Bones: she’s nothing like in the TV show. Not that that’s a bad thing.

  4. I really want to read The Informationist – can’t wait to see what you think. Wish my library had it on audio – I have more room in my reading for audio, right now.

    • I would think that audio would take more time…well, at least for me, although it might be close.

      I did try starting it this afternoon and to be honest, I wasn’t impressed, but maybe I’ll give it another go here later.

  5. I’m so glad you enjoyed the Harry Potter series! I really enjoyed Order of the Phoenix probably the most, but it was closely followed by The Goblet of Fire. I’m not sure if I have a favorite movie, but if I had to choose, it would probably be The Goblet of Fire. I’m not exactly sure if The Order of the Phoenix quite matched the level of despair/darkness the book seemed to have over it.

    I think I’m going to add the Kathy Reichs books to my to be read pile, at least the first one. I seem to be adding quite a bit to that list here recently. Right now, I’m just short of 200 pages away from completing the second volume of Capital.

    Here’s my Sunday Salon: http://beltwayliterature.com/2011/05/15/encouraging-book-reading-in-the-age-of-technology/

    • In some ways, I’m jealous of your tenacity with reading Capital. I wish I could stick to a book like that like that, if you know what I mean. If I had to do it with a chunkster like that, I think it would be The Brothers Karamazov.

      I also enjoyed The Order of the Phoenix now that you mention it. All three of those books, Goblet of Fire, Order of Phoenix and Half-Blood Prince, were my favorites in the series overall, but Half-Blood Prince probably still my favorite overall.

      • I highly recommend The Brothers Karamazov. It’s definitely one of the more difficult books I’ve ever read, and it definitely makes you think.

        Trust me, there are days where my tenacity is tested while reading Capital. A big part of me is glad I’m 2/3 of the way done with it. Although, that last 1/3 is more than 1,000 pages long!

  6. I am hoping to dive into something by Reichs soon, since I’ve been seeing a lot about these books in the blogosphere. And, of course, there’s my repetitive vow to read Harry Potter!

    Until then, though, I have numerous books toppling here and there throughout my space.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST